We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant place to wind down”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Peta and Alan were extremely helpfull and very confident .
Large group of family stayed at the hotel and it was very relaxing and cheap.
BBQ's by the pool were the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

Booked a Deluxe 2 bedroom apartment, lured by the nice pictures on the website and was looking forward to this 4.5 star apartment resort.
However as you book you get told that the Deluxe rooms have;
King Beds - no, had queens with poor quality pillows
Large LCD TV - no, tiny 15 inch monitor
Granite Kitchen tops - no, faux granite laminate
Modern Kitchen with nice cook top and ovens - no, had old electric appliance rusted around the elements
Hot water in the shower only ever lasted 5-8 minutes..so shower quickly!! In a three bedroom apartment, not sure if everyone will get a hot shower.
Pool is tiny....
BBQ area is very close to the apartments so at the evenings it is very noisy if large groups are using the area and your apartment is adjacent to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Hi the hosts were very helpful and friendly at all times
definately would reccomend to anyone had the best time and the rooms were amazing very spacious and clean
bus stop was just out front which took you into town hassle free
or walking to main st was about 15-20 min not long at all
once again would highly reccommend

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenbeauSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Very comfortable accommodation. Nice & quiet, removed from the hussle & bussle of the shops. Great for families, nice & roomy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My friend and I had a two room town house overlooking the pool, surrounded by tropical trees and plants. Patio with table and chairs downstairs, and a balcony with table and chairs upstairs. Each room had access to upstairs balcony.
Our hosts were very helpfull, and took care of any booking trips we required.
The house had a fully equipped kitchen, even had a dish washer. Comfortable lounge with TV and Video. A spacious dining area as well.
We like the laundry, saved taking dirty clothes home.
This accomadation was set in lovely gardens, in a quiet area, with a short walk to the beach, and another 10 min. walk to the town along the beach.
Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at A Tropical Nite for 7 nites. We had a two bedroom two story appartment, which had a full kitchen, dinning area, lounge area, bathroom and laundry in the bathroom cupboard. We would have prefered to book a delux appartment as the standard onw was a little old and in need of an update (kitchen and bathroom in particular). The price was good although you do not get any of the benitfits that you would at a resort. We had hoped to be swimming everyday, although the pool was cold and smaller than we had expected. The service we recieved from Peta was excellent and it was nice for her to book all of our tours. Overall we loved the area so much that we were out most days. We had a fantastic holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I loved the spaciousness of the townhouse and the amenities. We were given a free upgrade. Alan spent about an hour giving us advice on our itinerary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 57 in Port Douglas
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $102 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing