We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in P.D for price/value and quality.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in P.D for price/value and quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our third time in P.D. and when looking for somewhere, it was the reviews on Trip Advisor that helped us make the decision to stay at the Freestyle Resort. We would have to say that we weren't let down by these and had a great stay.
The one bed apartment was bigger than those we had previously stayed in and it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The pool and surrounds are fantastic and surrounded by trees and plants and you can laze in the pool listening to the bird life in the trees.
Anne was great for advice and tips, especially for places to eat.
The Freestyle resort is great value when considering the price and location and we have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone. We shall certainly stay there is we go back to P.D.

Room Tip: Chose a pool side room for sun and a garden side room for shade. All rooms have a terrace/balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    132
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
202
331
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

It's a little difficult to book something in Port Douglas if you've never been there and are basing your decisions purely on what you find on the internet. We were very happy to arrive at this nice little complex, ideally situated withing walking distance of both the main drag, and the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful time.

The appartments are well appointed, large and comfortable. They appear quite new too, which is always nice. We were not bothered by any noise, whether from other guests or from the road. Even the aircon was surprisingly quiet. They have a georgous pool area, with a BBQ which we were glad to use after a few expensive nights out eating in town.

If you are after reasonably priced, yet comfortable, quiet and welcoming accommodation, this is it! The owners are very friendly and ready to help in whatever your needs are. They definitely go out of their way to make your time there pleasurable.

One note I have for management, it might be a good idea to move the wifi routers out of the bedrooms. Ours was located behind the bedside table, a mere 50cm from where my head laid while sleeping. Being sensitive to electrosmog, I am glad I found it and was able to disconnect it at night.

Considering we are from Switzerland, we will probably not make it back to Port Douglas anytime soon, but I'll be sure to recommend Freestyle to whomever I know heads that way!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently returned from a fantastic week in Port Douglas where we stayed at the Freestyle Resort with another couple of friends. We found the rooms spotless and well equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Anne was absolutely lovely and very helpful with advice for tours, trips and restaurants around the area. Resort is well located a short stroll of about 500m from Macrossan Street. Travellers to Port Douglas should take proximity to the main strip into consideration when booking a holiday, unless you plan to hire a car. There is a shuttle service to town, but being a short walk from everything is preferable. All four of us would not hesitate to recommend this resort to others, and would gladly stay at the Freestyle again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazandloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked this hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and my mother and I arrived 20 minutes after booking our room. From the very first moment Anne impressed us with her knowledge, helpfulness and friendliness - as others have mentioned, nothing is too much trouble and Anne went out of her way to ensure that we had the best experience of Port Douglas. Bookings were made, TLC requested on the reef trip and excellent advice on restaurants and shops provided. The elegant, spacious apartment was well appointed and comfortable, the location gave easy access to all Port Douglas highlights within an easy walk and we would recommend Freestyle to anyone visiting Port Douglas. We hope to be back again ourselves one day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago, it was great!

The apartment was nice and clean and had everything you might need, no need to bring anything apart from clothes to wear. Port Douglas is only a short walk away and so is the beach.

Anne is a great host, she made us feel really welcome and when we asked for tips on tours she showed us two great tours that was perfect for us, and booked them! She also organised airport transfers with very little notice.

We would all love to go back! We found Freestyle on Tripadvisor and I am glad to say that it met our expectations and all good reviews are true!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_B_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

My partner and I walked in off the street, with the vague idea of getting a room for a couple of nights. The room was absolutely stunning, while Anne and Jason the hosts were so friendly and helpful that we ended up staying for four nights! The resort is beautiful with a lovely pool and only a short stroll into town. I couldn't talk highly enough of Anne and Jason - they were great and we ended up having lots of chats with them about everything from local eateries to those strange bird calls in the middle of the night! Nothing was ever too much to ask and we felt very at home and relaxed at Freestyle Resort. We would highly recommend Freestyle Resort and plan to stay there again when we next visit Port Douglas.

Room Tip: We had room 32 which, on the second level, had a balcony amongst the tree tops! It was a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have just arrived home from the most fantastic holiday ever! As a family of four, we stayed at Freestyle Resort Port Douglas in a two bedroom apartment. It was immaculately clean and contained absolutely everything we needed for our stay. Our hosts, Anne and Jason, were extremely friendly and informative and went out of their way to ensure our stay was everything we hoped it to be. They made choosing and organizing our tours so easy by suggesting ideas and then booking our choices for us. The pool and surrounding tropical gardens were just beautiful to relax in and enjoy a BBQ tea and a glass of sav blanc on those balmy nights! I would highly recommend staying at Freestyle Resort. Once again, a big thank you to Anne and Jason.
Mel, Andrew, Max and Molly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjt3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing