We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I couldn't fault our apartment which was privately owned and booked through 'Belle Property'. The agency was excellent to deal with and the level of cleanliness within the very spacious apartment was first rate. Our stay was for 18 nights, so got a good feel for the place.
Sea Temple is gorgeous however one minor gripe was the fact that there were not enough lounge chairs around the pool. We watched from our balcony and whenever a seat became vacant we had to race downstairs to claim it. Another 10 or so loungers would solve that problem.
The only meal we had in the restaurant was one breakfast which was $AUD30 per head and frankly not worth the expense. All in all though, Sea Temple was a delight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    475
    193
    62
    38
See reviews for
473
807
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
210 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The resort is located at 15 min driving from Port Douglas, so I suggest to rent a car. It is also an excellent starting point for visiting all the area, taking a boat to the coral reef and other interesting excursions. We had a one bedroom swim up apartment at the ground floor. It was really big, well equiped and with a nice terrace with sunbeds. You can enter directly to the swimming pool from your room. May be water at the swimming pool is a little bit cold.
The only nagative is the privacy of our room as we were just in front of one of the bridges of the pool and all the people walking on the bridge could see everything inside the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeno19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent staff that never missed a beat. Didn't enjoy the steak sandwich room service which was coolish and damp. Everything else was excellent. Great golf course and very nice restaurant. Worth having a rental car to whiz around the place. Love the 5 star staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Lawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Got married here. The room we had was sensational, the service by the staff (especially Elise) was top notch. The food from the restaurant was extremely good.

The only downside was the battle for parking spots as they don't reserve a spot per room. Sometimes we had to park nowhere near our room which was a hassle at the wedding with lots of bags and things to lug around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavincato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was recommended by a friend so we had a couple of nights there. My travel agent booked it, so I didn't know that there are several grades of rooms. We obviously had the lowest grade, which, as the place is 5-star, should have still been good. The room was OK, although the huge spa bath was difficult to get into over a two-foot surround and with the volume of water it needed it was hardly ecologically justifiable.
There was a small piazza with our room and the adjoining one to the little artificial 'creek' which was a feature of the hotel. Other rooms had loungers; ours didn't, which seemed needlessly mean. There were some loungers in the more public parts of the waterways, but they were too few and the hotel really needs police it better as people put belongings on to them and left them all day to 'reserve' them, so we couldn't get a lounger at all.
The whole complex was circular around the network of creeks with a bar/restaurant in the hub, but it meant that to get to reception you effectively had to walk through the car parking 'ring road'.
As my wife put it 'this is really a posh motel...'.
The negatives were not helped by the bus service into Port Douglas, four miles away. The hotel insists that it is independently operated, but they issue a bus timetable with your key when you check in, so they at least endorse it (and doubtless get a rake-off), but it was A$7 per head in each direction which was expensive. Alternative: drive in, but someone has to stay 'dry'; get a taxi which is equally expensive but worth it if there's two or more as it works out the same as the bus; or walk the four miles along the beach, which we did. That was actually good exercise, and very pleasant.
The hotel also hit you for internet connection. Very annoying, as the cost of staying there is high, so it should be included and when you think that it actually costs the hotel nothing for guests to connect, then it is simply a rip-off. Worse: They charge 1.5% for any credit card usage. This is another rip-off and we found it common with the big hotel groups in Australia - at least at the Accor Group (Sea Temple is part of this) and InterContinental (also includes Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inns). There are plenty of small hotels and guest houses in Australia which don't charge for using credit cards and don't charge for the internet. The big groups should take note.
Net result: We took our laptop into Port Douglas and connected at cafes and restaurants, and we did not use the hotel restaurants and bars at all. On check-out our bill was zero - the hotel should think about this before charging for the internet and before adding on surcharges for credit cards. If enough guests adopt the same policy then the hotel will be a substantial net loser by these practices.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, don't go for the basic one, or you won't be able to get near a sun-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sea temple for five nights at the end of our trip around Aus. The appartment was large with cooker, microwave,dishwasher,washing machine and dryer. A very high standard of finish and very clean. Housekeeping did a great job each day. The pool is masive as it is a logoon that stretches all the way around the hotel. Walk out of your room and into the pool and go for a long swim. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the resort and found the food of the highest quality with good service to match. All the staff were very helpful and friendly which added to our overall enjoyment of our time in Port Douglas. The beach (4 mile beech) is a few mins walk from the resort and it taks about an hour to walk to Port Douglas along the beech. We did it a few times and it is highly recommended. Local bus stops at the hotel every half hour to take you to Port Douglas. Runs until 2.30 am on the weekend (Friday/Sat). We did not use the Spa. Very family friendly!

Room Tip: !st Floor rooms had a sun terrace and a BBQ. Ground floor - some have patio at front that leads dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woody1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

we booked through stayz at this property and got it for a much cheaper rate. a swimout apartment, 2 bedroom. I couldn't find much to fault I have to say. Yes, the pool is very cold, just as many people say but it didn't stop us from swimming. The kids preferred the spa, although i wouldn't recommend it as they are both now sick. the apartment was lovely, the only thing i would say is that the apartment we were in was on a shady side so we ended up in the main part of the pool area so we could get some sun. it didn't worry me too much though. we had a hire car so the drive to town was fine. all in all, it was a fantastic place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
932 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing