We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$293
$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$113
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$146
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$401
$363
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$143
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
43
18
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour mile beachlovely balconyminute walklocal attractionsgood sizetropicalfanscupboardkitchenettecomplex
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 66 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

DreamCatcher is located on the fringe of Port Douglas, not in the city centre, which is an important consideration for some. However, just around the corner is a local centre which has a few restaurants/cafes. It's also reasonably close to the supermarket, chemist and Rainforest Habitat. Best of all, the beach is just a few (ok, maybe 30) steps away along with a park and playground. The kids LOVED the swimming pool, and we all enjoyed the lush tropical landscaping and large patios/decks. All the windows opened which provided fresh breezes, although some of the screens had holes which is a concern in dengue-prone Port Douglas. The kitchen was well stocked and the apartments were roomy enough for the whole family. I think only 1 other person was staying there at the time, so it was quiet and private. However, on one night their music was playing very loud and it was clear that if the place were full and everyone had their windows open, you would be able to hear most of what was going on. Also the downstairs apartment had a strong musty/mildewy smell. Customer service was great. I recommend this for families, as long as you don't mind driving or taking the bus into Port Douglas city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilat_Goby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamcatcherholiday, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Yes we do appologise about the damp conditions we have experienced, making it even more difficult to deal with situations brought on by tropical weather.
Unfortunately as most of us now know, the last 3 months of 2010 as well as the first few months of 2011 brought particularly heavy down pours of rain during our traditional wet season. Resulting from these included the tradgedies of majour flooding throughout Queensland (including the loss of life) as well as Cyclone Yasi. It is unfortunate that one of our guests had to experience this, however we try to stay on top of what the weather conditions bring (including moss and mildew) in this unusually harsh but magnificently beautiful enviroment called Far North Queensland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were so happy with Dreamcatcher apartments. It is set back a stones throw from the far end of 4-mile beach, about 30 minutes relaxing beach walk to the centre of town. If you don't feel like walking, the bus runs every 15-20 minutes from outside the front door. It isn't on the main road so it is quiet enough ( I'm usually a bit noise sensitive in the mornings!). The facilities are lovely and clean and attractive and the bed was very comfortable. It was all very laid back, relaxed and friendly. there's a great pizza place/restaurant just over the road. In retrospect we were glad we chose this over one of the larger resorts along the main road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsunsunsun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Last minute booking for a weeks stay, but we were very happy with the outcome. We weren't sure if being a bit out of the main section of town would be a problem, but the walk along the beach or the local bus were great options. Locally, Beach Shack and OTZ provided great pizza and coffee respectively! Dreamcatchers apartments were comfortable (great big bed!), clean, roomy and generally quiet. Very close to the beach - particularly good option if you're into kite-surfing, they were on the beach most days we were there. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed five nights in one bedroom apartment. Colour scheme amazing and complimented the tropical gardens. Fantastic location for those who love the beach, a little too far from Macrossan St unless you hire a car or use the local bus that runs past often. The Barrier Reef Tavern opposite the apartments serve above average 'pub' food at good prices and the Beach Shack is a must for dinner (watch out for the bats above!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LANDL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I cant rave about this place enough! We had booked ten nights at Treetops resort and couldnt wait to leave, when we stumbled across Dreamcatcher. If you are looking for a holiday with a local touch this is the place to stay. No snotty stuck up moody hotel staff, the staff at Dreamcatcher, (Diane!!) could not have helped us enough. The resort is nestled in with the local homes, situated 50 metres from the beach. The beach is were the locals swim and not overcrowded by all the tourists. When we go on holiday we want to be were the locals are, not the tourists so we could not have been happier. I would suggest to hire a car to drive into the town as the location is a 5 minute drive from the main street, try Paradise Car Hire.
A big Thankyou to Diane, we hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bel1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews