We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

We booked the Pink Flamingo because of reviews on TripAdvisor. We have no hesitation in endorsing all the good reviews - on a 5 week trip this was a major highlight. We only wished we had stayed longer than 4 nights. We upgraded to a villa - not that the other accommodation wasn't great looking but it was too good an opportunity to miss. The villas are larger - great seating area, kitchen, bedroom and wet room and of course the outside bath, hammock and private area. Any one reading earlier reviews about the lack of doors to the shower/toilet - this has been addressed! It is an ideal romantic bolt hole. The mangers/staff - Sam Cath and Lee - are great. There if you need them, unobtrusive if you prefer. But always working away in the background to make sure that the whole place runs calmly and with great regard for providing for the guests. Nothing was too much trouble. An oasis of calm beauty with a personality all of its own. It is suited to those travellers looking for something different - small number of guests, privacy, no coporate feel or influence, no flunkys, no bar bills (no bar!), no room service (just daily serviced rooms). It is not a hotel or catered resort but a home from home where most things have been thought of. Sarongs, beach towels, lovely bath towels, candles, music , comfort - it is up to you to add the romance! Easily achieved in the atmosphere provided.
We loved the pool and BBQ area complete with music to suit your mood and soft lighting at night. We used the BBQ twice in the 4 nights we were there. A swim in the twilight and candlelight , herbs from the garden on our food music gently in the background, beautiful tropical gardens almost entirely to ourselves and a great meal. It was a real treat after all the hotels and eating out. Never thought I would crave a home cooked meal so much! A final word about the garden - I envy you your gifted green fingers and I enjoyed talking about your planting etc. It was a real pleasure to meet "the girls". We wish them all the success they deserve

  • Liked — Its Funky personality
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No1Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    87
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
395
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

we have just returned home from the beautiful paradise we stayed at in the pink flamingo so restful and peaceful did not want to return home. my partner and i had our commitment ceremony there and the managers sam and cath made it all possible for us arranging celebrant and making us feel extra special great going guys, and keep up the great work is a total credit to you all concerned.they were great in the evacuation we had to have when thought tsnami was upon us no trouble to them. so everyone go and enjoy wont be sorry laurel and janise.

  • Liked — cleaniness room service daily every thing you needed at your fingertips
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laurel44brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

We loved the Pink Flamingo because it reminds us of no other place!

We spent 4 nights at the Pink Flamingo and had a terrific and romantic time. The managers, Sam and Cath, are delightful. The hotel is beautiful and unforgetable. The private villa we stayed in and the gardens and grounds were immaculate. They take great pride in making sure that guests are well taken care of. They were quite helpful with with booking us on the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree tours. We went on two of the best tours based on their recommendations. The hotel also has a beautiful pool and bbq area. We used the bbq twice; the hotel provides everything except the food! There's even a free video, CD and book library with a lot to choose from.

We loved the convenience of having a kitchenette in our rooms. The villa had an outside shower/bath area. Of course, they also have one inside the villa! We loved the decor. They have thought of everything. Guests can use a free laundry facility, which really helped after a week of travel! They have very reasonable bicycle rentals that you can use to take a 15 minute spin into Port Douglas. We especially loved the quirky "do not disturb" signs that you can put on your door.

It is an adult resort, so kids are not allowed. However, we stayed there in early February, so the mosquitos were out and about. The Pink Flamingo even provided insect repellant coils and sprays.

The Pink Flamingo was memorable. We loved every minute of our time there.

  • Liked — The managers of the Pink Flamingo were incredible and very sweet!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootintheparkNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

We spent 5 nights at the Pink Flamingo. I was so please that this little resort lived up to every promise on its web site. My partner and I were traveling with friends from the US and all four of us loved it here.

Rooms are spacious, very comfortable and well decorated. There is a fully equipped kitchen for those who want to self cater. Each room has large private courtyard with outdoor bath/ Shower and dining area. (There is a separate indoor bathroom as well) We had a connecting door between our courtyard and our US traveling companions.

The resort has stunning gardens and a large pool with excellent facilities including music, BBQ and self serve honor bar.

The staff were fantastic!!! They were always happy to help with any request. They had great local knowledge and went to great lengths to assist if they did not have information at hand.

If you are after massage services I would highly recommend you ask the staff for Colin, AKA the “Massage Guy” who does the most amazing hot stone massage you will ever have. He travels up from Cairns so 24 hours notice is required.

The resort has approximately 8 rooms and a no children policy, so very peaceful. Pets can be catered for in three of the rooms. Location is excellent, short walk to town or beach restaurants etc.

Highly Recommended Restaurants while you are in town – “The Living Room” and “Watergate”. Skip “Nautilus” high prices, average food and poor service.

Cannot recommend this little resort highly enough!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

WOW! FANTASTIC! Just where do I start? Hard to make this review brief as there are too many good things to write! We wanted a romantic dream holiday and we got it at PINK FLAMINGO in gorgeous North Tropical Queensland! Having read positive posts here on TripAdvisor, we booked a ten night stay over Christmas 2006 and New Year. The moment we arrived we just KNEW we had made the right choice. The tropical atmosphere was magical and Sam and Lee greeted us with a smile and, with the help of a map, explained where we could find everything - the fabulous Sunday market (where locals offer their wares from fruit to didgeridoos!), the nearby shops and supermarket (Coles, great fresh food and very clean), and the bottle shop which is just minutes away! I had sent surprise gifts for my partner in advance, and Sam had placed them all in our chic villa with rose petals on the floor - so romantic! We were completely overwhelmed! The decor in the villas is really funky and we loved the colour scheme. We hired bikes at an extremely reasonable rate and spent Christmas day (and many other days!) riding along the quiet nearby Four Mile Beach, greeting the locals (you just can't beat that Aussie friendliness!). Even in the wet season (jellyfish around!), you can swim in the sea within the safe netted area, although we preferred the pool at Pink Flamingo, surrounded by palm trees and exotic plants and accessible 24 hours a day. You can't beat a swim by moonlight with a loved one! We cycled just 15 minutes to the local wildlife sanctuary and hand fed kangaroos. We enjoyed simply chilling out with a home cooked lunch and chilled bottle of wine (made good use of the portable barbecue!) in our gorgeous villa courtyard and garden - and sipping gin and tonics in the amazing plunge bath with candles and insense! We hired a car, took a picnic and champagne and drove for about 20 minutes down the beautiful Captain Cook Highway towards Cairns, where we discovered the most stunning deserted beaches you can ever imagine! I spent my birthday on one such beach in January with a complimentary bottle of bubbly which the girls at PF had given me - it was paradise! The girls have a way of making each and every guest feel extremely special, right down to the personally written Christmas cards and messages. Pink Flamingo has everything, whether you are straight or gay, in a sociable mood or wishing for a bit of privacy - no worries, mate!! You are free to be yourself and will feel so at home that you will want to go back! In fact, we loved it so much that we extended our holiday to return on Jan 15th for a further TEN DAYS, having visited Tasmania, Sydney and Melbourne in between, and ended our fabulous Aussie trip where it had all begun - at Pink Flamingo - the best spot of all! After a total three week stay, our beautiful villa felt like a second home, we had come to know and love the area, and we simply were not ready to leave it all behind. Thanks, girls, for making everything so perfect - we had the best time of our lives and can't wait to come back!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Firenze-FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Australia and this was one of our favorite places. The Pink Flamingo has a friendly atmosphere and the rooms are bright and clean with fabulous little touches throughout the property. There is music playing by the pool (which is always open ) and we loved the patio bar. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the center of Port Douglas but literally across the street from a swimming area and the bottle shop is just down the street. The people we met were as fun as the decor. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

My friend I had a girl get away to Australia and spent 3 nights at the The Pink Famingo in Port Douglas. This villa style hotel is packed full of charm and sassiness!!!! I can't say enough good things about the staff and the property. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us and helped us with every aspect of our stay. They booked all of our Reef and Rainforest trips and were very knowledgable about all happenings in the area. The villas were so cheeky and fun and very reasonably priced. If you want a fun, unique and relaxing experience, I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be sorry!!!!! Make sure you ask about "Friday" the hotel cat!!!!

  • Liked — The Staff was very helpful!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything was fantastic
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlagogo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing