We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here if you want good service and courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After what seemed an initial welcome and a good 1st evening meal at the restaurant it went downhill after that. Despite running at what seemed to be less than 10% capacity ( I wonder why as it is school holidays) the bar staff were extraordinarily slow. I got my glass of wine after I had finished my meal.
The next day Reception staff then made an error with my credit card and instead of just apologising and fixing it, they tried to make out as if I had made an error and then insulted me in front of my 12 year old daughter. Staff also lack knowledge of their own Accor advantage program as I was given different information from 4 different staff members. I was told it is a new program for them and a lot of information to learn.
We also had problems with the water feature going all night which meant we didn't sleep well the 1st night due to the noise as our room is next to the our plunge pool. Again the reception staff were clueless about how it worked and assumed it would turn off. It was fixed the next day by the nice pool guy but no apology came from the hotel. The BBQ didn't work properly - only 1/4 of the burners would light so I had to make do - a bit tricky. I don't get the feeling they really care so I wont stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avidtraveller069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for providing a detailed review of your stay at the Resort. We are very disappointed to hear that our service did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback on the service that you received in AQUA Restaurant and at Reception and will review our service processes to ensure that the quality of service delivered to our guests is of a higher standard.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue that you experienced with your BBQ, this will be rectified immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort for 6 nights with another couple. We had heard good reviews about the resort and were looking forward to our stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse, the room was adequate although not as luxurious as other 5 star resorts we have stayed at recently. Perhaps one of the most disappointing aspects of the rooms are the beds, we were in the main bedroom and had a small queen size bed with average linen. Usually we would stay at a Westin/Sofitel/St Regis or Banyan Tree all of which have super size King which is the norm for a 5 star resort. The beds were very firm and there was no pillow menu. I also found the pillow uncomfortable. The showers were also a little on small size.

The other disappointment was we were unable to secure a pool lounge throughout our stay, we would go on activities in the morning and then look to laze by the pool mid afternoon, by this time all the lounges were occupied and when i asked the lady behind the bar if there were any more they could bring out i received an abrupt no. This resort would benefit greatly by having more lounges available and a pool attendant to help you set up and offer drinks and snacks.

We dined at the restaurant and had excellent service and the food was good so that was certainly a positive. The menu is a little restrictive particularly if you are vegetarian (which I am) as there was only one option, this meant we dined at the restaurant only once.

Concierge was excellent, the person who helped us was very knowledgeable on the reef tours and gave good recommendations and even checked which days would be best to go out to the reef. He also provided very good restaurant recommendations.

Overall a good resort although more 4 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your stay at the Resort. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us.

We appreciate your feedback on providing more sun lounges and are happy to report that we have 20 brand new sun lounges by the pool.

In the very near future we will also be taking delivery of brand new King sized Pullman beds with luxurious new linen for every room in the Resort. We hope that you will return and try them out personally.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in AQUA Restaurant and will take on board your suggestion of more vegetarian options.

We will pass on your nice comments about our Concierge team - they do love sharing their local knowledge (mainly because they get to go on the tours themselves!).

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The villa was just stunning and as a group of 7 people (2 families) the rate was very affordable . Each villa has its own private pool and outdoor entertaining area with BBQ and beach access through a pathway close by. Inside the villa are three huge bedrooms (the master with own spa and 4 poster bed) 2+ bathrooms, huge open plan lounge and kitchen area . The Resort itself has fabulous lagoon style pools and a lovely layout. There is a local bus that does runs into and from the town centre at 30 minute intervals that calls into the Resort if you need transport to and from the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k1w1Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Our Villas are a very popular choice - we are glad that you agree! It sounds like you had a great family holiday with us, thank you for providing your review.

That's a great travel tip about the local shuttle bus - it makes it very easy to explore everything that Port Douglas has to offer.

We hope that both families return to the Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had an excellent stay with 5* star service and quality all the way! This is the best place to stay in Port Douglas! previously stayed at peppers & grand mirage, both nice but sea temple has the edge it's pretty special! Gym could be bigger! can't wait to return in August !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank sqirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are happy to hear that you had an 'excellent' holiday with us at the Resort. Thank you for the kind review that you have provided. Port Douglas does have a lot to offer and we are pleased that you feel we are at the forefront.

We appreciate your feedback on the gym facilities.

We look forward to your return in August as well. See you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the positive stuff first: the location. It's amazing, it's a nice and very new place with an amazing pool & lagoon. The beautiful beach is close by and the staff is nice and helpful.
But, we had a studio room with spa access, which we found out whilst we were there. That means, no direct pool access like the other rooms, but instead you need to walk to the pool, which in most cases is quite overcrowed. We had the impression that the pool area wasn't designed to host enough people and hence there are not enough deck chairs for all. If you have a no direct pool access room like us, you are obliged to go all the way around the hotel to access you room. 
So far, so good. What we really didn't like for such an expensive place is that literally everything is extra. Wifi is very expensive, bikes are not included, etc. The last day, we checked out and asked if we could take a shower before taking the bus to the aiport at 6pm. They first said no - well, then they said we could technically take a shower at the pool but we could also book a day room for 80-90$, which we found quite insolent. In other hotels of this category, we are used to be given a conveninent and free option upfront after check-out.
And then, what annoyed us most was that the rooms were not properly cleaned. We realized that they were only cursorily cleaned. There was dust in the room, the space around the spa in the room wasn't well cleaned, no refill of soap or shower gel, we also realized that there were glasses left in the garden area for a few days, etc. In our opinion, that is a first sign of bad management of the hotel. Not a 5 stars hotel in our understanding.
We have to say though that we ate only once in the hotel and we were pleased. Never tried the breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xavitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for providing a comprehensive review of your stay at the Resort. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome all feedback about the resort to allow us to continually review our service processes and the quality of service delivered to our guests.

We appreciate your suggestion on providing complimentary inclusions such as internet. We understand that in many hotels around the world, internet services are offered complimentary however, it is the Accor policy that a charge is associated with internet services. We do try to keep this as minimal as possible.

Thank you for bringing to our attention, the cleaning issues that you experienced. This has been rectified following your departure.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the property overall and especially the lagoon pool and beautiful Four Mile Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a week in Port Douglas at a lovely resort for the first half of our honeymoon and were headed to another privately managed apartment for the second half. It was a disaster and we immediately checked out and contacted Sea Temple to see if they had anything available for us, with the other option being cancelling our honeymoon. We spoke to the most amazing woman, Jennifer, at Sea Temple front desk who said she could arrange for us to stay in a swim out apartment at a very good rate. From being so sad and disappointed, she really went above and beyond and brightened out spirits. After waiting a few short hours for the new room to be ready, we were called to be told our room was ready. When we opened the door to our apartment, jaws dropped and overwhelmed with gratitude, we had been upgraded to a two bedroom, swim out spa suite, with a personal welcome card and complimentary champagne. We were able to enjoy all the resort has to offer from the food, cocktails, massages and strolls to the private beach. It was the best holiday and location we have ever experienced. Words cannot express how grateful we are for the amazing, above and beyond service we received at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple from all of the staff in the day spa, restaurant, house keeping and especially Jennifer. You made our amazing honeymoon possible and we loved every minute spent at Sea Temple. Thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on a swim out on the lagoon wings, private and quiet yet easy access to all resor...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are thrilled that we could help make your honeymoon the best holiday ever! Thank you for allowing us to take part in the celebrations of your marriage.

We love hearing such great reviews about our dedicated team members and we will ensure Jennifer receives your kind words.

That's a great tip about our Swimout Apartments - they open onto our 3000m2 lagoon style pool in the centre of the Resort. We hope you spent a lot of time soaking up the sun!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort - perhaps for your one year anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a studio spa overlooking the pool

Pros: easy check in,
Nice room w balcony,
Good breakfast selection,
Garaged car parking adjacent to units,
Proximity to four mile beach,
Spa service was amazing and good value,
Pool bar drinks & food was reasonable,

Cons:Very Family friendly (crying babies at our 7am breakfast & at the pool bar was not a pro for us)
No stereo or iPod dock in the room to listen to music?
No daybed or sitting chairs in room (the first 5 star I've stayed in without this).
Position if the tv and layout of spa is such that you can only really watch it standing up,
All extra linen in cupboard dirty,
Permanent residents continual loud music from 2-10pm every day - reception was unable to do anything & recommended we call the police to lodge a noise complaint,
Spa at pool was continually in use by families or large groups so we never got to use it,
I asked about gluten free dining for breakfast & was told they had cereal etc. When I arrived at breakfast it turned out they didn't. When I asked what I could eat they pointed to the fruit - yay. Luckily I asked if they could do omelettes which I survived on for the three days.
Expensive wifi as other reviewers have mentioned,

Although we enjoyed our stay we would try somewhere else in port net trip or book much earlier so a different room was available. If you have a family this place would be perfect.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review and the time that you have taken to compile your list of pros and cons. It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback on the items that you feel weren't up to standard during your stay. This is important for us to ensure that we are delivering a high quality service to our guests. We have taken on board your comments and will rectify the housekeeping and menu issues immediately.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,551 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,264 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $178 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing