We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$258
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$210
$182
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$292
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$128
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$236
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Martinique on Macrossan(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$128
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveler rating
997
529
214
73
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
529
214
73
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baraqua restaurantgolf viewbedroom penthouserooftop terracehuge poolshuttle busamazing poolprivate plunge poolfull kitchenbuffet breakfastpalm covemain pooldirect accessbeach accessour honeymoonhire car
Filter
Updating list...
1,212 - 1,217 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Temple for 5 nights from the 3rd September. We booked through Expedia & got an excellent rate for the studio apartment. We arrived on our 25th Wedding Anniversary & not long after check in a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room with a lovely card. The apartment was perfect with a generous sized spa & comfortable king bed. We ate at the Aqua restaurant on our first night & once again they had a glass of champagne each on the house. The service & setting were lovely & the food was reasonably priced & good quality. The weather during our stay wasn't great so unfortunately the pool was too cold however it was o.k to sit on the deckchairs & relax. The resort is clean & modern & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends. Shuttle from the resort is handy or a 5 minute drive to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balitribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! Thank you for your review of your stay and also for allowing us to help you celebrate your special occasion.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you back at the Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are currently staying in a 3 bedroom private villa at this resort and for the first time ever, I can say that the web photos made it look smaller than it is in real life. It's essentially a beautiful, well appointed house with a private pool, garden and BBQ area including outdoor dining and two car spaces. Both the beach and the lagoon pool are a 100m stroll away. The resort is also beautiful, the jewel being the huge resort pool. It is a 5 minute drive to town, so it isn't a central location. The bonus is that you can have the beach to yourself as it is nowhere near as crowded as the beach closer to the Main Street. We feel like we are in a stunning private villa in a 5 star resort in Bali..with all the benefits of being in Australia. I haven't been to the day spa yet...but will today as we leave this place tomorrow after 6 wonderful nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valentinatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We hope you loved your trip to the Vie Spa as much as you have enjoyed the rest of your stay at the Resort. Thank you for providing your review.

Our 3 Bedroom Beachside Villas have everything you need - you're right it's like a holiday home but with Hotel service. We are happy that your stay with us was so wonderful.

We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Firstly the good: the service was professional, attentive and very friendly. Rooms are large and well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Furnishings are practical rather than elegant but very adequate for a comfortable stay. The pool is large and quite shallow - this means that it is warm and safe for kids. Kitchen is well appointed with good appliances for those who want to prepare their own meals.

The not so good. the layout is awkward (see comments on rooms). Because the ground floor rooms have access to the pool, to get from front reception to the pool requires walking through the car park. The dinner menu is limited and the frequency of weddings is a bit intrusive. Being close to the pool made the room noisy and we could hear conversations of the people on their balcony below us.

Hard to understand why the resort was designed in this style - feels like timeshare rather then a purpose designed resort??

IN DETAIL

Dinning - Breakfast
We were there in school holidays plus they had wedding groups so and breakfast was a feeding frenzy, food ran out faster then staff could replenish it, staff were stresses, coffee was slow and difficult to order. Food was OK, standard range of fruit, cereals, breads, hot food
Dinning - Dinner
Food and service very good but the range was very limited so after 2 nights could not eat here again. Lovely dinning room on the pool

(HINT: Check before you go if they are hosting weddings and choose your room very carefully)

Room Tip: Think carefully about your room as not all rooms are equal at Pullman's Sea Temple. Getting the room right could have a big impact on enjoying your stay, especially if you like to use the pool. Ground floor rooms have direct pool access from your room with your own sun lounge, just as it appears in the web brochure, However, some have shade, some have sun so you may be disappointed if you get the wrong location. Upper story rooms do not have direct pool access - you have to walk through the car park then fight it out with everyone else for a sun lounge in the general area. And don't be fooled by the lure of your own roof top terrace, ours was a hot arid space surrounded by a brick wall and with not view, we didn't go up their after the first viewing. Overlooking the pool sounds nice but was quite noisy, especially when they had weddings at the resort - we got to share their music and speeches.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oh-so-relaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your time at the Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to share this. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall - especially the accommodation rooms and lagoon-style pool.

We are disappointed that you felt let down in a few areas such as the Resort layout and the weddings we host. You are correct in your 'room tip'; we have several room types all with different features (direct lagoon access, private plunge pools or rooftop spas). Thank you for encouraging future guests to choose the room type dependant on their specific needs. It will definitely help in ensuring everyone enjoys their stay with us.

We will share your feedback on the breakfast service in Aqua Restaurant with our team to ensure improvements are made. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments to make sure our service levels are continually improving.

We hope to see you back at the resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and decided to stay 5 nights to relax before having our first child in December. Overall we thought the stay was ok, unfortunately there were a few things which could have been better. I don't quite understand the layout of the pool; there is a fabulous lofty, breezy entrance where the reception, restaurant and bar are located which looks out over the pool, however to get to your room you basically exit the place and walk around the entire complex on a paved driveway rather than on a path around the pool. On the first night I thought the bed had not been made properly and on examining in the morning the bottom sheet was not tucked in because it was way too short. Bare mattress on your feet where numerous others have had there's is not entirely what I look for in a five star resort. On leaving a note for housekeeping I thought the issue would be fixed. No. In fact I received the note back pointing out that my request could not be fulfilled because the sheet was too short. I was aware of this fact (obviously). The Pullman has very large labels on its mattresses which state that they are specially made for the resort. My humble suggestion is if you pay the money for the mattresses then buy sheets to match. I wasn't quite aware that such a thing as zip together king mattresses exist; interesting concept but not the most comfortable. Lastly the $5 lamp shade was quite obviously and extensively torn (possibly made from some form of paper substitute) however $5 was not spent to replace it. The housekeeping staff need to be educated as to how their wages get paid. Parking is unclear and we had issues getting our car out due to people parking in the driveways. Front office staff were great, spa was really good size, spa treatments were really good.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying in a king studio - not worth the money
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. It's disappointing that the resort did not meet your expectations in a few areas. But we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall (especially our service and spa treatments!).

The pool is in the centre of the Resort to allow rooms to overlook it and also some Apartments to have swimout access from their patios. This means that a poolside path is not possible. We apologise that this wasn't explained clearly upon check-in to avoid any confusion.

We are happy to have recently received our brand new Pullman beds. The matching manchester is on the way. We regret that you were unable to experience both at the same time. Alongside the new beds, we are replacing lamp shades in every apartment - a big undertaking as you can imagine with almost 700 shades to do. We will investigate alternatives to avoid a reoccurrence of your experiences.

We regret that you had difficulties accessing your vehicle. We endeavour to advise all guests to keep driveways clear so that everyone can enjoy their time at the Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to bring these areas to our attention. We take onboard all constructive comments to ensure our facilities and service levels are continually improving. We hope that you will return to the resort in the future to enjoy both our new linen and lampshades in the future - perhaps in a Swimout Room to fully enjoy the lagoon pool also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent a romantic weekend away at Pullman Sea Temple Resort & Spa and was very impressed by this spot. We had a pool access room which meant we were able to spend the afternoon laying by our own private section of the enormous swimming pool reading our books and relaxing. The pool is outstanding, the best resort pool I have ever seen anywhere in the world. The service was good. Reception staff were chatty and welcoming. I would stay here again!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

We hope you return to stay with us again! Your weekend does sound romantic - thank you for sharing your review.

Our Swimout Apartments are very popular and so is our 3000m2 lagoon-style pool. We are thrilled that you rate it so highly!

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews