We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed one night, 2 bedroom villa,we would come back again for longer. we were able to check in before time,so had a lovely swim in one of 4 pools.just the thing after travelling for 6 hours.Our villa was clean,well fitted out, roomy,just far enough away from the pool..and noise of the kids in the pool. Went for breakfast ,enjoyed sitting outside near the pool, very family oriented,buffet breakfast,ok if you like poached eggs with spring onion scattered over.tried to ask for sperate order,would not do.
dinner menu looked good and not so pricey as other places. lots of early dinner specials, cocktail and beer happy hour,def somewhere for families to eat.

Room Tip: not sure if they had bikes to hire, as it would be a great way to ride into PD on the beach.a distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    248
    138
    58
    40
See reviews for
344
143
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arriving at the resort went well. It is easy to find on the main road into Port Douglas and the receptionist was very welcoming. Things did go rapidly downhill from there. We are a family of 5. Roll away beds are a fact of holiday life. Here is the first time that the rooms were too small to fit the bed. It had been left folded at the bottom of the stairs (the apartments are over 2 floors). Without pillows. Various maintenance issues later we start the hunt for a room safe. There is one but it is a chargeable extra. Over $4 a day to protect belongings that the resort has disclaimed any responsibility for. Are we indeed in the 1970s? Well judging by the appliances we are (although they do all seem to work). And so onto breakfast... which we had been told by the travel agent was included... Not so. 1 child per adult (ok fair enough) and - here it differs from the booking - only children under 2 are free. $8 for a 3 year olds breakfast is a bit much.

Maybe our expectations are too high but they aren't even approached here.

You will have to judge for yourself the value for money. Just don't forget those extras.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwright72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a week at the Rendezvous Reef in Port Douglas. The villa we had was very spacious and quite modern. We had breakfast included in our rate which was of an ok quality but was almost the same every day. The facilities are of a high standard - particularly the pools. The staff were very friendly and helpful when planning trips. The resort is about a 40 minute walk away. There is a bus but this works out quite expensive for the whole family.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pools have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PippaJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Resort, The villa's had just been updated and where well appointed and comfortable, with a toddler in tow, the pool and playground where wonderful. The breakfast was more than enough and the menu for lunch and dinner where ample. It was a long walk into town however a shuttle bus did run, but I thought the $5 they charged each way added to an expensive day. One thing I would like to comment on was the staff they where just lovely so friendly and very helpful. The only thing we found a little strange no fly screens on the windows!! Overall a lovely stay ,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathleen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent five nights at the Rendezvous Reef Resort in Port Douglas. The villa was well presented and plenty big enough for four adults. There were several pools and extensive grounds. Full buffet breakfast for two was included in the price and there was a well equipped BBQ area away from the villas.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe villa which had shaded parking directly in front of the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the first time I have truly travelled within Australia for a Holiday (all others have been overseas). I was travelling with my 7 and 8yo boys on my own and wanted somewhere that I could just sit back and relax, not HAVE to go somewhere everyday. Well I got all that at the Rendezvous. I paid, what I thought was a budget price for 7 nights and really did not have huge expectations for the venue because of the price. Rendezvous totally exceeded my expectations, We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa Unit right next to the kids playground, swimming pool and bbq area. My boys could walk out the door and step right into the pool and I just lazed back and watched from the unit. We had breakfast in the restaurant a couple of times and found it good and paid $25 for the three of us (full buffet hot and cold), which I thought was good. We had a rental car, so travel into Port Douglas was not a drama and we could walk across the road to the beach. I would highly recommend this place for families and plan on going back again next year. The only thing I could whinge about would be 1) would have been handy to have a proper oven not just a microwave/convection oven and 2) they really really need some sort of proper mat near the door that soaks up water - kids kept coming in wet and dripping water over the tiles which made them very slippery.

Room Tip: If you have children, make sure you ask to stay near the kids playground, bbq, swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights .They didn't have the correct bedding configuration that we booked for when we checked in but they quickly found another room that was to our liking. The unit was very clean , tidy and well appointed, even having an iPod dock music system. The only complaint was the bed was a bit old and well used, much need of a new one. We can't comment on the service as we only slept here and never ate here and the rooms aren't serviced (being apartments). We did have to pay $1 for an extra roll of loo paper , a bit rich!!! The pool areas , there are 4, were great ,specially for families ,heaps of nooks , crannies and tunnels for the children to discover. From the outside it looks a bit tired but once inside all good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BradT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing