We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Nearby Hotels
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$191
$182
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Port Douglas Outrigger(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$172
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$236
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$127
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveler rating
613
148
17
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
148
17
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne jasonthe main streetwelcome packlocal knowledgeone bedroom apartmentshort walkfour mile beachhelpful hostspool areadaintree rainforestlow islesrestaurants and shopssmall kitchenno hesitation in recommendingbooking tripsthe great barrier reefwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 793 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We took three grandchildren to Port Douglas for 6 days. Freestyle ticked all the boxes for us. Lovely well appointed apartment easy to live in for the 5 of us. Kids loved the pool. Anne was very welcoming and knowledgeable in planning the trips for us. In the end it was all about location location location. Just perfect for a stroll into town or to the beach. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

BAD STUFFS FIRST:
* The toilet seems to leak a little bit but we did not ask for it to repair since we were quite busy exploring the rain forest and the reef.
* We found one dead roach in the living room. We just figured a lot of bugs are in the rainforest so we did not report to the hotel.
* Spa is nice but not heated, so it is not very useful at all. Too bad.


Location: Walking distance to town (restaurants, shops) and Four Miles Beach (2 blocks).

Room: We got a 2 bedroom apartment. Super clean. Kitchen is well equipped so we prepared breakfast ourselves. TV, shower, everything works fine.

The hotel ground: Nice. Small. A few nice lily ponds that my kids fnd tiny frogs and fishes, and other insects.

Service: The very helpful and very nice lady (Anne) at the hotel help us to get oriented when we arrived and gave us a lot of very helpful suggestions. She also helped us to book the reef tour. But this is mostly a self-service apartment, so don't expect a lot of service.

Others: Pool is nice but it was not heated (that's OK). We used the laundry/dryer facility next to the parking lot. Laundry is AUS$4 and dryer is AUS$4. If the hotel is busy, then there is not enough parking in the garage.

Room Tip: They have BBQ area next to the pool. I think someone actually caught a fish and was cooking it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Port Douglas at the Freestyle and found it to be very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and well kept; and Jason and Anne were terrific hosts.
The location was close to downtown Port Douglas which was a real bonus - Port Douglas was a real highpoint on our trip and I would return to Australia just to visit Port Douglas!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A perfect place for three friends on a three day holiday. We did not spend a ton of time at the apartment due to a missed flight but found it spacious, clean and comfortable. The upstairs can be set w two twins or a king, as a loft or closed off with sliding wooden shades. The upstairs bathroom included a bathtub/shower. All beds were comfy, especially after a long day of snorkeling! Wi-if was included, and the kitchen fully equipped, but it's also a very short walk in to the main stretch of restaurants and shops (less than 10 minutes). A truly excellent location and a great value. A great place to make a home base for snorkeling, Daintree tours, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Meremo_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Freestyle Resort is a wonderful little resort with everything you could need at a very reasonable price. From the moment we arrived Anne was extremely friendly and welcoming, providing us with information about the area and helping us settle into our one bedroom apartment.

The room was large, extremely clean, well maintained and modern. It has a nice lounge area with flat screen TV (with some foxtel channels), a kitchen and decent sized balcony looking over the beautiful pool area where most nights we had a friendly little green tree frog come visit. The bed was very comfortable and a great shower with toiletries provided. If you are located in the upper levels there is no lift, so you need to carry luggage up stairs which isn't a real problem.

The grounds of the resort were lovely. Unfortunately the weather wasn't fantastic so we didn't get a chance to use the pool, however we did walk around to enjoy the tropical gardens and use the communal BBQ area.

The location was also perfect for us, with a pleasant 10 minute walk (or less) to the main street or the Marina and a 5 minute walk to the beach. This means it's quieter then accommodation on Macrossan St. If you have a car there's under cover parking available.

I would highly recommend Freestyle Resort for those wanting value for money and exceptionally friendly service.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stephb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews