We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Port Douglas”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at Port Douglas. I'm so glad we chose to stay at Tropical Nites. Damian and Tania did everything they could to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. We really appreciated their help in organising our snorkeling and quad bike activities as well as the car hire and transfers to and from the apartments. It really felt as if nothing would be too much; Damian and Tania were so generous with their time and knowledge. Our 15 and 17 year old kids made good use of the pool and we enjoyed having dinner by the BBQ around the pool. The apartment had everything we could possibly have needed at a very reasonable price. I initially thought this would be our one and only trip to Port Douglas, but the four of us can't wait to go back again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 329 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was lovely to meet Damian and Tania in Port Douglas.

The location is great, the villas are huge, very clean and it is good value for money.
I would highly recommend it to everybody. I will certainly take my family there as soon as I can. It has a great relaxed family atmosphere.

Damian and Tania were very helpful with all our questions and advised us on what to do around Port Douglas. They even booked our excursions for us!

The apartment has everything you need for your stay and the air condition is pretty good for the warm climate up there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherH392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband, young son and I have just returned from an outstanding 10 day vacation at Tropical Nites. We arrived quite late and were rapt with our two bedroom apartment. For families with young children, it was perfect. As the apartment has stairs, security gates were supplied for us, a portacot and high chair, as well as DVD's and toys. Everything was exceptionally clean, and everything was provided for. And nothing beats a king size bed!! The grounds are beautiful, I adore palm trees, and we swam pretty much 3 times a day. The salt water pool was perfect. Heaven!! Our 21 month old could explore safely. Our Hosts Tania, Damien and their 3 darling children made the stay all the better. Tania your kindness and positivity will not be forgotten and we will happily return in the near future. Thank you so much for your unbeatable hospitality. Brooke, Rudin and baby Zedrin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed in Port Douglas at Tropical Nites, what a perfect place to relax. The unit was just perfect for us, we only needed one bedroom but there are enough bedrooms and bathrooms to suit a family. Perfectly maintained, light, bright and airy, air conditioning certainly got a work out as it was quite warm, ceiling fans, full kitchen with everything you would need and a pool to die for. Seeing it was the wet season we expected rain, no, just a few times at night but never interupted our holiday or even our outings of which were plenty and thanks to Damian and Tania all our tours were booked and explained really well. This accomodation was perfect for us as we love having a king size bed, which I might add is essential when staying in hot climates. This was truely a great place to stay and we had a fantastic holiday eating our way around the wonderful restaurants. We didnt cook that much but the bbq around the pool was great. It was a good time to visit as it was quiet around the town which meant we had the pick of doing whatever we wanted. The other bonus is having the shuttle bus to take you in and out of the town for $4, absolutely the best thing!!!! We will certainly be back and will be telling everyone to venture to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebDeb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my the second time staying at A Tropical Nite and we found it to be, still at an excellent standard. The spacious villas are excellently maintained and well appointed, There are all the appliances you could ever need, fridge , dishwasher, stove, oven , microwave, toaster, all kitchen utensils, washing machine and tumble dryer. The entertaining area is very relaxing and peaceful. It has a very clean undercover BBQ area with tables chairs and a fan. The managers (Damien and Tania) provided an extremely welcoming atmosphere and were pro active with any of our queries. Thanks again for a great escape.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is our second stay at Tropical Nites Port Douglas and we will definatley be back again.
We are a family of six and we are well catered for in Tropical Nites clean, well appointed,spacious villas.
Both villas we stayed in had three bedrooms, two bathrooms,laundry,dining room,loungeroom,well equiped kitchen with stove,oven,microwave,fridge and dishwaher. All of which were tastfully decorated and fastideously maintaned.
The office has Dvd's if you want to stay in for the night and also has a tour desk so you can book all of your tours from Tropical Nites.
The palm filled gardens are in keeping with the tropical feel of this resort and are maticulously maintained.
The pool area is centrally located and the water doesn't sting your eyes unlike other bigger resorts we have visited in the area. There are also shade sails and a very clean BBQ area with tables and chairs.
Tropical Nites is not a large resort only having about fourteen villas so you really feel like you are in your own home away from home.
The on-site managers are the nicest people you'd ever meet and are very knowledgable when it comes to things to do and places to see as they have done many of the trips available themselves.
On both visits to Tropical Nites my family and I recieved the biggest of welcomes and nicest farewells one could expect, waving us good bye untill our airport shuttle was out of site. (This does NOT happen at the Mirage Resort )
My family and I have the fondest memories of Tropicals Nites, the wonderful managers Tanya,Damien and their very friendly, fun children and Port Douglas and surrounds.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December and loved every minute of it. Our one bedroom apartment was massive and very very clean. We had absolutely everything we needed: cooker, toaster, microwave, dishwasher, all kitchen utensils, washing machine, tumble dryer and very good air con.

The location is just outside the town centre of port Douglas and very close to one of the four mile beach entrances. The accommodation is very peaceful and very well maintained with a lovely pool.

The owners (Damien and Tarnia) are both by welcoming, friendly and approachable.

This is one of the best accommodations we have stayed in during our trip around Australia and was excellent value for money. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 57 in Port Douglas
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $101 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing