We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a week”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Never been to FNQ, this resort was agreat find, accomodation was great, upgraded to 3 bedroom villa on arrival, clean well maintained modern property on peaceful outer edge of resort. only 5 min walk to recpetion where friendly staff were always on hand to help with any enquiry. Great selection of pools across resort or 5 minute walk to 4 mile beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    253
    144
    61
    43
See reviews for
352
151
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First trip to Port Douglas and overall it was great but our unit at the Rendezvous Reef Resort was a disappointment. We were there for 7 nights. The breakfasts were good, the staff was always nice and the breakfast area overlooking the pool was a lovely way to start the day, but the 2bedroom unit - not so good. No TV in either of the bedrooms. It's the first time we've ever stayed in a 2b/room unit that didn't have a TV in at least 1 of the bedrooms. The small 2seater sofa in the lounge area definitely wasn't made for relaxing. There was an upstairs balcony which had no furniture on it for enjoying a drink or two. Not even 1 chair. And the door of the dishwasher in the kitchen was so dirty that we didn't even open it to look inside! Next time we'll look elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great 4 day stay at Rendezvous in Post Douglas. The resort is well run and just the place to have a relaxing break. Our apartment was great, spacious clean and well supplied. Even though we were quite close to the road it was exceptionally quiet. We loved the pool complex and swam every day. We used the restaurant takeaway service and this was tasty and a efficient service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Like others I was a little worried about the reviews on here but this place lived up to my expectations. I knew for the amount I paid I wasn't going to get the Hilton but was pleased to find a comfortable and tidy apartment which was a great base for our holiday. My boys loved visiting the pool and cocktail hour was nice for us adults. The restaurant meal was lovely.

My only small negatives (which didn't impact us too much), the couch was umcomfortable and in 8 days a little clean may have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located just a short 15 minute walk from the main street, This hotel was perfect for our family holiday. We had 3 couples staying in a 3 bedroom apartment and were very happy with our rooms. The pools at the reosrt are large and there is a great outdoor bbq area! The shuttle bus would come often and drive right through the resort which was convienient.

Room Tip: I would advise renting a car to get around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikdemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2013 as a family of 5. Reading some of the reviews on here we were a bit concerned about what it would be like, but we were very pleased. We had a little two-bedroom two-storey house (with car port) which included a small kitchen area, two bathrooms and a laundry area. We thought we might struggle with just one towel each (as we are travelling from the UK we didn't bring our own pool/beach towels)- but then we just bunged them in the washing machine when needed!

The house also had a drying rack for wet swimming stuff, and was generally well equipped. There were lots of pools - mind you, they were freezing - and you are only about 10 minutes (easy) walk to the gorgeous beach.

Port Douglas is a great base for all sorts of outings - Breakfast with the Birds, Hartleys Crocodile Experience, Mossman Gorge and Daintree Rainforest were our favourites. The Rendezvous Reef was a great place to go out and about from.

Only real complaint was that wifi was only available in the lobby - and at busy times was very slow with all the traffic! Food was nice in the restaurant (the included breakfast was a great standard). All good really!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at our villa after checking in. This is a large resort that is unpretentious and has everything you need for a good holiday. Great pools in lush surroundings as well as gym,lap pool,restaurant and excellent kids playground next door to an excellent bbq area. We liked the fact that you can self cater in the villas which are quite spacious and fully equipped and modern. Good breakfast available and restaurant meals good and well priced if you didn't want to cook.beach was very close and it is beautiful and lovely to walk along to the port douglas village. Internet a bit slow but only a minor thing as we were able to hot spot on our phone/ipad and this did the trick. loved our stay.

Room Tip: if you have children you may ask for a villa near the playground and pool/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsa m J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing