We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, charming and all around great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Cute, charming and all around great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our first trip to Australia started off with a great stay in Port Douglas at the Pink Flamingo. Both Gigi & Andrea were wonderful hosts, very accomodating and socialable. We liked being close enough within a walk or bike ride from the attractions, but yet far enough away to feel like were were truly tucked away in a secret getaway. The villas were cute, cozy and we throughougly enjoyed our stay. Albeit we were there in the off season, we still had a great time. We'd highly recommend the Pink Flamingo as a place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    87
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
395
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We came from the USA, were visiting family and wanted to go to Port Douglas, have a nice stay and experience the area. Pink Flamingo was spotless and beautifully cared for. The staff (Gigi) was wonderful. She is obviously passionate about her hotel, it is immaculately kept. The stay was comfortable and relaxing. I hope to return to this area and will be sure to stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved this resort and so did our dog. We loved our villa, the gardens and the pool. Everything including the gardens was very well maintained. This was the first time we had been away with our dog so we were a bit apprehensive but we found the resort to be a peaceful and dog friendly environment and all three of us felt immediately at ease on arrival. The villa was a little oasis within an oasis. The king size bed was very comfortable and we liked the walk in shower. We did not make use of the daily room service option. Guests can mix with other guests by the pool bar or stay in the villa environs for a quiet night in. The resort is well positioned in Port Douglas as it is close to the sportfields (to give the dog a run) and the town main street is a 5 minute drive away for a night out but far enough away to feel one is away from it all. There was a very useful information sheet provided with the dog "parcel" on arrival which contained blankets, a ball, dog bowl and goodies to welcome our dog. Gigi was helpful, informative and available throughout our stay without being intrusive.

We can't speak highly enough of our experience at this resort and our dog's contentment here meant a lot to us.

Thank you Gigi and Andrea. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

No wonder guests give rave reviews to Pink Flamingo as it is quite an exceptional place in so many ways. Gigi and Andrea provide everything a guest could need to enhance the enjoyment of a holiday (our first in 3 years!). I totally agree with another review that the pics don't do the resort justice - it is even more beautiful!
The villas are chic and funky with an outdoor bath set in a tropical courtyard that has to be experienced to appreciate - scented candles and bath salts are a gorgeous touch. All needs are catered to and with such ease. Dont book any trips until speaking with the girls as their local knowledge and tailoring tours to suit is so worthwhile.
Gardens are fab with lots of great statuary and artworks including some metalwork that is amongst the best I have seen (the gate is amazing as is the bar.
This is the best place to stay to enjoy the top end attractions and we cannot wait to revisit

Room Tip: Although the studio rooms (2) are fine for a short stay I recommend booking a villa. We were at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarzinMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place to stay. Very Close to the main area of Port Douglas and a good walk. The rooms were very comfortable and very large with a nice patio with more space than we needed. Woul have been nice to have wifi in the rooms but was available in courtyard front area. Very quiet and relaxing. Honor system bar in pool area was cool. We did the breakfast baskets which were quite large and could easily been eaten over two days. Large kitchen too in room. Nice selection of wines to have delivered to room with great prices. The pics do not do justice to the niceness of this place

Room Tip: pay more for the suites if you are staying longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here with our beautiful Cavoodle-Oscar (woof woof), Gigi and Andrea were so friendly and we had a really peaceful stay. I am surprised the locals aren't made more aware of this amazing resort. Very private and well maintained. You can catch a bus into Port Douglas which is only minutes away every 15 minutes in and out, and take your pooch with you on the bus.

I am so surprised we found so many friendly wonderful people in Port Douglas and very dog friendly environment yet in Cairns good luck with finding any Pet Friendly accommodation at all.

Our advice is take the extra drive and relax in one of the most beautiful places Port Douglas has to offer. thanks again for welcoming our boy with his own blanket, towel, and bowl. He was even allowed inside the pool area not in the pool which is understandable. So he was always by our side.
I can't rate our stay high enough. By the way visit the surf club while you are there.
Thanks so much we will be back, sadly we couldn't get back to you in time for Easter visit.
Congratulations on such a great environment. Big thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal and to have an honesty system for beers at the pool is a testament to Gigi and A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for christmas and I must say that this place was pretty good. Rooms were spacious and not cramped like a lot of those new places you stay.

It was also quirky and friendly. They gave a special touch with a card to help me celebrate the new year.

Definately go back - someday

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 0MadDog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing