We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Apartment/Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment/Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really loved this apartment and Port Douglas for our fourth stop on our Australian trip. We stayed here four nights and were wishing we had booked longer! Carolyn and John booked all of our tours and airport shuttle for us prior to our arrival so all we had to do was enjoy! The apartment was huge - lots of room and two bedrooms with 2 1/2 baths. We loved the shower! We also enjoyed cooking a few of our meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The apartments are located right in the heart of Port Douglas so everything is easy access including the Coles grocery store across the street and the beach is just a short walk. These were a great value. Carolyn and John were so helpful. You can contact them directly for rates at info@saltwaterportdouglas.com.au. If we return to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Lets hope that you can return again soon to Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    77
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
153
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

John and Carolyn were friendly and extremely helpful. saltwater apartments beautifully appointed with modern furniture and appliances. everything we needed and straight on main street with supermarket across the road. Easy walk to beautiful beach, restaurants and shops. Professional bus service from airport. CLEANEST place we have ever stayed and excellent value for money. we have been twice, last time extended our stay because we didn't want to leave! (Only negative is port Douglas council leaf blowers early each morning, about which Carolyn has a petition going:) We hope to go again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. You will have to return to Port Douglas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Saltwater Apartments for 4 nights in the second week of January 2013. We organised the accommodation and our trips to the reef and Daintree in advance (as advised). The apartment was massive. There were two of us in the two-bedroom apartment and there was tons of space - open-plan living/dining/kitchen area, large master bedroom with open en suite bathroom (circular spa bath) and large twin bedroom with en suite bathroom (with shower), plus a long narrow terrace the width of the apartment. We found the location, on the main shopping street of Port Douglas, to suit us perfectly. We didn't hire a car and we were able to walk to the marina (from where the reef excursions depart), the restaurants in the town, the large Coles supermarket and the beach (which has a protective net in one area against jellyfish).

Really couldn't fault the place - we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. You obviously really enjoyed your stay at Saltwater.
Hopefully you will be able tpo return to Port Douglas and enjoy Saltwater again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We first stayed at Saltwater 2 years ago and it was great. We booked our wedding party into Mantra Heritage because Saltwater doesn't have any 1 bedroom apartments but cancelled our Mantra booking after a bad pre-wedding stay there, preferring to spend more than risk another mishap. As a confessed bridezilla with family travelling from overseas, I wanted the accommodation to be of high standard but most of all CLEAN.
Thank New Zealand for John and Carolyn! They were pleasant and helpful when we booked the accommodation (didn't roll their eyes at my neurotic bridezilla requests). 3 months later when we arrived in Port Douglas, just married, they had upgraded us free to the best apartment with the largest balcony, which the whole family enjoyed over the next 3 days. The 4 apartments we'd booked were all properly clean, not spit and polish. One of the shadier apartments smelt musty when initially entered, but once the windows are opened it was fine. We live in Cairns and musty damp smell is normal when windows are closed - it's the Tropics!!
I've read other reviews of Saltwater whinging about beach towels - if $5 is too much, you can buy 2 new towels from Target over the road for $15 and launder yourself. If that is the main complaint, it goes to show there's not much to complain about.
Central location, clean and bright, quiet (we didn't hear other guests very much but there's a little noise from the pub which you don't hear unless you're on the balcony). Yes it's a bit pricey but the apartments are classy and well equipped and you get what you pay for - quality and good service. John and Carolyn were lovely people and after our Mantra experience, we would only stay at Saltwater now because they've spoilt us for anywhere else. Many thanks.

Room Tip: All are great, the differences between them are slight..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaCairns_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate all feed back and it is always good to here that you have enjoyed your stay in Port Douglas and Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were 3 friends who thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Saltwater Apts. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath apt is very spacious; it is nicely furnished with a fully stocked kitchen and the apt has a washer, dryer. Since Port Douglas restaurants were a pit pricey we cooked some wonderful meals in the apts. John and Carolyn were always there to help out with great suggestions on where to go and what to do and helped with making reservations. I HIGHLY recommmend these apts, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyrioInNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Great that you enjoyed your holiday in Port Douglas and that you enjoyed Saltwater.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Saltwater in late November. We wanted to stay in the heart of Port Douglas.
We were within 200 meters of the pubs, clubs and Restaurants. Down the stairs from our room and we were in the middle of Macrossan street. The room was what we wantd, it was quiet at night time as our rooms faced Macrossan street. Never heard anything coming form the street.
The only thing that i didn't like was the pool. Very sterile area, a few chairs and a few potted plants. The pool was very small and as i said very sterile and with no imagination. If you had kids they would find this very boring compared to other accommodations that has shaded trees with comfortable chairs around it.
Would definetly stay again even though the pool was a shocker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Regarding the pool area, the pool is "suspended" [that is, not in the ground] and as such, having trees or unpotted plants doesn't work very well. There are 3 shade sails to compensate for the lack of trees giving guests the options of sun or shade. The photos of the pool on our website should be adequate for guests to determine whether or not it is right for their family.

Thank you again.

John & Carolyne
Owner/ Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Family of 5 travelling from UK had a lovely 6 night stay in the Saltwater apartments. We stayed in a two bedroomed two bathroomed apartment which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and exceptionally quiet. John & Carolyn were very helpful and organised in advance two day trips and gave us some very useful local recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The apartment was very central so good for browsing around town, 5 mins walk to the beach and 8min walk to the marina - really great location. The pool, although not very big, was ideal for the children (ages 7 to 11) and they enjoyed a cooling swim every day. Pool was nicely shaded so great for reading a book poolside.

We really enjoyed our stay and it suited perfectly our requirements of a central but quiet apartment close to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Property: Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing