We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Port Douglas - A real Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked 4 nights in Saltwater in April. We were visiting my son in Brisbane and on the recommendation of friends booked the apartments. I think they are excellent value for money ( similar apartments in Ibiza would be double the price and smaller!). Definitely location, location, location! Parking in the secure garage at the back a real bonus.

John and Carolyn are great. Nothing is too much trouble and they will book trips etc for you.

I loved the apartment - spacious and beautifuly decorated. The bed was super comfortable. Dont bother with the tumble drier just hang clothes out near aircon outlet!

Swimming pool area one of ther icest I have use. We loved the BBQ using it twice during our stay.

This is a fabulous place to stay and we have travelled a lot. A real GEM run by lovely people.

My son is planning to return when his Dad visits in August. We would definitely return. Thankyou John and Carolyn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaznles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thanks for the great review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was great having you as a guest and look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have recently spent a week at the Saltwater apartments whilst visiting our son, who lives in Adelaide. We come from the UK and each year like to explore a little more of Oz. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed apartment and it was excellent. We had a deal, paying for 5 nights and with 2 nights free. John and Carolyn were excellent hosts and I would thoroughly recommend Salt Water Luxury apartments and Port Douglas in particular to anyone who wants to visit the area of Cairns. So much more "up market" than Cairns itself. We had some great trips to the Reef and Daintree Forest and certainly look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Room 17, a 3 bedroomed one was very quiet. Excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thanks for the great review.

We agree Port Douglas is special.

It was apleasure having you as guests at Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The managers here are worth their weight in barramundi, the place is central but quiet, the facilities good, and the restaurant downstairs is excellent. The only negatives are that there are only 2-bedroom apartments and that it's not cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for the great review.

Thanks also for the feed back regarding the WiFi. We will have our computer people look at that and hopefully improve the signal strength.

We are looking forward to seeing you later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in these lovely apartments for a week in April 2012. Perfect location, great apartment, nice view & helpful hosts. We have visited Port Douglas before & this is by far the best accommodation we have found. In fact, I have already booked our next holiday there. We found the bed a little hard for our liking, but Carolyne kindly supplied an extra foam mattress which made the bed far more forgiving. The apartment was beautifully clean & well maintained. Parking is available under the building. The in-house Wifi is great value at $20 per week, but I didn't find the performance to be wonderful. I brought my own 3G Wifi router and this worked a treat. The main bathroom had a spa bath & we spent many hours in the tub reading. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThirstyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for the review.

It's great to here that you really enjoyed your holiday at Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have been staying at Saltwater since 2006... Our last stay was in March 2012...and we have booked to return in March 2013...
Carolyne and John are great hosts and are one of the main reasons for us returning each time... they go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and more than happy to assist with tour or restaurant reservations.
The apartments are very comfortable, clean and well appointed...
The location is great... no need for a car... unpack and you are home... the view overlooking the escarpment is terrific and ever changing...
Walk to all attractions... Restaurants, Dixon Inlet and the surrounding Parks, 4 Mile Beach and shops.

Room Tip: Aprtments One and 17 have large wrap around balconies, they are 3 bedroom but can be setup as a 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHCRONULLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for the great review.

A good tip for travellers regarding apartments 1 and 17.

The Penthouses also have great balconies.

We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here in March, 3 adults, paid bargain price for 2 bedroom apartment and then got upgraded to penthouse apartment. Rooms were well equipped, very clean and comfortable and there was a nice view. The owners were friendly and helpful. The apartments are in an ideal location, very close to shops, restaurants and the marina. Previous reviewers mentioned the toilet being in the bedroom which was true but there was a separate toilet as well so there was no issue. The apartments even had a washing machine. The only negatives were the black beetles which were everywhere but can't be helped in Port Douglas especially if the apartment isnt serviced and also having to take our rubbish out ourselves but really these apartments were the nicest we stayed in and I definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for this great review.

The whole of Port Douglas experienced a problem with the small beetles but only for a week. They are a rare occurance so hopefully this has not deterred from returning to Port Douglas.

You obviously enjoyed Saltwater and Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for the Easter long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. John and Carolyne are very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed with 3 families, each in a 2 bedroom apartment. Kids could go from one apartment to another, without fear of the street traffic. Apartments are large, very clean and provide all luxuries. Even the dishwasher is not lacking.
Location is perfect. It's in the middle of town, close to supermarket, all type of shops and restaurants. The beach and parkes are a stone throw away. Yet, the apartments are withdrawn from street hussle and bussle. Yes, we could have happily stayed here for a month!

Room Tip: Talk to the owners and they will recommend the room that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for this great review.

We are always happy to have families stay at Saltwater and it's great that you all enjoyed yuour stay.

Lets hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,032 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,659 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $151 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing