We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home away from home - absolute paradise”
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home - absolute paradise”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

As soon as you arrive at Pink Flamingo, you know this is an experience like no other. It is the most beautiful home-away-from-home, with the perfect little touches you don't find at large chain resorts. The pool, the villas, the honour bar, the hammocks, the library.. it is all just gorgeous. Gigi is so helpful and we had the best week of our whole year here at Pink Flamingo. We have previously stayed at larger resorts but this takes the cake. The pricing is so reasonable given the great location and the outstanding service. This place is relaxing, comforting, enjoyable and so convenient for any travelling. The no-kids-under-18 policy makes for a most indulgent holiday. Cannot recommend highly enough and hope to return ASAP!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanner303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    88
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
396
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our hosts Gigi and Andrea were fantastic. You couldnt want for a more hospitable couple. Everything you could want in accommodation was there - privacy, quiet, bikes, pool, DVDs, wifi, games, laundry, bar. We had a ball. They are even pet friendly if this is your thing. Gorgeous villa and would highly recommend to any couple. It reminded us of somewhere you would stay in Bali or Asia. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathieeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very colorful and nicely decorated rooms just 5-10 minutes by foot to the Four Miles Beach
and 20 minutes to the centre of Port Douglas.
We had the villa which comes with a separate living room and fully equipped kitchen, a patio
with hammock and an outside large tub. The common garden is also very nice with a
swimming pool, an open air bar and outdoor barbecue. Free parking is also available.
Reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

After one bad experience in port douglas I found this place was better but not up to scratch , room was not as clean as what I would have expected and staff did not seem to pleased that we complained. For the money I thought we could have got better value and amenities than what were offered. Out door area I thought was inadequate. Overal was passable but would not stay there again and would most prob go for a well known hotel name and pay a little more.

Room Tip: spend a little more and go for a well known hotel chain like we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prandcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflamingogo, Manager at Pink Flamingo, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We believe this is a suspicious review, the reviewer did not stay with us and this is currently under investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for five nights as part of our travels around Australia. The accommodation did not disappoint at all. The attention to detail would not be found in larger hotels and the outdoor bath and shower are a must (we only used the shower which was invigorating). The villas are quite large with with more than enough space even for a longer stay. The pool area is beautiful and full of large palms, enough beds for all and a BBQ that can be used by guests. The staff on when we stayed there were not the owners but a girl named Magita (I probably not spelt that right) who was very nice and knowledgeable. We ordered wine before we arrived which we found nicely chilled in our fridge our transfers from Cairns to PD were both booked and added to our room bill it really was a great place to stay. If there was one downside it is the distance out of town but there is the shuttle bus stop a two minute walk away which takes you directly to your destination which really means it is like getting a taxi!!
Would we recommend it absolutely

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobson-Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were looking for a relaxing spot where we could chill out and take it easy for a long weekend. We booked a garden villa which has an outdoor bath in a secluded garden, a self contained kitchen, lounge, spacious bathroom and a super king bed. We arrived from Perth early morning and were greeted by Friday the resident cat. The Pink Flamingo has everything you can think of and their attention to detail is outstanding, from bath salts and candles to beach towels, sarongs, bikes for hire, dvds, pool table, honesty bar at the pool, a range of oils for the BBQ, fresh herbs in the garden and sauces for your burgers. We spent loads of time relaxing by the pool while listening to our tunes play through the surround sound speaker system. We often felt like we were the only ones here. We are so happy that we found this gem that we almost don't want to spread the secret!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBrown111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We wish we could stay longer than just 4 days and enjoy a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere, stunning tropical gardens surrounding the hotel area, which make this place so peaceful, nice and clean room with everything that we might need, including small kitchenette and a backyard, and great friendly service of Gigi, Andrea and Marita! The whole place is very wisely organised, it has a bar where you can play your own music, common bbq area, nice swimming pool, library and tour information, pool table, free wifi. We were surprised how they thought-through even a tiny things, like repellent and mosquito coals at our backyard! Our studio room was clean and comfy and had internet in the room, but next time I would want to stay in one of the villas, which are great. While walking to the main street of Port Douglas (about 15-20 min), we saw many different hotels along the way, including "fancy-style" resorts, but we both agreed that no one looks as green, relaxing, cosy and peaceful as Pink Flamingo. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Studio rooms have internet access, but villas are off the main entrance area and have separate bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfeica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing