We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Price, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed at the resort 4 nights with our children aged 1.5 and 8 in a 2 bedroom.

Positive:
1. Great/large pools, many pools to choose from,the children will love it.
2. Low rate, great value.
3. Most furnitures are brand new and our villa is fully refurbished.
4. There is a TV in the second bedroom, the kids will love it.
5. Bathroom and toilets can be found in both up and downstairs, makes it very convenient.
6. Air-conditioning in all bedrooms and downstairs.
7. Great place for families.

Negative:
1. Both bedroom, bathroom, all wardrobes and all pillows are very smelly.
2. No choping board provided.
3. The villa we stayed has no carport, only street parking is available. If you have a car and arrive at the resort in a bad weather (like us), heavy rain and flooding everywhere, you will find yourself in trouble to get into this particular villa with all your belonging.
4. No blind or curtain installed in the second bedroom's window => no privacy.
5. Very uncomfortable pillows, very flat.
6. Master bedroom - air-cond. not working properly and ceiling fan making lots of noises
7. Stains are found on the bedlinen.
8. Dirty hairdryer.

Advice:
1. Aerogard is a must staying in this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SunMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Rendevous Reef resort and enjoyed our stay. The apartments have been recently refurbished, everything worked fine (except the DVD player, see below) and the ambience was great.

I found the Rendevous to be clean, quiet and loved the gardens and mature palms and shrubs around the resort. The staff were relaxed, but attentive when required which adds to the holiday feeling. Although the Rendevous is one of the older resorts in Port the recent refurb has breathed new life into the place. Value for money here as some of the newer flasher resorts charge twice the price but offer very little extra.

We liked the upstairs balcony for evening drinks and relaxing, the large pool next to the restaurant was great for kids and adults. We dined at the restaurant a couple of times and found the food and service excellent. You can book tours at Reception, and one of the local buses runs a regular service stopping at the resort and also hire pushbikes if that's your thing. Although Rendevous is a bit out of town there is a supermarket, bottleshop and chemist nearby. The bus was handy for some nights out in town when I didn't want to drive.

On the down side.......the gym was small and offered very little really, we had problems getting the dvd player to read dvds on occasion.

Overall I was pleased with the experience and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wirlarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Spent eight days at resort and had a fabulous time. Rooms were great with heaps of room for kids and air con in every room. Pools were excellent and made the holiday perfect for all the family. Restaurant staff were very polite and helpful. Food at the swish bar was very nice. Only negative was staff at reception were to slow to check in and out and not much to speak of with regards to a nice friendly smile and a welcome. Felt that check in staff member was a bit sad to be there. Needs to try and smile and say welcome. All in all it is a great place to stay with family. Will defiantly stay again. Great price as well which helps the budget a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bids2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed here for 4 days in October 2008 with two other couples.
This is a great resort, I would recommend it to everyone.

The pools and activities at the resort are excellent and every afternoon at 3pm we found ourselves by the main pool drinking and enjoying the atmosphere.

We booked a three bedroom villa to accommodate all 6 of us. There was plenty of room in the two storey villa and with two bathrooms.

I agree with other travellers about the couches being uncomfortable, but that is so minor in the scheme of things.

We are planning to make this a yearly event with friends as it was so easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikemelb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights in October. There was 4 of us - my husband and I and two kids and this is the prefect place to stay.

They have villa accommodation so it's like you own little house with air conditioning. We stayed in a 2 bedroom one. It's 2 storey and great because we could relax downstairs afte rthe kids went to bed and watch tv and talk etc. The villas are all new and the place is massive. All the villas are spread out and it's very peaceful and relaxing.

The resort has heaps to do, we couldn't get our kids out of the pools! They also have a kids eat free deal in teh restauarnt which makes a huge difference to the budget. I liked the sundeck and lounges around the main pool area best.

I recommend this resort to everyone who is travelling with family or even small groups of friends. It's a great place to stay and has heaps to do.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happyfamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

This was a fantastic five day break from Melbourne with our two children aged 12 and 14.

There was plenty to do, the pools were relaxing and the towhouse style villas were increadibly comfortable. Best of all, everything was brand new.

Breakfast in the "Swish" restaurant was very forgetable and over priced however the dinners were fantastic dining under the stars.

I think this one is a bit of a hidden treasure as the room rates have not increased since what appears to be a massive refurbishment has occurred. But they can't stay at this low rate forever - we are thinking of going up in December if the rates stay where they are. Great value.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FamilyHolidayJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

We booked for a family of 4 for 2 nights in Nov 08. We did not want to leave! Ours rooms were very clean and refurbished. The beds and sofas were comfortable. The whole atmoshere of the resort was relaxed and very pleasant. The staff were very friendly. The main pool was amazing and you could spend almost a whole day there! The only thing we didn't like was the buffet breakfast which was overpiced for the food - as there was not much variety. But overall, an amazing place to stay at a very reasonable rate!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $127 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing