We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Far North Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This place is right in the middle of things.
Units are very well equipped, very clean and tidy.
My only concern is the sensitivity of the fire alarm as they can be set off just from cooking toast. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    97
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
114
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at Salt Water recently for one week on our honeymoon. It was all we could have hoped for. Very modern, clean and comfortable. The spa was a treat although the weather was almost too humid to want to use it. The pool was a perfect temperature, very clean and blue and nice and quiet. Secure underground car parking was handy. The owners were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. A wonderful holiday. We highly recommend Salt Water and hope to come back one day in the near future.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarAnt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed at Saltwater Luxury Apartments for our honeymoon for 7 days and we are so happy we chose to stay there. Our hosts John and Carolyne were always on hand to offer information about Port Douglas and recommend tours, places to eat etc, and we found their advice to always be spot on! It took a lot of guesswork out of choosing from the hundreds of tours and restaurants in Port Douglas. From the start John helped carry our luggage to our apartment and was very helpful, and our first impression of the apartment was wow! It was incredibly spacious, clean, beautifully decorated, and had a beautiful view of the distant mountains and ocean, and also had all the conveniences to make our stay comfortable. From the huge spa bath and marble bathroom with lovely toiletries and an abundance of white fluffy towels, to marble kitchen benchtops, massive fridge, cable TV, massive balcony with dining table and sun lounges, to the comfy lounge chairs and huge TV, as well as really new looking laundry, we were in luxury heaven! Even though we had a few days of rain on our honeymoon, the apartment was a cosy and self-contained space to chill, and was so quiet whilst being in the centre of Port Douglas, we couldn't hear any sound from the street at all. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice with sun lounges and was never too crowded. We were so close to Coles and cafe/restaurants that it was easy to shop for stay and stay in for meals or literally walk 30 seconds to really high quality coffees, brekkys, lunches and dinners. John recommended a crocodile tour which was excellent, and we found our apartment to be the perfect comfy base to our many walk around town. I highly recommend Saltwater and John and Carolyne, and believe it really is a hidden gem that is very 5-star luxurious without the massive price tag of the other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Apartment was very nicely appointed and very clean. It was situated within the main street giving easy access to all local amenities, where a number of the other main accommodation was a taxi or bus ride away. facilities run by a small family business who were on hand to cater for all our requirements, including booking all tours and excursions. Very approachable and frinedly in ensuring that all our needs were caterd for. The apartments are on 2 floors and the only thing that we could comment on was the lack of a lift. We will defionately stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Our Australian adventure started in Port Douglas and it was a wonderful introduction to such a welcoming and amazing country. We happened upon great weather and an annual carnival as well. Obviously we chose Port Douglas to see the Reef and the Rainforest. SaltWater was an excellent location to be based. The beach was a short walk away and we were right in the heart of town; we had our choice of restaurants and shops and were easily able to get around without a car. We used the local bus system and/or had pre-arranged tours (backcountry for the rainforest and haba for the reef). We were sad to leave and wished we could have stayed a few more days. The condo was spacious and very clean. I loved that we could open the windows for the fresh air. The furnishings were modern and in wonderful condition. It was nice to have a kitchen also (there is a market across the street as well). Only thing to note: We had a two bedroom/two bath and in the master the bathroom was open to the room (no doors or wall) -just something to consider.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ideaswelcome8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate,UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Chose Port Douglas to see the Barrier Reef - great place -right decision. Picked Satwater because of TripAdviser reviews - again right decision. Lovely accommodation located on the main street - with it being the rainy season this was quiet - not sure if it gets noisy when the crowds are around - but for us everyhting was close to hand - perfect! Very helpful management giving us good advise on trips and restaurants

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal NSW
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Great location, right in the middle of the town but quiet. Unit very nice with main bedroom containing bath and opening to familyroom/kitchen via folding doors-maybe not for everyone but we liked it. Nice shutters when open allowed for a nice distant view acrss town to the mountains. Hosts very helpful.
Pool a little small but we had been spoilt beforehand by the resort pool at one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
3.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Property: Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing