We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another great stay at Pink Flamingo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Qld. Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Pink Flamingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, myself and our 3 year old Bichon Frise have just enjoyed a 2 night stay here once again. It has been about 2 years since we last stayed and now wonder why it has taken us so long to return. This unique accommodation offers large, clean and extremely comfortable rooms, with courtyards including outside dining, large outdoor bath and shower, with bath salts provided. There is a large heated pool,sun lounges,fitness equipment and an honesty operated pool side bar. It is owner operated by very hands on ladies, who are very helpfull. It is pet friendly, gay friendly and no children under 18. So it offered us a very relaxed, enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms accommodate pets, so book early and advise that you are bringing a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwise49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    83
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
369
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this fabulous place. Something that initially appealed to my husband and I when we were looking for somewhere to stay, was that Pink Flamingo was a kid free zone. I am so pleased that we chose to make a booking. Although there were quite a few other guests staying at the same time, it was incredibly quiet and private. Lying by the pool in the sun and reading was very relaxing without the distraction of squealing and yelling of little people.

There are plenty of little touches that add to the overall experience - plunger coffee, bath robes, sarongs and beach towels to name just a few. The water pressure in the shower was great and the bed and pillows very comfortable.

It is a very pleasant 15 minute walk to the main street of Port Douglas, but there are a few eating options along the way.

I cannot recommend this place enough! For the first time in ages, I've returned from a break and really feel like I've had a break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kav994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great feel to the resort. Soft lighting and comfortable accommodation was just the beginning. The garden and grounds are immaculately managed and are beautiful. The Balinese feel of the resort is evident in the colours and decor. The studio we stayed in had all the comforts of home and the mosquito coils provided were a nice touch. The pool area provides a private haven with the BBQ facilities and bar near by. I would recommend this to anyone who wants something special and unique in this mass market. Cheers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I came to Port Douglas and stayed at the Pink Flamingo with my 18yo daughter, and her boyfriend, so that we could catch up with my husband who was coming down from Port Moresby. The villa I had was very private, with its own courtyard (including hammock and outside bath) and was beautifully presented. My daughter stayed in the Studio, so did not have the hammock or outside bath, but did enjoy a nice (semi-private) outside area. (I could physically lock people out of our courtyard, my daughter couldn't.)

We both loved the privacy and peacefulness. Having no children around, particularly in the pool area, was bliss. You could swim 24 hours of the day, as long as you were quiet of a nighttime. We felt as if we had the place to ourselves, even though I believe the resort was quite full. Walking back from 4 mile beach one day, we cut through the Sheraton Mirage, and all of us commented that there was no privacy there as we were walking outside everyone's rooms and would have been able to see in if their curtains were open. We had the better deal - no-one could do that to us at the Pink Flamingo!
The only problem was mosquitoes (nothing to do with Pink Flamingo), so I strongly suggest you use the insect repellent and mossie coils provided as part of the service.
The pool was just the right temperature (felt cool at first, but was just right) to have a game of pool volley ball (or at least throw the ball at someone) of a night, or just float around on the beanbag boats during the day.
Only drawback was that you had to go to the pool area to get WiFi.
Had a great time and would be more than happy to go back again or recommend to friends.
Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Villas had private courtyard that you could shut, and lock, everyone out so you could have an outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Highly recommended. The hosts are very helpful when you need help, and otherwise leave you alone - perfect! I like the no kids policy - for us the weather was crap, but I imagine lounging around the pool without any kids around would be sweet. The garden villa room was excellent value and a very nice place to hang out. Clean as well. We'll go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just spent several days here and wished that we could have stayed longer. From the moment you drive through the gates, you are welcomed into a wonderful peaceful spot that is amazing. The plants and flowers are wonderful, the pool area is great, and the activity building has everything you want, including two large boxes of DVD.s However, the real draw here is the room area. It is large and spacious with soft colors, a kitchenette, and huge tiles shower. The outdoor tub and shower is fantastic, complete with a candelabra and more plants. Gigi was marvelous at welcoming us and answering our questions. Super location on the way into town. Make sure you visit 4 mile beach, a short walk away, and the downtown area which is really neat. Plus, this is the best spot to explore the outer Great Barrier Reef. Would love to return here someday. Oh, you can get wif fi by the pool and the reception area. Who cars about the room?

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with the outdoor tub/shower combination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved the Pink Flamingo - such a gorgeous location, incredible gardens, the rooms are lovely with very cool outdoor showers. We had a car and drove into Port Douglas most evenings but it is also possible to walk. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lapuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing