We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I travelled to Port Douglas with my wife and 3 young children (from 2 months to 5yrs) and we decided to stay at the Rendezvous due to the good reviews here on TA as well as the decent rates available at the time - we were looking for value for money as we were staying for 2 weeks. We weren't disappointed.

The 2 bedroom Deluxe Villa was quite spacious, self contained and recently renovated, (2 of) the kids had a LCD tv with DVD player in their bedroom which meant we could get them into bed really early on the odd occassion we hired a dvd from the town centre which was fantastic. The room also had free broadband which was great. On the down side mobile reception from the room was patchy at best - sometimes i had none (telstra FYI) however some might find that a plus while on holiday!

The resort complex itself is good but fairly basic so don't expect 5 star but the restaurant food and poolside snacks are good (try the risotto!) and the main pool area is great for the kids with lots of shallow areas, caves and waterfalls to explore. We hired a car for the 2 weeks and that would be my recommendation as the Rendezvous is a few k's from the main centre of Port Douglas for restaurants, groceries, shops and the patrolled beach with stinger nets.

The staff were almost all fantastic, really helpfull and friendly. We felt as though they really cared, they were alaways smiling and they remembered who we were most of the time which is always a nice touch at a resort.

On to a couple of not so positive comments. The guy we suspect is either the restaurant manager or owner seemed really stressed out all the time and we found him fascinating to watch as he buzzed around the place. We didn't enjoy the way he spoke to the restaurant staff in front of guests though. On one occassion after a waitress was being shown for the 6th time how to wipe the same table and stand from different angles to ensure it wasn't streaky i commented to the poor girl that it looked fine as far as i was concerned. She was clearly embarrassed as were we and we felt that his rediculous behaviour was uncalled for in this instance. There's nothing wrong with perfection but we felt his expectations of staff should be best explained to them behind closed doors. She rolled her eyes and said "don't go there" with a smile alluding to the fact that this wasn't an isolated incident.

The couch and arm chairs in the room are like blocks of concrete. I cannot fathom for the life of me why the person in charge of the new fitout selected this lounge suite. After a long day out at the beach or on the road or tour what do you want to do when you get home? Relax on the couch, maybe a snooze right? No can do here. It is unbelievably uncomfortable amplified by the fact we were there for 2 weeks of course. For a few days you can handle anything. If we wanted to relax in the afternoon with some cheese and wine we had to site at the dining table.

The only other thing if i can call it a negative was breakfast. Don't get me wrong the food was good, no complaints with the quality. Continental breakfast was included each day and it was a $7.50 per adult upgrade to the buffet. However over a 2 week period it became VERY repetitive. Same 3 or 4 cereals each day and the same hot food each day became a bit boring. I wished that they mixed it up a bit but if that is my only complaint it's really pretty good. We just cooked our own breakfast in the room a few times to brerak it up a bit which was fine.

In summary there are far more pro's than cons. We may have caught the manager at a bad time and others may not experience the same thing from him so i wouldn't let that influence your decision to stay here. The value for money was excellent, the rooms spacious and clean, staff were friendly and the pool was fantastic for kids and adults alike. Yes i would stay there again IF they had new lounge suites.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 668 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

Have recently returned from Rendezvous and would suggest this is ideal for families with young children. I found it a bit too far away from the action but the shuttle comes to the door. ($4 each way -could be a little pricey for a family ) Staff were helpful with any issues and the atmosphere was relaxed. (wish the couches were more comfortable!!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The 2 bedroom unit was very nice and comfortable. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly and helped us often. The whole resort was clean, well set out and immacutely groomed. The only complaint we had was the dryer played up when we used it and the kitchen knives were horribly blunt. But apart from that it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I read a few reviews about this resort and decided to give it a try and booked a 2 story renovated villa. This turned out to be a great decision because we enjoyed having the space to spread out in, air conditioning, and the option to cook our own meals in the kitchen.

Things we liked:
- kitchen was very well stocked with pots/pans, french press, utensils, plates/glasses etc
- ceiling fans to circulate the air and then air conditioning when it got a bit humid
- balconies of the bedrooms
- two bathrooms!
- washer and dryer - in a resort town where you are likely heading to the beach, the pool or the reef, being able to do your laundry at your own convenience was great!
- customer service was great
- the main pool was very beautiful, but was a bit cold in the winter when the sun was not out and blazingly hot. (would be great from 10am to 4pm) The coolest part was the waterfall at the cave entrance which you could swim into and then push the white button to turn on the jets. (the water is not hotter there...that would have been cool!)

Things that could have been better:
- it would have been nice if the after-hours reception had a little more information re: the property as we arrived late. They were not able to answer general questions about the internet access (had a problem which was resolved with a new cable two days later)

Ok, now just two side notes for you to note:
- it might be a little noisier during peak season as the walls/doors felt a little hollow and noise can travel easier.
- location: This resort is a bit further from downtown (not walking distance), but this didn't bother us as we had a car. I saw a number of people taking the shuttle into town and was told it was about every 15 min. For our family, this location was great as it made things a bit more isolated for us which equals relaxation!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climbnbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at the Rendezvous for five nights. We had a remodeled two bedroom unit. Came with two bathrooms, washer/dryer, AC in all rooms, and a flat screen TV. We payed only $118 a night. The pools and bar had also been updated. We enjoyed the pools even though it rained a lot everyday. The overall complex is showing its age, we just went between the unit and the pool or outside the complex didn't matter.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We spent 4 days at the resort, the kids only used the pool/spa. And the spa didnt even work. Other people had complained about the spa, but it never worked during our stay
Overall impressions were not very good
Villas looked tatty, needed a make over, a good tidy up
We couldnt open the wardrobe in one bedroom Why ? because the TV cabinet inside was too big for the wardrobe. We found it really funny .
We didnt see any maid service, had to replace the toilet rolls ourselves

I think the hotel should seriously look at the competition in Port Douglas

We will be returning to Port Douglas but not to the R/Reef

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

A great place for a family holiday. We stayed in a fully renovated deluxe 3 B/R villa. Very large and well appointed (obviously recently fully renovated). Having 3 bathrooms was a blessing with teenage girls. We were in a small area with virtually a private pool for just a few villas. Compared to other places we have stayed in Port Douglas this is certainly the best value for money we have come across.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $136 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing