We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, personal service, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this magical hillside home away from home. Denise is lovely and a font of knowledge and we had many great chats around things Australian so got an insight we wouldn't have otherwise had. We were going it alone, trying to maximise our Kiwi dollar, and were really appreciative of the outdoor kitchen gazebo, with all the things we needed plus the barbeque. But most special is the fabulous pavillion for our duty-free cocktails, dining and chilling out listening to birdsong and looking out over the rainforest to the Coral Sea. Loved the foodie mags!

Denise went to every effort to make our time there comfortable and is so very generous in her offering of some of the tropical fruit that was growing there and free access to her plentiful herb gardens.

The parting gesture, a handpainted shell necklace was so touching and something that will always remind us of a wonderful, relaxing time. Thanks for that Michelle!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This a delightful and refreshing experience which travellers to the Australian tropics must not miss. Ten minutes from Port Douglas overlooking the Coral Sea on a vantage point that enables panoramic 180 degree views.
Our hosts are astute and perceptive people and proud our their enviable plot in paradise. Nestled amongst flora indigenous to the area this is a haven with comfortable facilities designed to maximize comfort in the tropics.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menabillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect location above the tree tops looking out to the Coral Sea. Hosts were warm, friendly and accommodating. Quiet, peaceful but still close enough to Port Douglas for shops, entertainment etc. Would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a lovely location away from the crowds, the only sounds were the many birds and wildlife around the forest and gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A delightful bed and breakfast with beautiful and productive gardens, and views over the rain forest towards the sea. We stayed for three relaxing nights and every morning we chose something different from the ever-changing menu, varying from poached eggs and bacon to exotic fruit-based waffles with fruit freshly picked from their garden (banana, passionfruit, chocolate pudding fruit!), all beautifully presented. My only suggestion would be to offer multigrain bread - but I know it would have been provided if I'd asked. A great way to start the day! The room was a little small, but the communal lounge area made up for this. Wireless internet is only $5 for the duration of your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ejwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is a must. Very friendly owners, amazing views, great food (with some exotic fruits), rich wild life (birds, goanas, frogs, spiders, and even spotted python). Will go back once back in Cairns area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a wonderful B and B 10 minutes from Port Douglas so you need a car. Its a private house on the top of a hill in the middle of tropical gardens and the rain forest. If you are interested in birds and wildlife then this for you. So many beautiful tropical birds in their garden easily identified by the knowledgable hosts - Denise and her sister Marie. There are two double letting bedrooms and good en suite bathrooms.These have fans and air con. Complimentary tea and coffee provided. They do fabulous breakfasts and stunning dinners to order with mango, star fruit and other wonderful fruits from their gardens. Super shellfish and lovely organic meat.You eat these in a wonderful open sitting room built as a deck extension with views over the rain forest to the ocean. There is a lovely natural swimming pool - very welcome after a hot day exploring. They are a wonderful couple and couldn't be more helpful assisted by their lovely family. They can get discounts from all the excursions in the area and their charges are very fair in an expensive Australia. They are in a good position to visit all the attractions that this coast offers just off the Captain Cook highway. We would recommend it as a good alternative to more pricey Port Douglas. The only down side when we visited at the beginning of February are the mosquitos in the evening when you are sitting on their deck -bring plenty of bug repellant. But we expected this in the rain forest. It doesn't spoil the charm of Coral Sea Retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is our most favorite place amongst all the places we stayed in Australia. Denise, Marine, Michelle and Michael offered us such a comfortable and relaxing accomodation that we would rather stay here for a lifetime.
It was so pity that we got up late to miss several breakfast, since they made very delicious food which amused us the last day we stayed. The view from the tree tops is really fabulous. You may occationally encounter lizards and some tropical livings in the garden.
They gave us many suggestions on the trip to Port Dauglas which benifitted us well and saved us a lot of time. A little far distance from Port Dauglas thought, they offerred fair price to ride us point-to-pointly. The only flaw is the small size of the pool, but it would be pretty suitable for kids.
We will definitely come to Coral Sea Retreat next time we visit Port Dauglas and share the pleasant experience with our friends. We love this place.

Room Tip: Don't miss their food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yokin_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
212.5 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
672 reviews
210.6 mi away
Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach
212.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
205.4 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
213.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,659 reviews
210.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7-11, Bruce Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range: $84 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Coral Sea and surrounding rainforest, is one of Port Douglas' best kept secrets - Coral Sea Retreat B&B. Sit back relax and drink in the views. Holiday with a difference! The Tree House: 2 bedroom, self-contained unit with stunning views of the Coral Sea and rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing