We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as sublime as the first!!”
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit as sublime as the first!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just love this place! Can't imagine a cleaner, more well-appointed, more lushly landscaped, better located resort in Port Douglas. It's a great value for all the amenities you get. The villas are just delightful; beautifully landscaped and furnished inside and out with all the comforts of home. The soaking tub in the private courtyard is heavenly. The kitchen has all the equipment you could reasonably require; we ate in every night and had no problems with meal preparation. The bed is large and comfy; the linens very nice. There's also a double size hammock in your private courtyard to rest in. The pool area is beautiful and the pool itself is generously sized with adequate loungers for guests. You can play dj at the pool with the large selections of CDs, or enjoy them on your room's entertainment system. There is a lending library and a whole lot of local information well-organized in binders. Or just ask GiGi, who is very knowledgeable and eager to assist.

We love Port Douglas and will return someday. We will definitely stay at Pink Flamingo. There is no good reason to look anyplace else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADLass5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    88
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
396
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essendon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our first stay at Pink Flamingo - but it certainly won't be our last! The moment we walked into our villa, we kept finding little things that made us go "wow!". The hammock, the high walls for privacy, the colourful walls and pillows, the outside bath and shower, the internal open shower etc etc. Add to that the detail to which Gigi and Andrea have gone to make this a very relaxed environment for adults to stay and you know you have made the right choice - no curfew for the pool, an honour system for the pool bar, the pool table, the great sociable bbq area etc. And Gigi and Andreá's unobtrusive but vigilant service - they were not really seen but were certainly there when you wanted to ask them something. We planned this trip to celebrate my 60th birthday - it more than lived up to our expectations and we know we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was so lucky to be a part of friends celebrating a 50th birthday here, i only spent 2 days but what a memorable one it will be Gigi and Andrea are wonderful hosts and make sure that my stay was as comfortable as possible, the rooms are very spacious and have everything you need and with the out door bath, such a luxury!! I would definitely recommend the pink flamingo for all those looking for somewhere to relax and enjoy the tropical surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_5112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have visited the Pink Flamingo many times over the years so Robert wanted to share his 50th Birthday with friends in this special place. Gigi and Andrea made all 10 of us so very welcome. An impromtu birthday lunch by the pool was dressed with banners and a bottle of bubbles, how kind. It was great to see our busy friends relax and have such a great time, many just chilling by the pool and activities in Port for those who wanted it. Great places to eat just a pleasant stroll away or a quick cab ride with the ever cheerful taxi drivers. The whole week had so many memorable moments. We even took our dog Stan, who only jumped in the pool once!!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the pool are quieter, but with no children in the resort the only pool noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_cloudninedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

"Tripadvisor traveller's choice of the year" and FRIDAY the cat brought us here. Still, I will call it a hidden gem of Port Douglas. <3 We stayed at one of the private garden villas for two nights as part of our "mini moon". The villa is so well facilitated with cozy front yard, outdoor shower, candles, mosquito scent(nice!), small but well contained kitchen, fantastic wide couch (you can actually roll on it), ceiling fans, comfortable king sized bed and ensuite bathroom (best shampoo and conditioner I've ever tried at a paid accommodation). Gigi and her partner provided beach towels and shawls! It's very clean in the villa, the bed was so comfortable. With only the ceiling fan spinning, I slept like a log. Not to mention the pool, pool side bar, little library and fabulous garden deco. I will definitely go back and give Friday and pat. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n7_luvsneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our third stay at the Pink Flamingo Resort, and each time we stay a few more days. The vegetation is luxuriant and beautifully tended, and creates great intimacy. The accommodation is fantastic, each villa with a private courtyard, with a hammock, a large bathtub, tables and chairs. The décor of the accommodation is fab, in strong, happy colours; the setting is so brilliantly relaxing, peaceful and quiet. It is a short walk to the beach and to the town. Perfect to get a meal out and come back to get completely chilled. Facilities in the resort are wonderful: pool table, books, DVDs; the pool is large enough to swim in, although many just lounge about. Gigi and Andrea are perfect managers: discreetly solicitous, and clearly wishing for their guests not to be wanting. We have booked again for next year, for a yet longer stay!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms 6 to 10 which benefit from denser vegetation, although they might be a little shadie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleshra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms was spacious and funky in an old school but good way. The bed was comfy. Gigi and Andrea are excellent hosts. You can easily laze your days away by the pool and totally unwind. It's a queer friendly space too. I confess I've been back 4 times

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorettaandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing