We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing quiet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Tauranga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice relaxing quiet stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Mango Tree apartments for 3 nights. We actually moved from another motel which was fine but we were attracted by the full facilites Laundy self catering fully equiped kitchen and and extra bedroom. We found the apartment absolutely great, clean and comfy with everything at our fingertips. Really helpful staff and quiet environment close to all amenities. Oh also lovely pool area and tennis court. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefrangitira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nice clean comfortable apartment with full facilities.
Good location within walking distance of the township & marina
Very relaxing environment with a range of activties at your beck and call should you be so inclined eg booking the Barrier Reef or Visit the Daintree etc or relax quitely beside the pool.
Very friendly and good value restaurant (Port of Call) 2 minutes walk away.
Good parking

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We thank John for his pleasant review and we are very happy that John enjoyed his stay at The Mango Tree. We would love to welcome John back in the future and will offer her a 10% discount off the published tariff as a reward for being a repeat guest should he choose to stay with us once again.
Mick & Helen Gwilliams, on site managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Mango Tree is well located; a very short walk to town and the beach. We had a full kitchen which saved on meals. The owners gave wonderful advice about trips to take/ groups to hire. Port Douglas is ideally located to reach Mossman Gorge and the rainforest. The apartments are clean, well maintained. The owners respond quickly to any requests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We thank Anne for her pleasant review and we are very happy that Anne enjoyed her stay at The Mango Tree. We would love to welcome Anne back one day and will offer her a 10% discount off the published tariff as a reward for being a repeat guest should she choose to stay with us again.
Mick & Helen Gwilliams, on site managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We thoroughly recommend At the Mango Tree for affordable family accommodation at Port Douglas. Walking to town is a comfortable 15 mins stroll which adds to the lazy holiday feel – 5 mins to the beach, most of which is on a lovely beach track. Our apartment, although shady, gave a lovely retreat from the heat and was a quiet haven to return to each day. Only a small outdoor area per unit but as there were no tenant cars around us it was fine and although the complex was fully booked the whole week that we were there we rarely saw or heard any of the other guests. The amenities were excellent. Comfortable beds and lounge furniture, TV, nice décor and all impeccably clean with white tiled floor throughout and fans and air con. Laundry/dryer within nice sized bathroom and clothes line available too. Kitchen had fantastic supply of crockery pots etc and good sized fridge/freezer plus new oven. We didn’t make use of the pool or tennis courts but just having it there added to the holiday atmosphere and the whole pool area was lovely and lots of plantings around the complex. Managers on site were very pleasant and helpful. We spent a long time choosing an apartment online that was close enough to town/beach and affordable enough - we were really pleased we got it so right.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We thank Ruth for her pleasant review and we are very happy that Ruth enjoyed her stay at The Mango Tree. We would love to welcome Ruth back in the future and will offer her a 10% discount off the published tariff as a reward for being a repeat guest should she choose to stay with us again.
Mick & Helen Gwilliams, on site managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with my family, my children are 4 and 6. Overall they were ok. We had a two bedroomed town house (number 8). The size was great with all the amenities a self catering property needs. However the cleanliness was poor and our townhouse had a fusty damp smell. The upholstry was old and dated. Double bed was uncomfortable as it sloped down on each side where it was worn out. Staff were friendly and offered advice if we needed it. All local tours bookable from reception. Pool was great, the children had it to themselves most of the time and pool toys were provided. Clean pool with plenty of sunbeds and a shaded area.
Complex was a 5 min walk to four mile beach across the road and through a short path. Port Douglas was about 15 min walk or 3 min drive. Lovely place with with good choice of restaurants and bars and two supermarkets. We still really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Port Douglas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WooWoo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

First, I want to say I've traveled all over the world and have stayed in a variety of places. I'm not high maintenence, nor do I need anything fancy.

We had been driving ALL DAY to Port Douglas and booked this motel/condo as we were in the car, en route. That was a BIG MISTAKE, as we didn't get to see any pictures or anything of this Mango Tree place beforehand. After a long day in the car, it would be nice to arrive to a cozy, clean place... what do we get instead?? A very worn down, old, musty smelling place with tons of old amenities. There were a few bugs that freaked me out, and the shower was disgusting and the water came out slow. It was completely uninviting and cold, and we really didnt want to touch anything or sit on anything. Since we arrived so late at night, the office/desk was closed and we had nobody to talk to about changing rooms or checking out. The bedroom was SOOOO musty smelling, I closed my eyes at night and prayed to fall asleep fast because I didnt want to think about how gross everything smelled and looked. What a miserable place to come to after a long day of driving!!!

We originally had booked for three nights, but couldn't wait to get out of the place!!! The next morning we went to check out early and the JERKS at the front desk charged us an extra $50 for a "cleaning fee" since we were checking out early. WHAT???? We were only in the stupid place for a total of like 8 hours over night, already spending WAY too much on such a disgusting place, and now they were going to charge us more? What a waste.

We paid the money and got the heck out of that place as fast as we could!!

Also--- note--- this place is NOT in close walking distance to all the cute shops and restaurants. We ended up staying at a nice place called "Regal hotel" right in the heart of town for the same price, MUCH nicer, very friendly staff, a NOT disgusting like Mango Tree!!!

I really don't understand why peopel are giving this place good reviews!?? Were they staying at a different place than us? YUK!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangotreemanager, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
We thank the writer for expressing their opinion of Mango Tree. As we always aim to present a standard of accommodation comparable to the tariff charged we always welcome any review that may indicate an area in which we can improve and learn from what our guests have to say. In this case though it would appear the guest has a particular issue with the $50 charge that has led to this unpleasant and unjustified review. However we do have a valuable lesson to learn from this.
The guest we recall booked the room by phone after several calls on the day informing us they were traveling up the coast and would be arriving very late. As August is our peak season the standard tariff for 3 adults is $175 per night with a minimum 3 night stay. The guest questioned the price and only wanted one night seeking a reduction in both price and our required duration of stay. Our response was to agree to a lower price but insist on the three night minimum and the conclusion was a three night booking at $125 per night being $50 per night off the published rate. A saving of nearly 30%!
We charged the first night to the guests credit card as a deposit and set up the room for their late arrival. The guest arrived late as predicted and followed the standard after hours check in procedure to access their room.
The following morning we were informed that they would not be staying as the room was not really what they had in mind and they had found somewhere else - from the review we see a four star establishment on Macrossan Street in the heart of town and not a comprable 3.5 star being a 15 minute walk from town as is Mango Tree.
We explained that the three night rate was dependent on three nights and insisted that the $50 discount must be paid on top of the $125 deposit for the first night if the booking was to be for only one night. We agreed not to charge the full 3 nights as most other hotels would do and were happy to let the guest leave without insisting on any further charge that we would be entitled to. We did wonder at the time why they had booked at all and concluded that we may have been their best option for a late arrival. This $50 charge therefore has nothing to do with a cleaning charge as stated in the review.
It is surprising that this review should appear almost 6 months after the guest stayed at the Mango Tree and most disappointing to read the content of the review, particularly so because we are unable to do anything about it other than offer a response. We feel it is unjustified as there was no mention of any issue with the condition of the room at the time the guest checked out and the description in the review in all honesty does not match the reality in the room. As stated before we accept criticism and always strive to maximise the opportunities presented by the opinions of our guests. This review presents us with a lesson to learn when accepting late arrival bookings on the day of arrival. That is we will not be negotiating reduced rates on the first night from this point forward and thank the reviewer for helping us to arrive at this conclusion.
There is little else we can glean from this review as the motivation appears to be totally unrelated to the harsh criticism. Fortunately many of our guests do appreciate the value for money offered by the standard of our modest 3.5 star accommodation. We can only hope that this sort of irresponsible use of the guest review mechanism does not inflict too much damage upon our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

A quiet and peaceful environment with helpful staff. Slightly less than 5 mins drive from the main shopping and eating area. Room is quite big with some kitchen utensils & utilities. Bathroom is quite big too. Generally clean except for a few ants in the bathroom. Adequate parking available. Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#33 of 42 in Port Douglas
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#38 of 42 in Port Douglas
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
#27 of 55 in Port Douglas
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#17 of 55 in Port Douglas
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Port Douglas Sands Resort
#29 of 55 in Port Douglas
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments

Property: At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Address: 91 - 93 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not suitable for people who like to complain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Mango Tree Holiday Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing