We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Hamilton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family spent a week at Tropical Nites and loved every mintue of it. Damian and Tania were amazing hosts and made our stay very enjoybale. Found the place to be exceptional clean and tidy with a lovely pool area. Great location as not too far from everywhere we needed. Highly recommend and will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    67
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
178
72
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a week at Tropical Nights back in July. Tania and Damian were exceptional hosts and went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful during our stay. Lovely grounds and immaculately clean BBQ area outside. The pool isnt heated and was a bit chilly for us, but it didnt stop our 5 year old from going in every day! Highly recommended if you dont want to stay right in town and enjoy walking or riding bikes like us. Lisa N.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisan0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are just back from spending 8 nights at ' Tropical Nite' in Port Douglas. We had a wonderful stay. We were happy this accom is not right on the main road and the apartment was very clean and spacious and we loved the ppol and BBQ area. Tania and Damian were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We have two kids ages 5 and 7 who didn't want to leave! With the kids it was 10-15 min slow walk to the beach and we either took the shuttle bus or walked into town. We only needed to hire a car for a couple of days while we were there. Thankyou so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Give Tania and Damian a call and have a chat to them about what you require!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Peaceful, spacious, and very clean. Wonderful hosts who were always helpful and welcoming. A perfect place away from traffic and the hectic pace of todays society. A shuttle bus service was available to/from the main street of Port Douglas so we had the best of both worlds - days at the property by the pool and evenings in Macrosan St.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our family of 5 adults stayed at Tropical Nites for 7 nights! Our three bedroom two bathroom townhouse had everything we needed. The owners Tania and Damien were a wealth of information and were able to give us honest and reliable advise on local attractions to visit. A great BBQ area and pool made for a relaxing stay. A walkway meant we could access the beach easily and the town of Port Douglas was a short and pleasant 10 minute walk away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Cape Tribulation. We had a fantastic time because the accommodation was perfect, we felt like home. Thetwo stories house was extremely clean, plenty of new furniture, with two double rooms and two ensuite bathrooms. It seemed to be in a secluded location, because of the silence and the relaxing atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and so passionate!
The price for two nights was very competitive. Worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time to Port Douglas to attend a family wedding. It will not be the last time. Excellent accommodation - hosts/manger were perfect. Very accommodating and full of good advice to maximise the holiday especiall information about best money for value tours and eating places. The units where clean bright and airy overlooking pool and outdoor bbq area. Which was a good place to gather and relax at the end of the busy day. Good size kitchen and lounge area. Even able to watch the AFL games live.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#33 of 42 in Port Douglas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Port Douglas Sands Resort
#29 of 55 in Port Douglas
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Property: Tropical Nites
Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing