We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostess, good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Rather than repeat the great comments in previous reviews which are accurate, I will explain why I give it a 4 rather than 5. * Our room #1 was nice but on the small side with no good place other than the floor to place suitcases. * There is a $5 charge for the internet which is only available on the patio. *And the B&B is not nearly as elegant as the pictures on their website shows. All that being said, Coral Seas was a nice stay, our dinner meal was excellant and the hosts could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

A magical location, where the place and its owners make you feel totally relaxed and at home from the start. The food was superb and probably the best meals of all that we enjoyed on a 5 week trip. The breakfasts are something else with fresh fruit from their garden and other delights - their library seemed to be full of cook books! The two evening meals were as good and served in the Treetops room overlooking the Pacific and listening to tropical forest sounds.

Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael are wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Lots to see and do in this area, but we liked the B&B so much we didn't want to leave. The view is spectacular and the garden, pool and open-air tree-top lounge is made in heaven. Marie is the most congenial and helpful hostess and a superb cook. (And she has no problem cooking gluten and dairy-free!) Our room was smallish, but clean and well-ventilated (important in this climate). I can't think of a better place to relax and unwind than Coral Sea Retreat B&B

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We enjoyed the lovely setting with its panoramic view of the Coral Sea, the warm hospitality of the host family, and my partner says that he is spoiled forever for breakfasts. Order anything that includes the homegrown tomatoes and fresh herbs -- the flavor is spectacular. In addition, Denise and Marie clearly love preparing food and presenting it beautifully. Breakfast is served in a delightful gazebo just outside of the rooms. One night, we sat by the pool, enchanted by reflections of the surrounding gardens.
As indicated on their website, Coral Sea Retreat is a 10-minute drive from the turnoff for Port Douglas, where most traveller amenities are located. Nearby Oak Beach, however, is beautiful and virtually private.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the coral sea. Denise, Marie and the gang were great hosts. Comfortable room and great outdoor living spaces. The breakfasts were a highlight of our day - the changing menu and great choices each day. Wonderful fresh fruit. Also great place for dinner for a quite night after a busy day. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Blur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The only thing more amazing about this place is the people who run it. Set up on a hill, it has a wonderful view towards the sea from the Treehouse, where meals are served. And what meals! There's a varying choice for breakfast, but any one of them would set you up for the day. Examples include pancakes filled with mango, and avocados with scrambled eggs. You can also have dinner here, to the same high standard.
Rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and there's a swimming pool. It's about a 10-minute drive to Port Douglas, and about 50 minutes from Cairns, so it would best suit people with a car. You can, as we did, arrange with Mike and Denise, to drive you there themselves, at a very reasonable price.
This is one of those places where, the longer you stay there, the less keen you are to leave. Much of that has to do with the charm and friendliness of the hosts, who make it an idyllic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaveDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Coral Sea is really super: fabulous hilltop setting with great views, (you need a car) delightful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble and who cook delicious dinners and breakfasts, comfortable air con rooms and a welcome small swimming pool. I cannot praise Coral Sea too highly. Its one of the best b and bs we stayed in in Australia.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
212.5 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
682 reviews
212.6 mi away
Pink Flamingo
Pink Flamingo
#10 of 42 in Port Douglas
553 reviews
212.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
205.4 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
213.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
210.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7-11, Bruce Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Coral Sea and surrounding rainforest, is one of Port Douglas' best kept secrets - Coral Sea Retreat B&B. Sit back relax and drink in the views. Holiday with a difference! The Tree House: 2 bedroom, self-contained unit with stunning views of the Coral Sea and rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing