We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, great value stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous, great value stay.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Four of us were to be in Port Douglas for the first weekend of Carnavale. We booked an apartment at Freestyle, and we've had a great weekend. This place is so well located - just a few minutes from the main street, but quiet and away from the noise and bustle. Jason and Pam have been very welcoming and helpful.It's such good value too: we had two double en-suites, and there's a sofa bed for an extra guest if needed. That added up to a really reasonably priced stay. Spacious lounge and balcony, a kitchen area as well as all of the usual things you'd expect. We'll definitely be back here when we come to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrickyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    137
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
209
346
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ann and Jason perfect hosts. Pool great-apt well set up-location near restaurants an town and port..

Book your tours when you get there

We enjoyed our week of time out from 2 months of exploring Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiEyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been meaning to review this hotel for ages as it is, without exception, a brilliant choice for staying in Port Douglas.
We booked only a month in advance, and as I was already in the area, my partner was flying out to meet me there. Super efficient Ann, gave us details on how to get there from the airport (for my partner) and buses for me. She also ingormed us there was an Iron Man event taking place closing the road into the town meaning a longer journey for my partner.
I arrived early (about 11.15) and was given a fantastic, well appointed apartment. Ann gave me loads of information about Port Douglas; the best places to eat, how to get to the beach and the shops and market (well a girl's gotta shop!). I ventured the 10min walk into the main part of town, which is absolutely beautiful, with great restaurants and cool bars.
I decided to cook the first evening and had a stir fry made on the little stove in the smart, clean kitchen and enjoyed it on our balcony with a glass of wine.
The apartment had a separate bedroom with a door into the shower room - rather handily, this could also be accessed from the lounge, so I didn't disturb my partner when he was recovering from his long flight.
There is a laundry downstairs, which I made use of a few times in the 9 nights we were there and you can buy sachets of washing gel from reception.
The lovely sitting area in reception has loads of leaflets on local activities, but we asked Ann and she literally knew every company, and helped us determine which would most suit our needs, whether it was discovering the ancient Daintree rainforest or diving the Great Barrier Reef.
We walked around Port Douglas and made a reservation in a restaurant we liked the look of and when we returned to the hotel, Ann asked how our day had been, we mentioned the restaurant and she said it was a great choice (she wasn't wrong!).
One afternoon we just relaxed around the pool which is not huge, but you don't feel you're close to other guests. They also had an amazing BBQ area by the pool, which we used 3 times and took the food back to our room, though there was seating with a rable available.
Throughout the whole time we stayed at the Freestyle, we felt more like friends than guests and Ann (very impressively) remembered our names. A very personal friendly service and for that, one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Can't recommend highly enough!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Temer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you are planning to dive/snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and visit the Daintree Rainforest, you should plan to stay in Port Douglas. By Staying in Port Douglas you are close to both attractions and you do not need to get up at 06:00 a.m. to get on the bus. Also Port Douglas is a charming town. The Freestyle Resort is good value for the money. You can walk into town in 15 minutes at a leisurely pace and you are five minutes from Four Mile Beach. The rooms are updated and are well equipped. Anne and Jason are superb hosts. They will confirm all you tours and recommend tours if you have not pre-booked. This was my first time in Port Douglas and when I arrived I felt like I was part of a family. The only downside is that if you have mobility issues, you need to book for the first floor as there is no elavator. In my opinion this Resort is definately a two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

we have just had a perfect place to stay in port douglas. location is great but still a quiet resort feel. beautiful airy rooms and well equipped. lovely pool and poolside bbq. tropical resort style gardens and a very friendly stick insect for the kids.
a great place for couples and families. alike. we strongly recommend Freestyle. thanks Jason and Anne.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Freestyle. We were travelling with another couple and shared a two bedroom unit. It was adorable, with a bedroom and bath on the main floor, and a second bedroom and bath in the loft. It had a nice roomy balcony overlooking the outdoor pool. We used the pool and it was great. The hotel is about two blocks from the main shopping area in Port Douglas. Overall, it was clean, well cared for and the manager, Anne, was exceptional in her efforts to make us feel both welcome and informed about restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolsticeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for seven nights. First floor pool view. Fantastic accommodation. Clean. Friendly helpful owners. Well equipped. Not right in town but a nice walk home after indulging on Port Douglas's restaurant options (10 min walk) Easy walk to the beach (5 min walk) It's simply great value for money.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank enners78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
932 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing