We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Villa's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The villa was just stunning and as a group of 7 people (2 families) the rate was very affordable . Each villa has its own private pool and outdoor entertaining area with BBQ and beach access through a pathway close by. Inside the villa are three huge bedrooms (the master with own spa and 4 poster bed) 2+ bathrooms, huge open plan lounge and kitchen area . The Resort itself has fabulous lagoon style pools and a lovely layout. There is a local bus that does runs into and from the town centre at 30 minute intervals that calls into the Resort if you need transport to and from the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k1w1Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Our Villas are a very popular choice - we are glad that you agree! It sounds like you had a great family holiday with us, thank you for providing your review.

That's a great travel tip about the local shuttle bus - it makes it very easy to explore everything that Port Douglas has to offer.

We hope that both families return to the Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    456
    185
    61
    37
See reviews for
455
779
32
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had an excellent stay with 5* star service and quality all the way! This is the best place to stay in Port Douglas! previously stayed at peppers & grand mirage, both nice but sea temple has the edge it's pretty special! Gym could be bigger! can't wait to return in August !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sqirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had an 'excellent' holiday with us at the Resort. Thank you for the kind review that you have provided. Port Douglas does have a lot to offer and we are pleased that you feel we are at the forefront.

We appreciate your feedback on the gym facilities.

We look forward to your return in August as well. See you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the positive stuff first: the location. It's amazing, it's a nice and very new place with an amazing pool & lagoon. The beautiful beach is close by and the staff is nice and helpful.
But, we had a studio room with spa access, which we found out whilst we were there. That means, no direct pool access like the other rooms, but instead you need to walk to the pool, which in most cases is quite overcrowed. We had the impression that the pool area wasn't designed to host enough people and hence there are not enough deck chairs for all. If you have a no direct pool access room like us, you are obliged to go all the way around the hotel to access you room. 
So far, so good. What we really didn't like for such an expensive place is that literally everything is extra. Wifi is very expensive, bikes are not included, etc. The last day, we checked out and asked if we could take a shower before taking the bus to the aiport at 6pm. They first said no - well, then they said we could technically take a shower at the pool but we could also book a day room for 80-90$, which we found quite insolent. In other hotels of this category, we are used to be given a conveninent and free option upfront after check-out.
And then, what annoyed us most was that the rooms were not properly cleaned. We realized that they were only cursorily cleaned. There was dust in the room, the space around the spa in the room wasn't well cleaned, no refill of soap or shower gel, we also realized that there were glasses left in the garden area for a few days, etc. In our opinion, that is a first sign of bad management of the hotel. Not a 5 stars hotel in our understanding.
We have to say though that we ate only once in the hotel and we were pleased. Never tried the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xavitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for providing a comprehensive review of your stay at the Resort. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome all feedback about the resort to allow us to continually review our service processes and the quality of service delivered to our guests.

We appreciate your suggestion on providing complimentary inclusions such as internet. We understand that in many hotels around the world, internet services are offered complimentary however, it is the Accor policy that a charge is associated with internet services. We do try to keep this as minimal as possible.

Thank you for bringing to our attention, the cleaning issues that you experienced. This has been rectified following your departure.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the property overall and especially the lagoon pool and beautiful Four Mile Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a week in Port Douglas at a lovely resort for the first half of our honeymoon and were headed to another privately managed apartment for the second half. It was a disaster and we immediately checked out and contacted Sea Temple to see if they had anything available for us, with the other option being cancelling our honeymoon. We spoke to the most amazing woman, Jennifer, at Sea Temple front desk who said she could arrange for us to stay in a swim out apartment at a very good rate. From being so sad and disappointed, she really went above and beyond and brightened out spirits. After waiting a few short hours for the new room to be ready, we were called to be told our room was ready. When we opened the door to our apartment, jaws dropped and overwhelmed with gratitude, we had been upgraded to a two bedroom, swim out spa suite, with a personal welcome card and complimentary champagne. We were able to enjoy all the resort has to offer from the food, cocktails, massages and strolls to the private beach. It was the best holiday and location we have ever experienced. Words cannot express how grateful we are for the amazing, above and beyond service we received at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple from all of the staff in the day spa, restaurant, house keeping and especially Jennifer. You made our amazing honeymoon possible and we loved every minute spent at Sea Temple. Thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on a swim out on the lagoon wings, private and quiet yet easy access to all resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are thrilled that we could help make your honeymoon the best holiday ever! Thank you for allowing us to take part in the celebrations of your marriage.

We love hearing such great reviews about our dedicated team members and we will ensure Jennifer receives your kind words.

That's a great tip about our Swimout Apartments - they open onto our 3000m2 lagoon style pool in the centre of the Resort. We hope you spent a lot of time soaking up the sun!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort - perhaps for your one year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a studio spa overlooking the pool

Pros: easy check in,
Nice room w balcony,
Good breakfast selection,
Garaged car parking adjacent to units,
Proximity to four mile beach,
Spa service was amazing and good value,
Pool bar drinks & food was reasonable,

Cons:Very Family friendly (crying babies at our 7am breakfast & at the pool bar was not a pro for us)
No stereo or iPod dock in the room to listen to music?
No daybed or sitting chairs in room (the first 5 star I've stayed in without this).
Position if the tv and layout of spa is such that you can only really watch it standing up,
All extra linen in cupboard dirty,
Permanent residents continual loud music from 2-10pm every day - reception was unable to do anything & recommended we call the police to lodge a noise complaint,
Spa at pool was continually in use by families or large groups so we never got to use it,
I asked about gluten free dining for breakfast & was told they had cereal etc. When I arrived at breakfast it turned out they didn't. When I asked what I could eat they pointed to the fruit - yay. Luckily I asked if they could do omelettes which I survived on for the three days.
Expensive wifi as other reviewers have mentioned,

Although we enjoyed our stay we would try somewhere else in port net trip or book much earlier so a different room was available. If you have a family this place would be perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review and the time that you have taken to compile your list of pros and cons. It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback on the items that you feel weren't up to standard during your stay. This is important for us to ensure that we are delivering a high quality service to our guests. We have taken on board your comments and will rectify the housekeeping and menu issues immediately.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a 1 week stay at a swimout apartment near lagoon C. Unfortunately, we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and was very disappointed. For 1 night people stayed above us and all you could hear from 5am was a person walking to and fro whilst they did they washing and re packed. As this area of the lovely lagoon pool is shallow it was popular with many young families and some excitable children, with babies and also people congregating at the bali hut to speak on their mobile phones and drink. So, the area outside our apartment was like a bar with people looking in. In fact the bali hut was a communication hub as mobile phone signals and 3g does not work in the apartments. Also, the apartment was not clean enough, not very dirty but mould in some corners and finger marks on the fridge and kitchen & bathrooms cupboards. The exhaust fan to the cooker was dirty. We ordered a cocktail in the bar and had to go back twice over a period of 30 minutes to ask where it was. Therefore, we did not try the restaurant, which by the way has a pathway through it where people walk to their apartments...We realise that there needs to be some tolerance however all in all we were disappointed with our stay. Please bear in mind that the accommodation is a ling way out of Port Douglas and the minibus service is $ 5 per person each way. Some of the drivers drive fast, seat belts are not enforced and I sat on a seat in white linen pants and someone has spilled coffee on it. Not happy, so we hired a car at greater cost !! anyway off to Palm Cove tomorrow for 5 days, much more peaceful there.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your time at the Resort. We welcome all reviews to ensure that we are delivering a high quality service to all of our guests. It is disappointing to hear that you were not happy during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback on the housekeeping issues and inadequate service at the Pool Bar that you experienced and will ensure these items are addressed immediately.

We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Far North Queensland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

What an experience my fiancé and I had a sea temple! We arrived quite late during the evening and were feeling hungry so we ordered some toasties which the kitchen were happy to do ! Our room was beautiful a studio spa room which overlooked the pool. The staff were great in helping my husband in his requests to do a few surprises for me in our hotel room! The room was spacious and clean and very modern! We had breakfast daily which was amazing compliments to the kitchen team because the food looked great and tasted amazing . This resort is beyond perfect and exceeded all our expectations that we are even considering having our wedding here !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so happy that we have exceed your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review of your time at the resort.

We will pass on your kind words to our Executive Chef and his team to let them know that your were impressed with their menu and service.

We would be thrilled to host your wedding at the Resort - let us know if we can provide any further information on this.

Hopefully we will see you again soon for your wedding or perhaps the honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing