We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
NSW
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Coral Sea Retreat is a little piece of paradise hidden from view yet overlooking the sea and only a 10 minute drive into Port Douglas. We stayed here for 6 nights with my brother who was out from the UK on a famiily visit. The retreat suited us perfectly. We stayed in the tree house which was very private and comfortable and we woke up to the most glorious sunsets each morning. The tree-top open lounge (which we named the Verandah Bar) was perfect for breakfasts overlooking the tropical garden and also for drinks at sunset.
The 2 bedroom tree house had everything we needed and was so comfortable that we cooked dinner there 5 out of the 6 nights.
Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael were the most welcoming hosts and provided all those little extras that makes a stay in a B&B so special - passionfruit, bananas and herbs from the garden, eskies and beach chairs plus lots of local knowledge. Michelle was full of surprises (ask to see her handywork in the shed!).
Coral Sea Retreat is 2 minutes drive to Oak Beach but we walked most mornings before breakfast. Highly recommended and much better value than many of the resorts in Port Douglas. This is a perfect base for exploring Port Douglas, the Daintree area and Atherton Tablelands. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2 bedroom tree house for total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Coral sea B&B for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The women that run this establishment made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing seemed to be a problem and they were always willing to offer advice and local information. The room was clean and comfortable and the use of "the treehouse" was an added bonus. What a fabulous area-a communal lounge area big enough for 2 or 3 couples to congregate and yet have their own privacy. Loved it. Gorgeous surrounding and very tranquil. Would go back in a flash. For an extra $5 you can use their bar-b-que and cook your own meal. Only drawback is that you really need your own transport to get there. Well done ladies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at a number of B&Bs on our recent trip to FNQ, and I would not hesitate in recommending Coral Sea Retreat to any traveller. The warm welcome on arrival made us feel at home straight away. Our room was comfortable and the outdoor eating area was just beautiful with views over the Coral Sea and the most comfortable chairs to just sit back with a cool drink and relax after a big day of adventures. The breakfasts were beautifully presented each morning and taken outside, with the sunrise over the sea and beautiful Cairns Birdwing butterflies and a variety of birds in abundance in the lovely garden. (the breakfast menu had new dishes daily) I tried something new each day and I was never disappointed, these ladies are the best cooks!!! We also enjoyed an evening meal (pork chops) and the best tropical fruit salad I have ever tasted, the quality, presentation and standard of the food was very high. Marie also gave us great tips on things to see and good places to eat in Port Douglas. Our comfort and needs were always met, and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hosts Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 963VeronicaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stopped off for just one night in the Treehouse on the way from Cairns to Cape Trib - should have stayed longer. A very warm welcome, great breakfast and a wonderful setting with beautiful views. Nice, comfortable two bedroom treehouse/apartment - really felt like we were in the rainforest. Good for families.

Room Tip: Treehouse was great for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Treehouse and loved it. The furnishings and decor are unfussy and simple, but the point of this place is not what is inside but what is around you outside. The view from the accommodation level itself was lovely, and from the private lounge above your room, well, just spectacular. The three hostesses were friendly, warm, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They were always there when we had a question, served us amazing breakfasts in the outdoor lounge with the great views, wished us well on our daily adventures, welcomed us back from therm. At the same time we had our privacy. They really know how to make it a perfect stay. The pool was lovely. The sounds of the rainforest are lovely, as are the sights. There were birds, butterflies the size of small birds, beautiful plants, and so much lushness and peace. The only thing missing was a comfortable chair to sit in our screened-in accommodation in the evenings. The private lounge is great during the day, but the rainforest being what it is - insects do take over out there at night, and we couldn't sit there and read. Otherwise, it is a perfect place to spend a few nights or even a week.

Room Tip: The Treehouse is absolutely divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this magical setting as we were returning the car and staying in Port Douglas for the following nights but it was enough to instantly relax us...I intentionally woke up early the next morning just so I could plant myself on the chairs of the viewing platform to "take it in" as much as possible! It's a cross between a B&B and a hotel...B&B with that homely and personal feeling, like you are part of their home...but hotel in the way that the rooms are self-contained and separate enough to feel private. We had ordered a self-BBQ dinner package and it was great after chowing down on fresh seafood to sit in the chairs of the platform and just listen to the sounds of the forest. Downsides might be the mass of mozzies and that you have to drive there but then you must expect that when you are going to a magical place in the middle of the forest!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Denise, Marie and their family make this place what it is - very comfortable, welcoming and thoroughly enjoyable. Fabulous breakfasts in the tree house overlooking the rain forest and ocean. We also enjoyed a pizza night and full dinner there - well worth it if you are exhausted at the end of the day - which we were. Wonderful people who were very helpful to us. Another Australian B and B where you really feel comfortable and the family sort of takes you in and looks after you - it was great. Be prepared for a visit from the laughing kookaburra's early in the morning - what a racket!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlk919395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Douglas
212.5 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
213.0 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
213.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
210.5 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
2.2 mi away
Jacana Apartments
Jacana Apartments
#4 of 40 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
213.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7-11, Bruce Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Coral Sea and surrounding rainforest, is one of Port Douglas' best kept secrets - Coral Sea Retreat B&B. Sit back relax and drink in the views. Holiday with a difference! The Tree House: 2 bedroom, self-contained unit with stunning views of the Coral Sea and rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing