We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beaten”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wanting a fortnight's R &R where the weather is warm and the surroundings are quiet and peaceful we headed straight back to Tropical Nite, having enjoyed staying there in the past.The townhouses are really clean and well equipped , (dishwasher if that's your style) with very generously sized rooms. An upstairs balcony off the bedrooms and a downstairs terrace give plenty of privacy , in the shade, for relaxing, eating, or whatever.The grounds have beautifully kept tropical gardens and the whole complex is wonderfully tidy and well
presented.Tania and Damian were just so friendly and helpful making sure that needs were fully met.Fantasic couple- before introducing myself on arrival I was greeted by name and then found flowers from the garden in the house. (Haig and Pam New Zealand)

Room Tip: Any unit would be good but 5 and 12 are the most out of the way with greater privacy.Have enjoyed st...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 548Haig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Nites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 328 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been to Port Douglas and Tropical Nites a few times now, and each time we come it seems as though it takes years off our lives! PD itself is such a special place, and the townhouses at Tropical Nites are just right for us - generous size, good location, and Tania and Damian are fantastic hosts! This trip was just a for a weekend, but to sit on the balcony with a nice glass of wine and watch the Ulysses butterflies wander by really was fantastic and made us agree to be back for longer next time!
Tip - we did the Mossman Gorge walk this trip - well worth it if you want to get out in the rainforest for an hour or two, and it's only 15mins up the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 3 - brilliant position with a great balcony and well equipped. Classified as '...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipperPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here few weeks back in a 3 bedroom townhouse, The townhouse was excellent and offered everything we could possible need for our stay. The house's were very clean, comfortable. Tania and her family are lovely and make the perfect hosts. There knowledge and suggestions where second to none and they always had a smile for us.I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a small, family friendly, peaceful reseot close to the town and beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulupurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at Port Douglas. I'm so glad we chose to stay at Tropical Nites. Damian and Tania did everything they could to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. We really appreciated their help in organising our snorkeling and quad bike activities as well as the car hire and transfers to and from the apartments. It really felt as if nothing would be too much; Damian and Tania were so generous with their time and knowledge. Our 15 and 17 year old kids made good use of the pool and we enjoyed having dinner by the BBQ around the pool. The apartment had everything we could possibly have needed at a very reasonable price. I initially thought this would be our one and only trip to Port Douglas, but the four of us can't wait to go back again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was lovely to meet Damian and Tania in Port Douglas.

The location is great, the villas are huge, very clean and it is good value for money.
I would highly recommend it to everybody. I will certainly take my family there as soon as I can. It has a great relaxed family atmosphere.

Damian and Tania were very helpful with all our questions and advised us on what to do around Port Douglas. They even booked our excursions for us!

The apartment has everything you need for your stay and the air condition is pretty good for the warm climate up there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherH392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband, young son and I have just returned from an outstanding 10 day vacation at Tropical Nites. We arrived quite late and were rapt with our two bedroom apartment. For families with young children, it was perfect. As the apartment has stairs, security gates were supplied for us, a portacot and high chair, as well as DVD's and toys. Everything was exceptionally clean, and everything was provided for. And nothing beats a king size bed!! The grounds are beautiful, I adore palm trees, and we swam pretty much 3 times a day. The salt water pool was perfect. Heaven!! Our 21 month old could explore safely. Our Hosts Tania, Damien and their 3 darling children made the stay all the better. Tania your kindness and positivity will not be forgotten and we will happily return in the near future. Thank you so much for your unbeatable hospitality. Brooke, Rudin and baby Zedrin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed in Port Douglas at Tropical Nites, what a perfect place to relax. The unit was just perfect for us, we only needed one bedroom but there are enough bedrooms and bathrooms to suit a family. Perfectly maintained, light, bright and airy, air conditioning certainly got a work out as it was quite warm, ceiling fans, full kitchen with everything you would need and a pool to die for. Seeing it was the wet season we expected rain, no, just a few times at night but never interupted our holiday or even our outings of which were plenty and thanks to Damian and Tania all our tours were booked and explained really well. This accomodation was perfect for us as we love having a king size bed, which I might add is essential when staying in hot climates. This was truely a great place to stay and we had a fantastic holiday eating our way around the wonderful restaurants. We didnt cook that much but the bbq around the pool was great. It was a good time to visit as it was quiet around the town which meant we had the pick of doing whatever we wanted. The other bonus is having the shuttle bus to take you in and out of the town for $4, absolutely the best thing!!!! We will certainly be back and will be telling everyone to venture to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebDeb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.3 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#17 of 55 in Port Douglas
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Port Douglas Sands Resort
#29 of 55 in Port Douglas
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
#25 of 55 in Port Douglas
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $107 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing