We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed - DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We've recently stayed at the Rendezvous Reef at Port Douglas and were extremely disappointed. The villa we were given was sub-standard to say the least, there were ants everywhere including the bedrooms. The resort demanded payment in advance. On top of that we had to deal with indifferent staff, our expectations of customer service was a significant disappointment. I must say we could not find one staff that was actually caring. The included breakfast was barely eatable i.e. boiled bacon, poached eggs marinated in vinegar and stale cereal. The only good thing I could say about the Rendezvous Reef was checking out. We actually decided after 1 day and a half in order to enjoy our holidays, we would need to stay somewhere else which we did. We will not be considering Rendezvous Reef resorts for future holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilyatPortDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRRPortDouglas, Director of Sales at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear FamilyatPortDouglas,
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us is not what you expected, and feel free to contact us directly to discuss further. We hope you did enjoy your stay in Port Douglas and got to experience the many wonders this region has to offer.
Thank you for your feedback which we truly value, as we continually strive to improve and upgrade our resort to further enhance the stay of every guest visiting the resort..
Rendezvous Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 668 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice place. Villas are really spacious and the location is great. The facilities are starting to show wear, but they are well maintained. This is now a fancy place, but everything is nice, functional, and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at 2 bed room unit. It was just so comfortable! I almost found everything I needed in the unit. Our two kids liked the swimming pool and play area right in front of where we stayed. If we are to come back to Port Douglas, Rendezvous Reef Resort would be definitely the place to stay, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one bedroom villa in March. Rooms good size but whole villa had overwhelming damp smell (is this normal in rainforest area?). Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. A lovely touch was bottle of wine and card to wish us a happy anniversary!! Thanx!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Rendezvous Resort is welcoming, clean and has a relaxing atmosphere. The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful (giving advice on tours as well as booking them) and the hotel had a range of facilities such as pools and tennis courts. We had a 2-bedroom villa that was clean, well maintained and properly air-conditioned. Although the resort is a bit out of town (as many of the resorts in Port Douglas are) the town-shuttle stops at the resort’s reception every 10-15 minutes and we didn’t mind the location. Our stay was extremely relaxing and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albee_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

good value for money but its location is too far out of town for convience. had to pay $10 each way into town on shuttle bus unless u walked 45 mins each way. buses did run every 20mins but expensive over the course of a week. lovely large villa but no view. lap pool and gym great but closed at 7pm during the week and 4pm at wkends. breakfast simple but ok. in a very quiet area with no local shops/cafes/bars. very dark to walk back from town along road. our villa wasnt cleaned the whole week even though it should have been done half way through.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for five nights last July. We stayed in a refurbished 2 bedroom apartment. Plenty of room and well laid out apartment. Kitchen was very short of equipment for cooking, but I suppose I was on holidays! Lounge suite was the most uncomfortable we've ever sat on! The dining suite chairs were also uncomfortable - they are shaped like a quarter of a circle - very strange! But we enjoyed breakfast each morning in the restaurant, and the pools were nice and clean. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-refurbished room - the old lounge suite might be comfy!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq5719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $135 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing