We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Dreamcatcher Apartments are beautiful! Stunning apartment blocks in vivid lilac, green, yellow and blue shades, with internal decor and furnishings to match. They are arranged around a central dip pool surrounded by palms and other exotic plants. Water cascades over stainless steel fountain plates into the pool. What a place to unwind!
During our stay we were to learn that when John and Annie, the owners, originally submitted the plans to the local council, neighbouring properties got up a petition to protest. Fortunately, the council must have had the foresight to recognise that the colours would disappear behind the extensive planting, and they threw the complaints out. Good on them!
Within the apartments there’s a good range of services with laundry and dishwashing available as well as microwave and hob. There’s a great walk-in dressing area and the shower room is very good. There are two balconies off the apartments, most of which overlook the garden and pool. It’s so peaceful and if we hadn’t gone anywhere all week I’m sure that neither of us would have minded. We could live t here!
As it is, it's very handy for the basics. There's a supermarket about 1km away, just past the Rainforest Habitat, and there's a baker, Otz, just up the road. Its produce is fantastic, but you do pay for what you get. You've got eating options at the two pubs, and there's a bottle shop just across the road!
As others have reported the local shuttles get you in to town for $5 return,and the journey is quite quick. Stops are opposite and in front, in and back, so are very convenient. If you do hire a car then you're quickly onto the Cook Highway to get away on your travels.
Dreamcatcher was our point of entry and we were to tour across Oz. We didn't come across better, although we did find a match, and we'd go back in an eye blink. Just thinking about lying under those palms by the pool... ahhhhh

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caneable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed here for a week with our nearly 2 year old daughter, was just a truly relaxing place to be. Set amongst lush tropical gardens, full of colour and just far enough away from town. The beach is a short stroll down the road, small shopping centre with takeaways and bottlestore just around the corner. The units were great nice and roomy with a kitchen, so you truly feel like you are at home and not in a cramped motel unit. Would definitely recommend that you consider this little gem when next in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fitzy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Although outside of the main area of Port Douglas, the centre is easily reachable by the regular minibus coaches (circa every 15 minutes every day). However, still recommend hiring a car for flexibility...

Stayed here for 7 nights and wish it could have been many more!!! The appartments are amazingly colourful, laid back with all of the comforts you need - lets face it, when the weather is good and you have lots to do you dont need complete luxury! John and Angie (the owners) are so layed back we literally didnt see them all honeymoon, however, there was no need as everything we needed had already been provided but they were a phone call away if they were needed!

Literally 60 seconds walk to 4 mile beach, you will find a fabulously clean, quiet, welcoming palm lined beach of which you will not see many people if you laid on there all day! Find some coconuts and crack them open, oh yeah, very manly!!!

Highly recommend Otz at the end of the road for deli snacks and grub - especially the sausage rolls (of all the crazy things to recommend I know) - very tasty.

Whilst in Port Douglas, you have to do the Barrier Reef (as you would expect) but ensure you also see Kuranda - but also make sure you do the RainForestation section to see the Zoo and shows - wont spoil it - but most of all, please take in the Flames of the Forest evening. Old romantic if you like but absolutely unbelievable - wont spoil it for you but you will enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank muckymacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank 33-jack-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamcatcherholiday, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Wouter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybebad100, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments

Address: 26 - 28 Reef St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: $85 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach-side location at Four Mile Beach, Port Douglas. 12 self catering apartments in Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom styles. These spacious apartments are ideally located beach-side, and centrally located for all Great Barrier Reef, rain forest and tableland tours. Experience your home away from home in elegant comfort and tropical style. Port Douglas is a destination which truly provides an adventure of a life time experience combined with the comfort of your accommodation, you simply won't want to leave... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing