We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel and will definitely be returning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Qld. Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel and will definitely be returning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a great boutique hotel that is gay and pet friendly. My husband, our little dog and I spent 2 nights there and enjoyed the stay very much. The apartment was terrific and provided all that you required and more. King size bed, open large shower, kitchen, day lounge, tv on movable stand with DVD. Very private courtyard with outdoor bath and shower, which unfortunately it was too cool to use. (So have to go back for that at least). Complex has heated large pool, with a cute beach bar that sells beer and soft drink on an honour basis (where do you get that these days). And the management is terrific. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you wish to take a pet, enquire direct with as much time as possible, as not all rooms are pet fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwise49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    83
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
369
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

There are no curtains in the rooms/apartments..so when the sun comes up you pretty much have to get up too unless you can sleep with eyeshades. I think the Pink Flamingo is Gay friendly..full stop.. i stayed there but am not gay and have no problem with gay people, some of my best friends are gay but i didnt feel as though i was really wanted there because of this. I wasnt comfortable with this accommodation and i have stayed at 100's of places. I know the saying goes if you have nothing nice to say then dont say it at all..i agree with this statement but i also think Tripadvisor is a great place to let real people/real travellers know each others thoughts,
Thanking You.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at Pink Flamingo for 6 nights at a very reasonable rate for the high season. Gigi our host was friendly and helpful with tour and transfer bookings and we were looked after without being fussed over. Room was large and very clean with thoughtful touches such as welcome pink grapefruit juice and bath salts for the gorgeous outdoor bath/shower. Everything we needed was to hand including tour information, a BBQ that we could take to our private courtyard and bikes (which had seen better days) for getting into town. It's a 20 min walk or 10min cycle into the town centre so would suit people with a car or who like the daily exercise. The friendly cats and bright fun decor made the Pink Flamingo a place to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01082011-07082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We only had 2 days at Pink Flamingo but loved everything about it. The gardens are delightful, the apartments are divine, loved the outdoor bath and day be, the hammock is great and lots of lovely little touches like fresh flowers and sarongs!!! Sooooo relaxing, quiet and peaceful and we can not wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The PINK flamingo offers couples a unique private garden apartment with access to all that one could possibly want for. Every amenity has been thought of and provided. Gym, bikes, pool & bar, library, personal BBQ, and all at a an amazingly affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay here exceeded our expectancies.
There is a very welcoming atmosphere, the owners are very friendly and the place is just beautiful! The rooms had really everything we could need and even more. The pool and bar + BBQ are really a relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin_and_Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

A private oasis, thoughfully designed and tastefully decorated. Great to stay at a place where you feel fully welcomed, relaxed and well looked after. Lots of little extras - bikes, books, DVD's, bath salts and great, well informed service to assit with tour activities. Pool, table tennis and bar if you feel like socialising with other guests. Gay friendly, so a lovely diversity of guests. A short walk to the town centre and beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosies_walk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing