We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cher Du Monde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My break at Le Cher Du Monde could not have been better. It is right in the heart of Port Douglas and walking distance to all shops (including supermarket), restaurants, the beach and marina. My room was fantastic, roomy, clean and suited me that it was on the Grant Rd side as mostly avoided what I imagine were slightly noisier rooms on Macrossan St. Rae was very helpful, and the bottle of wine in the fridge when I checked into my room was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Quiet on the Grant Rd side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingfeetWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Le Cher Du Monde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 496 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this fantastic place. Not luxury accommodation but good quality all the same, and what more could you need than a quiet, roomy, comfortable, clean apartment located right in the heart of Port Douglas. Perfect. Step outside amongst a myriad of shops and restaurants. Once fully sated, step back inside your quiet tropical unit to swim in the pool or do absolutely nothing. All mod cons are there. You can even cook your own meals in the kitchenette or on the barbecue beside the pool. Spoilt for choice. For such a central location it is amazing how quiet the units are. I would recommend this place to anyone and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiegirl233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We would both recommend this hotel. We were lucky to get a pool side room which was perfect.
The location is fantastic. In fact we regretted 4 days of car hire when the car stayed in the underground car park. Consider getting the bus/coach from the airport.
Owners are very helpful and friendly. The only thing I could comment on that could be improved, is the speed of the free wifi but that is because I am used to super fast internet access in my own home so this should not put anyone off. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Location, location, location, in the center of town, 5 mins walk to the beach and 5 mins the other way to the marina :-) Easy walk to food, supermarket beach, what more could you want. Best chinese dinner across the road,Clean comfortable, affordable accommodation with very friendly and helpful owners. Rae even waved us off on the bus to end our fabulous holiday. A little noisy early with street cleaning but make the most of an early morning with a walk on the beach :-)

Room Tip: Probably go for a room over the pool if you don't want morning noise, but sitting on the balcony...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A great location if you want to be in the centre of town surrounded by a variety of eating places and only a short walk to the magnificent four mile beach. The apartment was clean and had all the amenities we required. The bed was very comfortable but unfortunately we were woken up every morning around 7am with bins being emptied outside our apartment which was facing Grant Street. We used the spa once but it was noisey so we didnt use it again. I thought the wi-fi was expensive considering most of the eating places offer free wi-fi with a purchase. We used the electric BBQ one night and ended up finishing the cooking in our room as it was very slow. There is a lot of stairs in this complex although that didnt worry us. We did enjoy our stay

Room Tip: If you dont like waking up earlier get a room that isn't facing Grant Street
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BucketList55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuboporsche, Manager at Le Cher Du Monde, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your review,we are glad you enjoyed your stay,,we now offer complimentary wi-fi with every booking, not sure what was wrong with the bbq as it is a new $5000 bbq that was only installed a couple of months ago, the Grant St units only have one flight of steps if the side entrance is used

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, quiet, very comfortable rooms and everything necessary for a relaxing holiday and great value, particularly by port douglas standards. Very helpful reception too. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a 1 brdm self contained apartment with the balcony overlooking the pool for 3 nights. The room was clean and spacious.

Location was excellent - right on the doorstep to many restaurants, shops and tour operators. A large Coles supermarket was across the road, which was handy as we cooked most of our meals. The beach and marina was only a short walk and underground parking was available (parking entrance is off the side street).

The owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $114 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing