We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fantastic everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location of the apartments is great as it is on the main street and a 5 min walk from just about anything. The apartments are clean and well maintained and John and Carolyn are so very nice and helpful with everything - from recommending restaurants and tours to organizing shuttles. We have been back three times already and can't wait for our next stay. Also great value for you money!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmui3729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for the great review.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

It's great that you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

How nice to find an accommodation that lives up to expectations, and more. This facility was impeccably clean with lovely furnishings including a great well stocked kitchen. Best of all, it was located right in the heart of Port Douglas with its quaint shops and terrific bistros. We could not have been happier with our apartment. The managers were even kind enough to return our son's passport and headset, which had been left behind, which was certainly appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane&Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for your great review.

Maybe you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Saltwater Luxury Apartments. We had a to bedroom apartment which was very generous in size. Apartment was modern, clean and well stocked with the essentials. This property is perfectly situated in the middle of the main street in Port Douglas - restaurants, shops, 2 supermarkets and the beach is at your door step. If you have a car, there is secure under cover parking which is complementary. We really couldn't complain and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank YellowSmarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for you great review.

It's always a pleasure for us to see that guests have enjoyed their stay at Saltwater.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Your perfect holidays lodgings await at Saltwater. My sister and i spent 3 nights here last week and are already keen to return. John and Carolyn are charming and keen to assist guests in any way they can. The apartments are very clean, stylish, stocked with lots of appliances etc and are huge! The location is ideal. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl222_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for your great review.

Sounds as though you really enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to your return to Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family of five stayed at Saltwater in Port Douglas in September 2012 for six nights. Our two-bedroom/two-bathroom apartment was adequate for our family, and the location could not have been better. Saltwater is literally in the middle of town with shops, restaurants and grocery immediately outside the door. (One day, I went to Coles three times!) The beach and parks were only a short walk down the street, too. Our kids enjoyed the pool, though I would have liked a veranda with a bit more view to enjoy while our infant son was napping in the afternoons. The best thing about Saltwater is the management, John and Carolyn. They helped us plan our days perfectly to suit our family. They had been to most of the places we chose to visit, and could give us their first-hand experiences and knowledge of the best ways and times to see it all. They even had the name of a wonderful babysitter who looked after our three boys while we had a romantic dinner just down the road. Our sitter even taught our kids a new game, and tidied up the apartment before we arrived home after dinner.

Room Tip: Try to book a rainforest view, to keep out street noise and get more of a view from the veranda.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericansinOceania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

What a great review. You have had a great holiday in Port Douglas and being able to have a little time out on your own was obviously great for you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Advertised as '5 star', these apartments were not bad but certainly more functional than luxury. However they were clean with all the required facilities and two bathrooms was a bonus although the ensuite was truly that - actually in the main bedroom so no privacy at all!
These are NOT serviced and if you run out of anything including toilet paper you have to buy it form the nearby Coles.
On the plus side Internet was only $20 a week but was very slow and patchy.
If you want a no thrills stay in a clean central location these are fine but if you are looking for luxury then choose one of the rsorts

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank travel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks for your review. We appreciate all feed back.

We realise that some guests do not understand the concept of non serviced apartments even though it is clearly stated on our website. Most accommodation in Port Douglas is non serviced.
A simple question to us at reception and we would have happily explained the concept.

Saltwater apartments are non serviced apartments. We do supply a starter kit of dishwashing liquid, dishwasher powder, Face tissues and at least 4 toilet rolls.
Non serviced apartments are able to keep the cost of the stay down as they don't have the added cleaning costs that a hotel has. This is why you would have received a good discount at Saltwater.

The layout of the apartment is something that can't be changed but we have been very careful to show on our website photo's, webcam, and video of the interior of the apartments.
If the person is not happhy with the layout we are sure they would not have booked at Saltwater.

Communication is a great thing and if we are told or asked about any perceived or real problem we will always endeavour to solve it for a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently stayed there for 5 nights and highly recommend Saltwater! It's centrally located, with a supermarket just 2 minutes away and plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants nearby (we had a toddler with us so this was perfect). The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen and dining/living area are complete and well-equipped. There was even complimentary ice cream in the freezer!

John and Carolyn are the friendliest, most helpful hosts. They helped us plan our tours during our stay and provided very personal and useful advice.

All in all, we felt very at home and had an excellent time during our holiday! We'd definitely pick Saltwater over any other hotels in the area the next time we go to port Douglas again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks for this great review.

It was a pleasure having you stay and enjoy Saltwater and Port Douglas.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $202 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing