We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located just a short 15 minute walk from the main street, This hotel was perfect for our family holiday. We had 3 couples staying in a 3 bedroom apartment and were very happy with our rooms. The pools at the reosrt are large and there is a great outdoor bbq area! The shuttle bus would come often and drive right through the resort which was convienient.

Room Tip: I would advise renting a car to get around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikdemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    248
    138
    58
    40
See reviews for
344
143
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2013 as a family of 5. Reading some of the reviews on here we were a bit concerned about what it would be like, but we were very pleased. We had a little two-bedroom two-storey house (with car port) which included a small kitchen area, two bathrooms and a laundry area. We thought we might struggle with just one towel each (as we are travelling from the UK we didn't bring our own pool/beach towels)- but then we just bunged them in the washing machine when needed!

The house also had a drying rack for wet swimming stuff, and was generally well equipped. There were lots of pools - mind you, they were freezing - and you are only about 10 minutes (easy) walk to the gorgeous beach.

Port Douglas is a great base for all sorts of outings - Breakfast with the Birds, Hartleys Crocodile Experience, Mossman Gorge and Daintree Rainforest were our favourites. The Rendezvous Reef was a great place to go out and about from.

Only real complaint was that wifi was only available in the lobby - and at busy times was very slow with all the traffic! Food was nice in the restaurant (the included breakfast was a great standard). All good really!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at our villa after checking in. This is a large resort that is unpretentious and has everything you need for a good holiday. Great pools in lush surroundings as well as gym,lap pool,restaurant and excellent kids playground next door to an excellent bbq area. We liked the fact that you can self cater in the villas which are quite spacious and fully equipped and modern. Good breakfast available and restaurant meals good and well priced if you didn't want to cook.beach was very close and it is beautiful and lovely to walk along to the port douglas village. Internet a bit slow but only a minor thing as we were able to hot spot on our phone/ipad and this did the trick. loved our stay.

Room Tip: if you have children you may ask for a villa near the playground and pool/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsa m J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a two storey town house, fully equipped. Infact you could live there. The place was clean and uptodate. Nothing outstanding but you pay for what you get. The buffet breakfast was reasonable. The location was a bit out of town but we walked along the beach each day and got our exercise. (approx 3-4km each way). There are buses every 30min if you decide to go by bus. I asked a couple of small kids how they were enjoying themselves and they loved it. There are a few pools and playground. The gym facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would recommend not being by the pool. It is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazzandrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at Rendevous Reef mid-August 2013. 2-bed apartment was a good size, but the staircase and master bedroom were dirty, very dusty and had several cobwebs. Complaint to Reception got the unit thoroughly cleaned, but shouldn't have had to draw this to their attention in the first place. Bedrooms also lacked matching bedside tables; a minor point, but indicative of the lack of attention to detail which made us question the official 4* rating for this accommodation.
Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, although the inclusive breakfasts were a bit 'hit and miss' because the kitchen wasn't always able to keep the buffet dishes topped up at peak times or maintain a steady supply of cutlery.

Have stayed at other hotels in the Rendevous group before and whilst appreciating this is a different style of accommodation, it certainly fell some way short of the standards we had been expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitken61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The good... The villas are relatively clean and tidy. Nothing extravagant but comfortable. The resort certainly caters for all with good pools and BBQ areas. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The bad.... The pools are freezing, the villas are quite small for what I would expect, Internet is very slow and the wifi is only offered in the reception area. If you stay in villa 131 or 132 then don't expect to be able to park your car due to the angle on the drive way. The only other parking is at reception or in the guest parki which is a fair way away.
Overall not too bad but there are plenty of other options.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a difficult place to review so I'll split it into 2 parts.
The Good:
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Communal areas are very good, we enjoyed the pools, BBQ area is very good place to meet and socialize with people, and well maintained, tennis courts and gym seemed new additions.
Decent location, particularly if you have a car.
The bad:
The villa we stayed in was billed as luxurious, which is untrue. We bought 7 nights at a charity auction, it was a good cause but the villa itself did not meet our expectations in any way. It was dark, small, had seen much better days and despite us being there 7 days the room was only serviced the day before we left!
Overall I wouldn't recommend this resort, as the quality of accommodation isn't good enough, although I should say that if our accommodation had been better, we would have rated higher, so I think it depends on your luck with the villa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing