We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a could be made even better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We liked the hotel very much but the location was not ideal it was far from the town centre so we could not want to town. There was a shuttle bus from the hotel to town but they charged $5 per person one way which was not worth. The rooms were clean but it did not have a view of the pool which was disappointing. We were able to stay at this hotel because we were Accor Advantage members and were given a 50% discount. It is fully worth becoming a member.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hayley63489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your milestone anniversary!

We are glad that you were able to enjoy your Advantage Plus membership benefits with us.

We are disappointed that you were not impressed with our location. We are located approximately a 10 minute drive from Port Douglas which allows for a very quiet, secluded and tranquil Resort experience. You are correct in noting the local shuttle bus service which arrives at the Resort entrance every thirty minutes.

We hope that you continue to enjoy your Accor Advantage Plus membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Looking at the photos of places in town, we were unimpressed with all the dated looking rooms of the hotels and apartments. The photos of the Pullman Sea Temple looked really inviting and we were not disappointed. From it's grandiose entry lobby through to its seductive lagoon pools, even our modest studio spa room had an enormous ensuite and modern decor.

Room 119 even had a cute little patio and courtyard and was not too far from the main pool area and lobby. Because it was set back it was also very private.

Since we had arrived late we opted for dinner in Aqua, the resort's only restaurant. We were hesitant about eating there after reading some negative reviews (and it is pricey) but the food was sensational--as good as anything the same price in Melbourne. We did pass on breakfast the next morning as it looked fairly modest for a buffet.

You really feel like you are at a swish resort in Asia. We are keen walkers and it takes 45 mins to walk along the beach into town but the regular shuttle bus ($5 pp) only takes about 10 minutes.

We got a great price on Wotif and if you're game to leave it to the last few days you can probably do even better. There are also fabulous upper balcony rooms with private roof top spas and swim out lagoon rooms around the pool. If you get one of these make sure it gets the afternoon sun.

Only drawback was no free Wi-Fi, not even in the lobby. When are luxury hotels going to redress this?

We had tried to get into the Sheraton but the cheap rates weren't available for our arrival as there was a conference on. Thank God we didn't. We met friends there for breakfast and it looked tired and dated and badly in need of a renovation. They were vert envious of our accommodation when they came to pick us up!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

What a review! Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay at the Resort.

We are glad that you were impressed with our 'classy' features and especially AQUA Restaurant. Your comments will be shared with our dedicated team so they know you were big fans.

Thank you for providing tips to your fellow travellers - the walk along Four Mile Beach is definitely a must at least once during your holiday.

We are pleased to advise that Accor are introducing complimentary wifi for Le Club and Advantage Plus members as of next month! Non-members can enjoy complimentary wifi in the lobby for up to 30mins.

We hope that you will return to the Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary at the Sea Temple. Wow, what a fabulous place! We are well travelled and have stayed in many of the top spectacular establishments throughout the world, but as far as Australia goes, this place is simply the best. We had originally booked a Spa Suite, as lovely as it was, we, with the help of Nathan at front desk, upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse and are so glad we did. I won't go on about all the wonderful things, hopefully you'll see for yourselves, I can just say it was an amazing weekend and we are desperate to go back. I highly recommend either a 2 bed penthouse or swim up, you'll not be disappointed. The staff are fabulous, in particular Nathan for making our weekend so great!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Happy anniversary! Thank you for allowing us to help you celebrate, we are glad you enjoyed your stay during this very happy time for you.

We are thrilled with your comments and will pass them onto our dedicated team especially our Front Office Manager, Nathan.

We do hope that you will return to the Resort again soon - don't wait until next year's anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I just finished our 4 night stay in room 277 (1 bedroom suite) at the Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa. This was the first hotel on our journey through the gold cost and we both agree it was very enjoyable. The hotel is just a 10-15 minute drive from the main shops and restaurants in Port Douglas, so we would suggest renting a car or taking the free shuttle to town. You could walk, run or rent a bicycle if you wanted, as the roads are fairly wide and there are walking paths along the main roads.

As we were there at the end of August (2013), the hotel was quiet and peaceful. There were couples and families with small children, but the noise wasn't bad at all. The pool was gigantic and clean, (we saw them cleaning it) and there were plenty of chairs within distance of the bar. The beach was nearby with several different paths easily marked and light at night. You can't beat the view from 4 mile beach - it truly is beautiful and in August it's warm enough to sit out with no one in eye sight.. It can get windy into the afternoon, but other than that it’s very enjoyable.

Our room was very nice and clean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite (room 277) that didn't overlook the pool, but had a nice veranda shaded by a few trees. From what we could see, no rooms or villas had ocean views, rather just pool views or views of trees.. We used the big Jacuzzi tub which was clean and comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. The room didn't really show much wear and tear overall. The housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning every day, but they could have done a slightly better job of sweeping and wiping down.. Overall it was a great stay and fairly reasonable. If your looking for something that is super romantic, this might not be for you, but it is a great hotel and from what we heard around town, it is definitely nicer than hotels like the Marriott etc..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are thrilled that you allowed us to help celebrate this special occasion.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your stay with us.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided on our Housekeeping team and we will pass your comment on to continually improve our service at the Resort.

We hope that the remainder of your travels along the East Coast were just as enjoyable as your time in Port Douglas and that you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Pullman overall lacked character is very big with what seemed like hundreds of rooms and is therefore quite impersonal.

The positives are that you can walk to the beach, the pool is nice and some of the staff we encountered understood the concept of service.

The negatives were unfortunately many! Housekeeping was poor and inconsistent. We found a fishing hook in our bedroom on arrival - not something we wanted our toddler to come across! The cleaning lacked attention to detail, beds were made poorly and sometimes dishes were cleaned poorly and sometimes not cleaned and put in dishwasher. Upon leaving I found a syringe under the bed amongst other things including a thick layer of dust. Unacceptable!

The cot we were given for our toddler broke as she stood inside holding onto the the railing. Fortunately she fell into the cot and not out.

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast once and ordered room service for dinner a couple of times and the meals were poor and tasteless - what you would expect in a cheap bistro made by people who do not respect or appreciate food. I recommend eating out as there are some great eateries in town.

The Pullman is quite a way from town. We had a car so were able to head into or out of town easily but again there are plenty of nice places to stay closer to town.

The rooms were dark, badly designed with few windows to the living area.

We were overall very disappointed and would not recommend the Pullman to anyone travelling to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warratahforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Resort.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback on the areas that you feel the resort is not up to standard. The housekeeping issues that you have raised were addressed immediately with our team to ensure that they are not repeated.

We regret that you were not impressed with the food served in AQUA Restaurant, however we can assure you that our Executive Chef and his team are very passionate about every meal that they serve to our guests.

Our location in Port Douglas and the size of the Resort add to the seclusion and tranquil atmosphere. It is a shame that you did not feel this as welcoming, we will endeavour to rectify this.

We hope that the next time you return to Port Douglas you enjoy your stay a little more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent the week at the Sea Temple for a work conference. Great rooms and amenities, food was ok not great. Loved the chilled out relaxed feel to it.
Many floor level rooms have direct access to pool from the balcony. Overall a great place for a family holiday. Definitely would recommend staying at the Sea Temple.
Walking access to the beach and can walk to town along the beach but that is a lengthy 1hr. Walk

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Papaoso99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Resort. Even though you stayed for business reasons, we are glad that you were able to relax.

The walk into Port Douglas along Four Mile Beach is definitely a highlight of our location and we recommend it as well.

We look forward to seeing you back at the resort - perhaps purely for leisure purposes next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
971 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,553 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,268 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $178 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing