We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for extended stay in Port Douglas.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A group of friends and I stayed here for 6 nights. The apartments are so cute and are all decorated & furnished differently. Kind of bare bones, but I have no complaints. The bed was comfy. The room was clean when we first arrived. They provided us basic accommodations like toilet paper and soap, and tea and coffee in the kitchen. Although they don't replenish them automatically for you, I was able to get more than enough from the guy manning the reception desk for about 2 dollars.
The only con is the location. It is mildly inconvenient to walk to the bars, restaurants and shops (15-20 minute walk), especially at night because it's nearly pitch dark outside. However, it's right next to the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soymilkcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and really enjoyed our stay.
Rebecca (the manager) was very pleasant and helpful. She booked our Reef tours and answered all the questions we had.
The apartment was well equipped and comfortable. The pool area was well maintained.
The location was out of town but an easy drive. However, we enjoyed being able to walk to the beach .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights and were upgraded to a larger apartment. The apartment was basic and dated but had all that is needed for cooking and laundry. Bed was very comfortable. Rebecca (the manager) was outstanding in her service and made our stay a pleasure. She asked about our interests and gave us good advice and made some booking for us but was not pushy. This is not a resort but has a pool great for families with shallow areas as well a deep end. It suited our needs well as we were out each day. Grounds were tidy. Need a car or bicycle as it is a long walk from main shopping and restaurants. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Property is on long section beside a campground. We were near back of property about 30m beyond the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 days with a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. The rooms were basic but practical with lots of room to spread out, simple tasteful decoration. The washing machine and dryer were a godsend after 4 days with all of our clothes absolutely soaked from the Daintree rainforest. No dishwasher but a great selection of cutlery, utensils, crockery with a microwave and oven and stove. Good BBQ area.

The owner, Rodney provided great service and came running when our child trapped his finger in the door with genuine concern, also accommodating with us arriving a bit early and needing to get into our accomadation.

The pool was great for our kids of 4,6 and 8 with plenty of toys and a shallow area for the toddlers and a deeper area for the older kids and adults. About 5-10 minutes walk from the beach depending on the speed of your kids but a bit further from town. We had a rental car.

Good value for money for a family of 5.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Gillyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our family of four found this a great place to stay. On the outskirts of town with easy access to the beach. A small pool in the hotel yard was fine for a quick swim. The washing machine in the flat was a useful extra. Great location for visiting Daintree and Reef.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs at the back of the property. Surrounded by vegetation-and humming birds.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for 10 days and the lychee tree was perfect for us. We had a spacious apartment to sleep 4 and a lovely big verandah. no dishwasher (we lived) but the kitchen ware was so much better than anything we have ever had in "affordable" holiday accommodation. Proper, large saucepans, many of them etc . Everything comfortable, particularly the beds and lounge furniture, brilliant picture on the telly even. nothing at all bad to say. Only one bonus gecko to our disappointment and no unwelcome "wildlife" at all. Spotless.

The manager was unobtrusive, friendly and very helpful when we needed.

The pool was larger than we expected and again, excellent, the teenagers were happy. We did have to walk a bit for essentials like milk and groceries on the days we didnt have a hire car but many port douglas accoms are in that boat and we knew this in advance. Lychee tree hires bikes or a bike/car hire is only a door or two away. (The port douglas council must ban corner stores in favour of pricey restaurants). the beach just a short, pleasant stroll and the teens were big fans of the el cheapo big tyre tube hire as there were good waves (for FNQ). location was better as the main area (15 mins on foot) can be overly full on and tourist-y. we saved so much that we could then spend on reef tours etc it was a no-brainer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mokeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The rooms are nothing fancy but have everything you need. Good for self catering. Nice pool and bbq area.
A bit of a walk from the main shops & restaurants of Port Douglas, but close to the beach (non-patrolled part anyway).
We were there for a week, and most of the time it was quiet and peaceful. Our last night was spoilt though by a loud, drunk, abusive neighbour. The manager helped out with cleanup and police when an ashtray was thrown at our front verandah. It spoilt our impressions a bit, but it was not the fault of management, they did everything they could after the problems became known.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustralianPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 56 in Port Douglas
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Contemporary House In Paradise
A Contemporary House In Paradise
#43 of 56 in Port Douglas
9 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#23 of 56 in Port Douglas
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments

Address: 95 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $87 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments offer the affordable alternative for those looking for quality accommodation in Port Douglas. Lychee Tree has a gorgeous salt water resort pool, with comfy sun lounges beside swaying palms. We are child friendly and are within walking distance to beach, restaurants, marina and village centre. We also offer free on site parking. Management strives for a friendly, easygoing atmosphere. There is a tour desk on site and we are happy to provide unbiased, tried and tested advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing