We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - would stay again but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely place - would stay again but.....”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had booked a 2 bed apartment for 3 of us with plunge pool "overlooking the golf course" but actually it overlooked a road first... then a golf course in the distance.... we didn't like it - the plunge pool was smaller than it looked in the picture and it was completely shaded with so many plants that worried about getting bitten. There were only 2 loungers with no room for a third even though it was a 2 bed apartment. Inside the apartment it smelt very strongly of bleach / jeyes fluid as if maybe trying to keep insects out. We drove back to reception and asked if we could be moved. It was only 40% full so there was plenty of availability. We couldnt decide between a swimout or a penthouse but they said a swimout would cost $50 a day more. It would have been nice if the extra cost could have been waived as we wasted a couple of hours looking at other places and moving etc.... and it was our anniversary and my daughters birthday ....but they dont seem keen on upgrades even though we were paying a high rate ($370 per night I think) so anyway we opted for a penthouse near the lagoon at no extra cost and it was beautiful. Penthouse had a hot tub which wasnt hot and didnt really bubble - we asked them to take a look at it but we dont know if they couldnt fix it or if it was supposed to be like that. Penthouses have a BBQ which we did on a couple of evenings (there is a Coles supermarket in Port Douglas and a liquorland too which was great to stock up with some really good deals! hic !). Lovely view off the balcony and no nasty bleach smells. The only critisism was that the master bedroom had a small bed (a 'large double' ) and my daughter had a large king bed in the second bedroom which was rather odd. Someone came and aknowledged it was indeed a "very small bed" and even the headboard was much bigger on the sides but then the manager apparently said it was normal to have bigger beds in the second bedrooms as they were used to split into 2 single beds. If we had noticed before we unpacked we would have switched rooms and we were offered another move to an apartment with a King bed in the master bedroom but we really couldnt be bothered so we were rather squashed for most of the time and when I wanted a better nights sleep I slept with my daughter ! Big pool was fabulous. Bar didnt open until 12.00 but that didnt really bother us.

We prepaid a meal in the restaurant for our first night but it gave us a very limited choice and it didnt work out any cheaper at all so don't prepay! I really dont understand how they can offer such a non-existent 'deal'. After a bit of a ding dong we managed to get them to let us book from the normal menu which was really, really fabulous and ended up costing us less (with drinks) because we didnt have the 3 courses that were prepaid (very complicated I know). Also we had prepaid breakfast as it was advertised as 33% cheaper ($20 per person per day) but I wouldnt do that again as we often didnt fancy a full breakfast and you could buy a fantastic breakfast for $19.95 so, again, the prepayment was a bad idea and had, all together, cost us a lot. The apartment was generally lovely with a fab kitchen and bathrooms were great too with a huge jaccuzi bath. Only got bathroom products on the first day even though we were there for 6 days - yes we could have asked for more but didnt think that we should have to do that - this is where the sea temple lacks that extra 'star' for the money that you pay. Generally though we had a lovely stay and would stay again. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. Spa excellent and Restaurant excellent :)

Room Tip: Some apartments overlook the road and are rather dark and shaded - swimouts and penthouses are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishIcouldretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    488
    200
    65
    40
See reviews for
485
829
32
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We ended up here by chance. It blew our minds! Even if you're not staying there, go for dinner! Great food!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you can get a deal on this respite snap it up. 5 star resort which lived up to expectations.

Large room with all the facilities you need except free wifi which I never understand in todays digital age so only gets a 4 for the room.

5 min walk to the beach so as not beach front so only gets a 4 for location.

Amazing private rooftop terrace and BBQ ideal for a party if you were going as a group.

Great pool for adults and kids with poolbar

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Booked a 1 bedroom penthouse apartment and absolutely loved it. First rate accommodation, lovely big balcony looking out over the pool, and an enormous roof top space with jacuzzi and BBQ area etc. Housekeeping excellent and apartment was left spotless every day. Wonderful warm pool which was great fun exploring. We found the front desk staff here very helpful in organising trips about the area.
Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scruffybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We arrived at Sea Temple after a whirlwind 16 days in New Zealand and our group of 10 gave a collective sigh of relief to see that we were about to be pampered. Our room had the biggest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen in a hotel. Two of us had plenty of room and we could have added a couple of children. There were many young couples here, often with children, but not in numbers or noise that detract from the enjoyment of older couples. Our room joined a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen and the entire 3 bedroom suite shared a courtyard with grill, table for 6, small pool with chaises and outdoor lounging chairs, tables and sofa. Our group enjoyed a barbie. Grabbing a sunset cocktail at the pool bar and walking the lagoon was a favorite early evening activity. Many rooms fronted the lagoon and walked out the front door and into the pool.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to be on the lagoon or away from it. All rooms are only a short walk to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyArf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had an amazing penthouse apartment during a weekend away - clean, modern facilies, rooftop spa, wonderful pool design with torches and lush tropical gardens - luxurious but intimate and convenient onsite parking. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind.

The perfect romantic getaway.

Hard to fault this resort.

Room Tip: best to ask for a room that doesn't overlook the resort spa. there were kids in there at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Staying for a week with my husband before the arrival of our baby in June we were certainly lucky with the weather during our stay at the Sea Temple. On arrival we were impressed to be offered an upgrade to a 2 bedroom penthouse suite- too much space for 2 people, but nice to spread out and have access to a rooftop deck and spa. Sadly this was as impressed as we got.

Our first evening we decided to stay in for a meal in the Acqua restaurants- terribly disappointing meal of dry, overcooked food trying way too hard to be impressive.
Service throughout the resort was a disgrace. In the restaurant, breakfast,lunch or dinner, had a maximum of 2 waiters - breakfast buffet rarely getting restocked and waiting a long time for an unsatisfactory meal throughout.

Having stayed in many 5 star resorts throughout Europe and Asia it becomes clear the Sea Temple is not in this category when spending a day by the pool- waiting until 1pm for the pool bar to open (despite the advertised 10am in the welcome book), empty glasses and wet towels from the day before have not been cleared, and if you order lunch or a snack expect your empty plate to sit next to you for the remainder of the day. Had the service here been substantially better, I'm sure my husband and I would have spent many more hours and many more dollars sipping drinks and eating snacks by the spectacular pool.

Room cleaning was not up to standard. Sand on our floor remained there for our 7 day stay, used coffee mugs and teaspoons were simply placed in our dishwasher not actually washed and put away.

Low season and low occupancy rates cannot be used as an excuse for substandard staffing and service. I would suggest the resort managers spend some time at like resorts such as The Twin Palms Phuket and The Tun Jung Rhu Langkawi- two outstanding 5 star resorts that manage to keep service at an extremely high level even when their resort is half empty in the off season.

Room Tip: Swim up room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fishad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing