We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal accomodation for that ideal holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
1 review
“Ideal accomodation for that ideal holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Dealing with Ann was a very pleasurable experience,her friendlness and expertise,ensured we made the best of the time we had available.The rooms were clean ,comfortable and cool .The gardens and pool made for relaxing afternoons and BBQ 's in the evening.The location of the Freestyle made it so easy to get to the Beach or downtown.
This was our second visit to the Freestyle and we enjoyed it so much the firsttime,we returned with friends to find the same first class service and surroundings were even better than we remenbered.Thank you Ann for the wounder full service

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    134
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
205
337
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We've stayed here for 3 nights with 2 friends who were visiting from the UK. Without out a doubt this was the best trip - loved Port Douglas and the Freestyle Resort was the perfect base for our stay.

We has a two bedroom appartment for the four us which was clean and well decorated - and really good value. The pool was a great at the end of the day and Anne was always on hand with helpful advice - really good service.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at Freestyle for our honeymoon in October 2010 for 8 nights. Freestyle is extremely well located only 10min walk to town and meant that a car is not required for your stay. Rooms were very well kept and being self contained meant you could cook in house if required. Flat screen TV, air con, kitchen with dishwasher, free wifi and a balcony overlooking the beautiful pool and gardens were fantastic. Anne was a delight as our host and helped out with all our bookings and her recommendations were always spot on. The resort is also excellent value for money. We can't recommend Freestyle highly enough and will definitely stay again when in Port Douglas. R & K.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

The freestyle has lovely clean and extremely well maintained rooms and amenities. The pool is lovely and suitable for all age groups with sparkling cool water and beautiful garden. Anne, the manager, was friendly and informative and helpful with bookings to the reef. She obviously knows a lot about Port Douglas and was able to help us with selecting the right reef tour for the weather conditions on the day.
Freestyle is in the perfect position. It is close to the four mile beach with a lovely park opposite for games or a picnic. It is only a short walk to the main shopping and restaurant strip and close to the marina. We will definately stay here again next time we are in Port Douglas. Thanks Anne!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

From the moment we first contacted the owner Ann until the moment we departed, we were made to feel extremely welcome! Ann helped us arrange our transport to and from the airport, helped us with car hire, gave us maps and advice on what to see around town, and gave us directions to the Spiny Cray Mountain race my husband had decided to "relax" with on this holiday. Her equally delightful husband Jason was of great assistance to us in booking our snorkelling trip, helping us choose the best day out of a week of questionable weather and making sure that I, in my pregnant state, received any extra assistance I might need on the boat.

Our room was a cosy little oasis with the park view - yes, the park is the site of the former cemetery, but rest assured the only residents now are the birds which spent a considerable amount of time right outside our balcony eating fruits off the vines. We also received nightly visits from the geckos and once a little frog also dropped in for dinner. The kitchen was small but perfectly serviceable and well equipped, and we had no issues at all in cooking our meals there. The cooling was efficient, the bed comfy and we had no issues at all in settling down in comfort for the night. We had a minor issue with a bit of noise coming from the living room fan however we didn't actually use that one due to the cooling being so efficient.

The resort is perfectly located - just far enough from the main strip to be absolutely quiet at night but close enough for an easy 10 min walk (even in the rain) to the main street. Port Douglas itself is very small and you can walk the perimeter in about half an hour. The pool was gorgeous - extremely clean and well maintained. And the deck chairs were plentiful.

All in all, we couldn't really have had a better time and it was the perfect place to have our babymoon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Thank you Anne for making our stay at Freestyle so very relaxing and care free. We would highly recommend these apartments for both families or couples. The pool area is beautifully kept and your assistance with anything that we needed was just great.

We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowenklster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had a wonderful experience recently at Freestyle Resort, Port Douglas. The owners were warm and welcoming, and helped us with any of our queries or needs during our stay. It is an excellent location, and a very short walk to the shopping/village and beach, restaurants, etc. A number of sightseeing guides and suggestions were made available, and we appreciated how transportation was arranged for us when we inquired. The units were very clean, quiet and well stocked with basic amenities, and the atmosphere around the pretty pool was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed being able to prepare our own meals if we wanted, or do a load of laundry and watch a dvd after a busy day out sightseeing or at the beach. I liked best that the accomodation could suit a number of different people with different holidays in mind, and we would return again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#11 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing