We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Staff were always so helpful . Weather it eating in the restaurant or booking day trips everything was so good . The happy hour cocktails were Amazing as well as drink options . The pools were amazing with the kids loving every moment they got to spend in there . The villas were so well set out with 2 bathrooms , laundry, cooking facilities , air conditioning fans etc . The only thing that would be better was comfy lounge so u can relax while kids sleep but despite this the whole experience was amazing . Staff are polite , friendly and made my stay more relaxing .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Collee82,

Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it! We do pride ourselves on having an amazing team and guest service is at the heart of everything we do.

We hope you will choose Rendezvous again when you are next in Port Douglas!

With thanks,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    258
    147
    69
    43
See reviews for
365
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

we paid for the Superior "deluxe" units. beautifully lit photos on website are true but reality is not as glossy. as you drive in you see lack lustre older style units. think 80's style with "bobble" concrete walls. recent refurbish was apparently 4 years ago and was kitchen and bathroom only. the rest is knocked about and about 10 years of dust and grime. shower was slippery and slimy. gave it a scrub and got rid of slick surface myself. bedside lamp bases covered in thick coating of dust. tropical gardens are here and there but not all over. having said that there are a lot of pools. very warm in january but kids loved them.

free breakfast is okay saves having to buy dish liquid to do your own dishes.

we are used to the qld apartment style of accommodation whereby accom is unserviced and u hv to supply loo paper and washing liquid etc so were expecting that.

back to the breakfasts we travelled as 2 families and one of us got included hot breakfast the other only continental. shop around if u want to stay here. i booked direct w hotel and got continental. other family with a third party hotels.com i think and got hot breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Willea,

Thanks for posting a review of our resort. You're right - our refurbishment of most villas was 4 years ago and included the kitchen, bathrooms, tiles, new carpet, furniture and bedding. Disappointed to hear that there was dust in some areas. We have highlighted this with our housekeeping team. As you have also noted, we offer apartment style villas which are not serviced during guests stay, unless this is booked as an extra service.

Thanks for recognising our leisure facilities. We do have a number of pools for big kids and little ones which are always a great hit! With regard to your comment on the breakfast packages, some travel agents have full breakfast included in the package and some do not. Our Rendezvous website offers the best rates around so please check out our site for future bookings.

With regards,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Accommodation was great. Large with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Bathroom downstairs was perfect to use after being in the pool. Took advantage of the washing machine and dryer to catch up on all the washing after being in Cairns for 5 days before arriving in Port Douglas. Kitchen was well equipped. We had a rental car and could get into town easily. Would be a bit of a walk otherwise,I did see buses stop outside on a regular basis. Great place to stay. They have a late check in - 3pm and we arrived early from cairns but our room wasn't ready until 3. Would be better if the check in time was 1 or 2.

Room Tip: Pool view. We had quick access to the large pool, reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were here for 4 nights, 3 couples sharing the accommodation, one bathroom upstairs, I used the shower room downstairs in the laundry room, to prevent waiting for the upstairs bathroom, so that was ok. Good to have two loos when there were six of us ! It was clean, we used the laundry facilities a lot and purchased more laundry detergent from reception. When we first arrived the staff on duty were very friendly. Then there was a changeover of staff, the chap was a little gruff. I guess they have a regular turnover of visitors so do not know who have been there awhile. Restaurant was good. We had vehicles so could get into town ok although the bus service was very regular and good which we did use on a couple of occasions to go into town so we could have a drink and noone had to drive. Wifi available but best signal is close to reception and of course when people are out or gone to bed !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsWorldUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

There are pros and cons to staying here. Luckily, for us, the pros outweighed the cons. I've given this 3/5 average rating because I couldn't work out how to give 3.5. It's better than '3 Average' but it's not '4 Very Good'.

Location
Ideally located a short trip from the main Port Douglas town. We had a rental car so nipped in and out whenever we felt like it. It would have been too far for the kids to walk, especially in the heat, but there were definitely shuttle buses coming in and out as mentioned in the reviews of other travellers and the resort website. There is an IGA a very short distance away in the opposite direction of Port Douglas and this was really convenient as you could easily park and it was easier for me than going to Coles in Port Douglas if a supermarket or chemist was all you wanted. Perfectly situated as a base to go to the Daintree rainforest or to Cairns and off snorkelling. Can't fault the location for things to do and places to visit if you have a car.

Staff
We didn't have much interaction with staff but the check-in was very pleasant and efficient. We got given directions and a map on how to find our villa which might have been confusing for some people who need a bit more assistance but we were fine with it. We ate at the restaurant once and the service was friendly and fast.

Check-out was a bit slow as they didn't seem to have our extra expenses ready for us on the computer. Instead they had a pile of receipts and used a calculator! So be prepared if you want a speedy checkout and do it early. Can't complain about the staff but, as I said, we didn't have much interaction with them.

Restaurant
Only ate here one evening. The food was really nice and good service. It's nice eating poolside and I imagine very convenient if you want to keep an eye on the children while you have lunch.

Facilities
The pools are lovely with interesting waterfalls and caves to keep children amused. A nice variety of pools to suit all levels of water experience. You have a lap pool for serious swimmers, a large pool by the restaurant and some smaller pools beside the kids playground. The landscaping made them look very exotic but there was perhaps a shortage of sun beds at busy times. If you plan to have a pool day, get there early to get sun beds as people tend to get them then keep them reserved with towels when they go off for food etc.

The gym is fine if that's what you want to do on holiday. Always check the opening hours though because they vary and aren't always what you'd expect. Take a $1 coin with you too as they like you to hire a towel. The tennis courts are fine too but need booking of course.

The BBQ was pretty good and right beside the kids playground. Nice and shady with plenty of seats and a vending machine for drinks.Reception sells drinks, chips, ice creams etc if you want them.

Car parking - plenty of it and you can get parked quite conveniently.

The villa... hmmm. We chose deluxe and it's definitely NOT my interpretation of deluxe. It was somewhat in need of a refurb but it was clean. Considering it was meant to sleep 4 (and up to 5), it wasn't very well equipped. There were only 2 mugs. Presumably they don't expect everyone to want a cup of tea/coffee in the morning. Kids drink tea too you know! The seating was not comfortable if you wanted a quiet night in watching a movie. Just two chairs and a two seater sofa. The dining table chairs had to be used to get a bit of personal space.

Upstairs and downstairs shower rooms/toilets, one with a bath. Brilliant power showers. You're given just enough white towels, presumably because they expect you to wash them yourself (remember these are unserviced apartments during your stay). Well, our washing machine didn't work! It wasn't going to be fixed before we left so we didn't bother making a fuss but it can be important to some people. We hand-washed instead and things dried quickly in the heat. There aren't any pool towels so bring your own or be prepared to buy $10 each from Coles which were pretty good.

If you are someone who likes to cook, be warned that they don't really provide a decent amount of kitchen utensils. One large frying pan and one small pot which was large enough to boil 4 eggs. We asked for a larger pot to cook some pasta but were told this was all they provide. Seriously lacking in basic things for cooking because they obviously don't expect you to be doing that. No dish towels provided. One packet of dish washing detergent. You'll have to stock up on that kind of stuff.

Air con was wonderful! A unit in every room plus ceiling fans everywhere. You won't be too hot inside. Had a lovely little garden area to sit out at. There are no fly screens on the doors.

Despite anything negative I've said, if we ever come back to that area we'd consider staying here again. We'd just be better prepared for what to expect. As I said at the start, the pros outweighed the cons but only if the price is right.

Room Tip: You can get villas which back directly onto one of the pools. Perfect to sit and watch kids in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lomacady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently.On our arrival the manager and receptionist barely acknowledged us, apart from the routine check-in procedure. Shocking that there was the 1 sachet of laundry detergent, dishwasher powder and 1 toilet roll in each bathroom That's taking budget to the limit!!
The kitchen was very modestly equipped..not even salt and pepper, no bowls for mixing a salad etc.Sadly the real deal was not as promised by the glossy photography on the Hotels website,
What we were disappointed most was the "hot" breakfast for which we paid an arm and a leg..come on!!! You cannot charge $19 for a canned baked beans, canned spaghetti heated up for breakfast..at least serve fresh fruit, not canned fruit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here four nights in December 2013. The villa was nice but it was two stories with the bedroom upstairs. We're not mobility impaired but if we were it would not have worked out very well. The whole place could use a good cleaning. Dusty and dirty in some places. Ants were all onver the place. If you stay here, don't leave any food out. Put everything in the fridge. Have to admit, we were warned about this in the literature given to us at check-in. The grounds were beautiful but not maintained very well. Lot's of fallen branches and dead leaves on the ground. Wi Fi was only available in the reeption area which was a bit inconvenient. I don't think these accomodations were worth the price. Extra charges for everything including extra clean towels and wash cloths. No room cleaning service or towell replacement was provided. Two wash cloths and towels doesn't cut it for a four night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Western_Whaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing