We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for for that lazy chill out holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great resort for for that lazy chill out holiday”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautiful resort located about 4.8km from Port Douglas and right on the 4 Mile Beach.

The rooms are setup up as studio apartments from 1 2 & 3 bedrooms with either access to your own roof top spa or Plunge pool both with BBQ facilities..

Their is a choice of Golf View or Lagoon View in which your walk straight out you door into this amazing pool.

We had a 2 Bed with a plunge pool however we were originally in a 1 bedroom with a spa we requested to upgrade and it was worth it but thats not saying the 1 bedroom wasn't any good it was we just made a decision to upgrade.

The rooms are well equipped we cooked some meals here they provide enough to be able to do that.

Front desk staff and housekeeping staff were of great assistance when we had any questions.

Overall we loved the resort next time I will look at booking a room by the lagoon pool.

The only negative was we found the restaurant and bar service a little slow apart from that we would definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJstravels3567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for you review of your holiday at the Resort. We love hearing that you had a 'chill out holiday'!

We do have many room types all with different features designed to suit all types of travellers. We're glad you loved your upgrade to a Plunge Pool Apartment.

Thank you for the nice comments about our Front Office and Housekeeping staff as well as the feedback on the service provided in AQUA Restaurant. Your comments will be shared with our team to ensure our service levels are continually improved.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    480
    199
    63
    39
See reviews for
481
816
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is phenomenal and we will be back. It's is breathtaking and beautiful. However the staff let it down. You can tell the "staff" from the backpackers. The staff are professional, courteous, polite, attentive and responsible and the backpacker staff are inattentive, clueless and rude. The Internet here does not work so forget it. The fridge in our room beeped incessantly for no reason.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. We love to hear that you found our facilities 'phenomenal' but are disappointed that you felt let down by our service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on our team and we will endeavour to lift all service to a 5 star level.

We hope that you brought to our attention the issue you experienced with your fridge and we were able to address it during your stay. We understand that the noise must have been frustrating for you.

The internet service provided at the Resort can be intermittent due to our regional location. We offer 30mins of complimentary wifi in our Lobby area so you can get the essentials done online. We hope that for the rest of your stay you were able to switch off and relax - perhaps in our lagoon style pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautiful, simple, modern, clean decor.
I stayed in a 2 bedroom with a patio, clean, modern kitchen,
With own clothes washer and dryer that worked well, and had
Soap supplies available.
The rooms were above average in design.
However, the bathroom sink though beautiful was a little lower in
Height than usual, the bathtub, shower did not drain, and the Internet was "on" and "off",
Until I found out that when I moved rooms, sometimes the Internet did not work
In certain rooms.
Also, a beautiful pool, but comes right in front of room which meant that
Window shades had to be down when dressing
I was on the bottom floor, but those who stayed on 2 nd, top floor had a better
Experience..

Nice shuttle in Port Douglas that for $5.oo Australian dollars
Can take you into town and stops at all the hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor, top, if you want more view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's nice to hear that you found our resort 'beautiful' and were impressed with our accommodation rooms.

The internet provided at the resort can be a little intermittent as we are in a regional location. We think it's a great excuse to switch off and enjoy our tropical paradise. However, we understand that it can be inconvenient (especially for travel arrangements) and so offer 30mins of complimentary wifi in our lobby area.

Our Penthouse Apartments are all on the second level and offer different room features to the Swimout Apartments on the Ground Floor (alongside the pool). We'd be more than happy to book one of these room types for you should you choose to return.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in Port Douglas as part of a 2 week trip to Australia back in August. We chose The Sea Temple because it was one of the hotels recommended by American Express Platinum Travel Service. In the past, we've always had great experiences with their Fine Hotels and Resorts selections. This, however, did not live up to those standards.

The resort is made up of villas - which I love! It's so much easier when traveling with young children to have a full kitchen and living room. We were initially put into an end unit very close to a main entrance. I was not happy about this since it allowed easy access to our patio by anyone entering the resort at this location. After a few complaints, we were moved.

Loved the location of our second room. Very easy access to the pool. Kids loved being able to enter the pool right from our room. In retrospect, I think I'd much prefer a second floor room with rooftop deck. I'd rather have a private jacuzzi for the evening than be able to hop in the pool from our room during the day. Plus, 2nd floor rooms have grills. Lunch at the pool is extremely limited and VERY expensive. So we ended up making it in our room everyday. A grill would have been great.

The rooms are average! Nothing 5 star about them AT ALL though! It was comical that they featured Bosch appliances, yet we didn't have 1 pan to cook in that didn't incinerate your food. Our Marriott timeshare is better equipped. Beds were HORRIBLE. Having just come from a TRUE luxury hotel in Sydney, it made this experience even worse. And my biggest gripe was the bathroom. Not only was there only 1 in a 2 bedroom unit, it was something out of an Ikea catalog. If you're spending $800 a night on a room, THIS is not what you expect.

Would I stay there again? Not sure. We had the most incredible time in Australia and definitely
want to return someday. But I don't think I'd be willing to spend that kind of money on a hotel that was not 5 star. I'd have to research other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your holiday with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your time in Australia but are disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with our Resort.

We welcome constructive feedback to ensure the facilities that we offer and the service by our team meets our guest's expectations. We regret that you did not feel this was achieved.

We would like to provide some additional information on our room types to explain the layout of the resort. The resort is made up of different room types - Beachside Villas, Apartments and Studios. The Apartments have different features:
- the swimout feature which you enjoyed in your second room, or
- the rooftop area which you would have liked for the BBQ and spa bath, or
- a private plunge pool.
Unfortunately we don't have a room type that combines the first two options as they are on different floors, however, our Plunge Pool Apartments offers both a pool at your doorstep and the BBQ facilities. As does the Three Bedroom Beachside Villas. These room types also have two bathrooms. We would be more than happy to book one of these room types to better satisfy your family's needs.

We are pleased to advise that we have completed installation of our brand new Pullman Beds made exclusively for us by Sleepmaker. We hope that you can return to the Resort to experience this for yourself as well as a Plunge Pool style room.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Pool Bar menu being limited and the in-room cooking equipment being unsatisfactory. We will take these comments onboard to improve the experience of our guests. We appreciate the time you have taken to assist us with improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a 3 nights away in a 3 bedroom villa with a small private pool. Catherine who took my reservation was fantastic and very easy to deal with. Olive at reception was extremely pleasant who told us at check-in we had been upgraded "made our day."

The 3 bedroom villa's wonderful so spacious, relaxing and have everything you need to enjoy a holiday.

The spa bath in the master bedroom is super big and the beds are so comfortable.

The pool is fantastic and also very relaxing.

The water feature in the villa is very noisy and the chlorine can be quite strong. Maintenance came very quickly and turned it off.

I will be back with my young children as it is a fantastic hotel for young families.

A few suggestions

- Pool bar - needs to be a swim up bar and it would make it the best hotel to stay in.
- More information in the villas about the facilities
- cheaper shuttle bus
- free wifi

I loved our stay and loved the hotel.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Resort. We shall pass on your nice comments to our team.

You are right - the Three Bedroom Beachside Villas do have everything you need for a great holiday. They are our premier room type and we are glad that you and your children loved your stay.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided on the areas that you felt were lacking. We have provided some additional information for you below.

At this stage we are unable to convert our Pool Bar into a Swimup Bar however we will take this into consideration for a future project.

The Shuttle Bus is a local service not managed by the Resort and it services all of the main Hotels in Port Douglas. Because of this, we can't assist with the pricing structure. We do hope that you found the service handy when travelling to and from town.

Information on our accommodation room types and Resort facilities can be found on our website or our Front Desk staff can provide this on request. We also list our facilities and services in the In Room Compendium. We hope that you were able to locate this information during your time with us.

We are pleased to advise that as of 1st October, Le Club silver level members receive complimentary wi-fi. We will also be installing a 'Tablet Bar' complete with complimentary wi-fi in our lobby very soon. We understand that wi-fi is very important to our guests and hope this new service will assist.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
470 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing