We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - words aren't enough to express how great it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing - words aren't enough to express how great it is!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a week in Port Douglas at a lovely resort for the first half of our honeymoon and were headed to another privately managed apartment for the second half. It was a disaster and we immediately checked out and contacted Sea Temple to see if they had anything available for us, with the other option being cancelling our honeymoon. We spoke to the most amazing woman, Jennifer, at Sea Temple front desk who said she could arrange for us to stay in a swim out apartment at a very good rate. From being so sad and disappointed, she really went above and beyond and brightened out spirits. After waiting a few short hours for the new room to be ready, we were called to be told our room was ready. When we opened the door to our apartment, jaws dropped and overwhelmed with gratitude, we had been upgraded to a two bedroom, swim out spa suite, with a personal welcome card and complimentary champagne. We were able to enjoy all the resort has to offer from the food, cocktails, massages and strolls to the private beach. It was the best holiday and location we have ever experienced. Words cannot express how grateful we are for the amazing, above and beyond service we received at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple from all of the staff in the day spa, restaurant, house keeping and especially Jennifer. You made our amazing honeymoon possible and we loved every minute spent at Sea Temple. Thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on a swim out on the lagoon wings, private and quiet yet easy access to all resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are thrilled that we could help make your honeymoon the best holiday ever! Thank you for allowing us to take part in the celebrations of your marriage.

We love hearing such great reviews about our dedicated team members and we will ensure Jennifer receives your kind words.

That's a great tip about our Swimout Apartments - they open onto our 3000m2 lagoon style pool in the centre of the Resort. We hope you spent a lot of time soaking up the sun!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort - perhaps for your one year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    480
    199
    63
    39
See reviews for
481
816
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a studio spa overlooking the pool

Pros: easy check in,
Nice room w balcony,
Good breakfast selection,
Garaged car parking adjacent to units,
Proximity to four mile beach,
Spa service was amazing and good value,
Pool bar drinks & food was reasonable,

Cons:Very Family friendly (crying babies at our 7am breakfast & at the pool bar was not a pro for us)
No stereo or iPod dock in the room to listen to music?
No daybed or sitting chairs in room (the first 5 star I've stayed in without this).
Position if the tv and layout of spa is such that you can only really watch it standing up,
All extra linen in cupboard dirty,
Permanent residents continual loud music from 2-10pm every day - reception was unable to do anything & recommended we call the police to lodge a noise complaint,
Spa at pool was continually in use by families or large groups so we never got to use it,
I asked about gluten free dining for breakfast & was told they had cereal etc. When I arrived at breakfast it turned out they didn't. When I asked what I could eat they pointed to the fruit - yay. Luckily I asked if they could do omelettes which I survived on for the three days.
Expensive wifi as other reviewers have mentioned,

Although we enjoyed our stay we would try somewhere else in port net trip or book much earlier so a different room was available. If you have a family this place would be perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review and the time that you have taken to compile your list of pros and cons. It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback on the items that you feel weren't up to standard during your stay. This is important for us to ensure that we are delivering a high quality service to our guests. We have taken on board your comments and will rectify the housekeeping and menu issues immediately.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a 1 week stay at a swimout apartment near lagoon C. Unfortunately, we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and was very disappointed. For 1 night people stayed above us and all you could hear from 5am was a person walking to and fro whilst they did they washing and re packed. As this area of the lovely lagoon pool is shallow it was popular with many young families and some excitable children, with babies and also people congregating at the bali hut to speak on their mobile phones and drink. So, the area outside our apartment was like a bar with people looking in. In fact the bali hut was a communication hub as mobile phone signals and 3g does not work in the apartments. Also, the apartment was not clean enough, not very dirty but mould in some corners and finger marks on the fridge and kitchen & bathrooms cupboards. The exhaust fan to the cooker was dirty. We ordered a cocktail in the bar and had to go back twice over a period of 30 minutes to ask where it was. Therefore, we did not try the restaurant, which by the way has a pathway through it where people walk to their apartments...We realise that there needs to be some tolerance however all in all we were disappointed with our stay. Please bear in mind that the accommodation is a ling way out of Port Douglas and the minibus service is $ 5 per person each way. Some of the drivers drive fast, seat belts are not enforced and I sat on a seat in white linen pants and someone has spilled coffee on it. Not happy, so we hired a car at greater cost !! anyway off to Palm Cove tomorrow for 5 days, much more peaceful there.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your time at the Resort. We welcome all reviews to ensure that we are delivering a high quality service to all of our guests. It is disappointing to hear that you were not happy during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback on the housekeeping issues and inadequate service at the Pool Bar that you experienced and will ensure these items are addressed immediately.

We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Far North Queensland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

What an experience my fiancé and I had a sea temple! We arrived quite late during the evening and were feeling hungry so we ordered some toasties which the kitchen were happy to do ! Our room was beautiful a studio spa room which overlooked the pool. The staff were great in helping my husband in his requests to do a few surprises for me in our hotel room! The room was spacious and clean and very modern! We had breakfast daily which was amazing compliments to the kitchen team because the food looked great and tasted amazing . This resort is beyond perfect and exceeded all our expectations that we are even considering having our wedding here !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so happy that we have exceed your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review of your time at the resort.

We will pass on your kind words to our Executive Chef and his team to let them know that your were impressed with their menu and service.

We would be thrilled to host your wedding at the Resort - let us know if we can provide any further information on this.

Hopefully we will see you again soon for your wedding or perhaps the honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and loved it. We were upgraded to a beautiful apartment suite that had a spiral staircase on the balcony that led to a private rooftop spa and BBQ area overlooking the resort pool. It was fully self contained with everything you needed and the furnishings were beautiful and stylish. One morning I got up in time to see the sunrise over the water on an early morning run along the beautiful beach nearby, it was magic. It capped off an awesome 3 days in Port Douglas and we plan on returning with our 2 young children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlebirdy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
How great that you got to witness a beautiful Port Douglas sunrise over Four Mile Beach! It definitely is an experience worth getting up a little earlier for.

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your Penthouse Apartment. Thank you for providing your review of your stay with us.

Let us know when you'd like to return to the Resort, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for a business conference. The 3 bedroom villas were outstanding. Plunge pool and BBQ area a nice touch. For such an amazing villa A few little things not well thought through. For example no phone at the desk so when I was on a conference call I had to perch at the Kitchen bench for an hour and with no bar stool but sitting on the dining room chair.
The breakfast service for coffee was a little slow.
Staff very welcoming and friendly. Nice location on the beach with a 20 min shuttle ride into Port Douglas or 1 hr brisk walk along the beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jackirmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff that you met during your stay at the resort. We are happy that you managed to enjoy the Resort facilities outside of your conference time.

We appreciate your feedback on the location of your phone in your villa that frustrated you during your conference call. Should you stay with us again, we would be more than happy to provide a phone extension lead or another handset to enable you to sit more comfortably.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort - perhaps for pleasure, rather than business, next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is so good. great big apartment with lovely outdoor area with furniture right next to the pool, which is glorious. Its next to the beach so you can wander down for a 5km stroll into town or just to loll about there.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool or a swim-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your 'great' review! We are glad that you got to experience the beauty of Four Mile Beach - you are right the walk into town along the beach is sensational.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us. What a great tip about selecting the Swimout Apartments - they are very popular.

We hope to see you again soon at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
470 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing