We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous weekend to remember”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the weekend of the 30th August - 1 September I went with my family and my prtner to stay at the Pullman Se Temple Resort, it was all I had been told and more! The staff were wonderful and the rooms were to say the least FANSTASTIC. We were there to celevrate my 50th Birthday and to be married. Elise McLaren from the Pullman, was wonderful in assisting us through out the planning for the whole weekend on such short notice and our Wedding Celebrant Natasha Kollosche from Port Douglas was EXCELLENT! I would recommend the Pullman Sea Temple at Port Douglas to anyone for that special week/weekend away or for a special occassion, in fact there were another 2 weddings at the hotel the weekend we were there. I would also throroughly recommend Natasha Kollosche as a wedding celebrant if you are looking for one in Port Douglas, again with short notice everything was perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and happy 50th birthday! We are thrilled that you chose our Resort to celebrate two very special occasions.

Thank you for sharing your review of your time at the Resort. We will pass on your kind words to both Elise and Natasha.

We wish you well for your life together and hope to see you again - perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    488
    200
    65
    40
See reviews for
485
830
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

i recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with private plunge pool with 2 other friends. the resort is nice but left us wondering how on earth it received its 5 star rating. the main pool is very nice and impressive when you walk into the resort. it is very big, looks clean and circumvents most of the hotel rooms around the resort that have a swim up option. however, the rooms itself are very simple with cheap fixtures and fittings. they are also not very well kept - our clean feet would be dirty after a few foot steps around the room which you would not expect just moments after checking into a 'clean' room. the accommodation in terms of design and decor is quite simple but i realise this is to compliment the tropical Queensland climate. we arrived late on friday night so the only dining option available was room service as the hotel restaurant, Aqua, stopped serving at 9.30pm. we ordered most of the items off the room service menu as it did not have a very exhaustive (or imaginative) list of food items to choose from. the food arrived quite promptly given the quantity of our order which was a nice surprise. however when the food arrived we were not impressed. the presentation of the food was very poor and what you would expect perhaps from a 24 hour road house diner on the side of a highway in the middle of nowhere, not at a luxury 5 star resort with prices to match. the chips and wedges were served in a floppy cardboard container, as were the stir fried vegetables and rice. the sauces were stacked in plastic containers one on top of each other similar to how you would find condiments at a fish and chips shop, and our cocktails that we ordered were served in paper milkshake containers with gimmicky palm tree clip art. the room service presentation was woeful, off putting, and disgraceful for a 5 star resort. the taste of the food was ok but we were starving and ready to eat anything at this stage. the chips were warm at best and soggy. the breakfast buffet is limited in choice and presentation very simple and lacklustre. since we were on holiday we decided to each order a bloody mary at breakfast but alas, the bar only opens at 10am (it was about 9.30am when we inquired about the cocktails). so we instead ordered an espresso each which we were later on charged over $4 each for and were not told it would be an extra cost outside the normal breakfast menu which was disappointing. we spent most of the day by the main pool ordering cocktails which were lovely, and then spent some time in our own pool. we ordered an ice bucket for our champagne and waited a long time for it (a whole bottles worth) before having to call them again to remind them to bring it in time for our next bottle. for a recently built, 5 star resort, it was not overly impressive and given its locality 5km out of town, it doesn't really give me a reason to revisit.

Room Tip: swim up rooms close to reception offer limited privacy. apartments with private plunge pools are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for providing a thorough review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear that the Resort did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate the time you have taken to bring to our attention the areas that you feel were lacking in 5 star service. We take all constructive comments on board to ensure our service levels are continually improving. Your issues will be addressed with our dedicated team to prevent future occurrences.

We regret that you will not be returning to the resort however should you change your mind, we look forward to giving you a more pleasant experience, one that suits our 5 star level.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas outside of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend and absolutley loved it.
Massive thanks to Courtney in the restaurant, she really went the extra mile!!
Sam on reception really looked after us aswell!
Highly reccommend this resort to my friends and family.

The resort is a little bit out of town but hire a car and problem solved!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maserati81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you found us 'amazing'!

We shall pass on your kind comments to Courtney and Sam who will be thrilled that you were impressed with their service.

We are located a little way out of Port Douglas but it's great to hear that using a hire car was so easy for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was fine and well equipped for 4 ppl and cleanliness of the apartment was acceptable.

On arrival the Manager checked us in. He was friendly enough and asked if we were part of the Le Club Accorhotels program which I advised him I was a Platinum member and gave him my membership details.

Overall our experience was average considering the price paid. The swimming pools were massive. However they were extremely cold.

It was extremely disappointing to not receive any benefits from their own loyalty program.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Resort. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on your time with us.

We are always happy to host a Le Club member. The main benefit that you receive from being a Le Club Platinum member are the points earned upon checkout. For every Euro spent you receive 4 points to be redeemed at any Accor property or with a variety of airline frequent flyer programs. We are pleased to advise that these points will automatically be added to your account after your stay. We hope that this information improves your view of your stay with us.

Our lagoon-style pool is our best feature and the focal point of the Resort. We regret that you were unable to enjoy this due to the temperature at the time of your stay.

We hope to see you back at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Penthouse Apartment, being the 2 of us we only paid for 1bedroom. Good value for 7 night $2250. The term Penthouse does not match my expectations for size and quality, more the Apartment. Compact living area, small bathroom with shower over bath. Shallow pillow top mattress very hard bed. Furnished balcony & a roof top terrace with 2 sun lounges, outdoor setting & jacuzzi. A fantastic terrace space, but is void of character & decoration.
The deal excluded housekeeping & breakfast . The resort pool is huge and very clean.
A well maintained resort with quality car accommodation, & nice gardens. You will need a car as the town is a few minutes drive away. we noticed many young families here. Our Apartment was Lagoon view c block, facing the pool & with a direct " view" of the other apartments. If you want a view & peace & quiet don't choose this area. They have a Golf links view block with private plunge pool which looked quieter.
Overall a good value stay considering hotel rooms at a 4 or 5 star can start at $250 per night.
Not a luxurious stay but it was price reflective.

Room Tip: Swim out apartments - direct pool access beach & Golf links view apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lookingfor7stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately you were not a guest of Pullman Resort, but rather of a private operator. For daily housekeeping, full use of chargebacks, including restaurant and Vie Spa, we recommend guests book through www.accorhotels.com. I’m glad you enjoyed the resort and hope you return to visit us again in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Penthouse. We thought it was very nice at first then the ants were EVERYWHERE. We called the front desk and they told us to get the bug spray out of the cabinet and spray...well I guess enough said. Breakfast was supposed to be included but they said they couldn't find our name on the list despite my showing the confirmation to the front desk.

Room Tip: They do have rooms close to the water and with beach access but no one offered that information desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamigaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your holiday at the Resort.

We do have a lot of wildlife in Far North Queensland and unfortunately it extends to the little creatures as well as the exciting crocs and cuddly koalas. We hope that you were able to make use of the bug spray that is provided in every Apartment to combat this.

We are disappointed to hear that you experienced difficulty at breakfast time and hope this didn't detract from enjoying your time in Port Douglas.

You are right, we do have Swimout Apartments with direct lagoon access available at the Resort and would be delighted to book one for you should you choose to stay with us again. They are a very popular room type so availability can be limited. We don't, however, have rooms with direct beach access. The resort is alongside beautiful Four Mile Beach with several pathways to the beach for all guests to use.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the price you pay to stay at the Pullman Port Douglas what I received was way way below that. The restaurant and buffet breakfast is absolutely disgusting - the buffet breakfast was covered in bugs every morning and foods that were meant to be cold were warm and foods that were meant to be hot were cold. The staff were unfriendly and un-welcoming. I ordered chips as I was laying by the pool for lunch and it took them over an hour to bring them out to me not to mention the rooms were filthy and bug ridden and my fridge was full on little ants. The bed sheets were extremely itchy and not comfortable at all. Overall I am extremely disappointed and will never be staying here or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HighEndTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. The housekeeping and food & beverage issues that you have raised are unacceptable and we will investigate what you have brought to our attention.

We appreciate constructive feedback as we are always intent on improving our level of service and the facilities that we offer.

We regret that you felt unwelcome at the Resort and were very unhappy with your stay.

We do hope that you enjoyed your time spent in Port Douglas outside of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing