We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need some renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Need some renovations”
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed at the Hibiscus for 5 days (Oct 9-13 2006) and were somehow dissapointed. We were in a Studio room and chose the daily towel change option. The Pro's: well located to go to the beach and main street where you can find the major stores and restaurants and it's pretty quite. The Con's: was probably nice 10 years ago but it needs some serious upgrades. The mattress was very old, the air conditioning was terribly noisy (but generated very cold draft). Although the staff was reponsive when you asked questions, they are not very friendly. I went to purchase a coffee one morning 30 min past the official breakfast time and although someone was there in front of the coffee machine, she told me I was too late... sorry!
The room: you can tell it had not been cleaned properly for months... lots of dust everywhere. Kitchen was well equiped. I agree with other reviews for the chairs by the pool... not enough available.
Overall, it was OK but if you expect more for the price you pay, you'll be dissapointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Getting old
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDPD6770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    127
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
61
197
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We loved our stay at Hibiscus Gardens. The amazing garden setting makes for a beautiful place to relax. The two pools are a plus. Being seperate from each other, if one is busy just walk across to the other. We loved our room with its own little courtyard, kitchen area and huge bathroom. The location is fantastic with just a short walk to the main street, and a short walk to the beach. The staff were so friendly. Only complant would be getting a deck chair by the pool can prove difficult as there are not many. But otherwise we could not fault our stay here.

  • Liked — location, gardens, pool
  • Disliked — ammount of deck chairs
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuartclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hibiscus Gardens - staff are friendly and helpful, our room was clean and very spacious with a nicely equipped kitchen area and huge bathroom and the pool area where breakfast is taken is a comfortable place for a leisurely start to the day. Another big plus for this place is its location - easy walking distance to the beach and the marina and the main shopping street is just a few minutes away. Despite this, we felt miles away from the hustle and bustle so would really recommend this place for couples or families with older children seeking a quiet haven.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Spacious clean, well equiped apartment, relaxing atmosphere, ideal location close (2-8 minute walk) to everything you would want in Port Douglas, shops, restaurants, beach, marina.

2 smallish pools, situated within tropical style gardens.

Most suited to couples, or families with older children, pool areas are relatively small no real space for children to play around there ( our 11 year old took a ball and crossed the road to a huge grassy area to burn off some steam !).

Well worth considering.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Excellent stay at the Hibiscus Gardens. Hotel is well loacted very close to all amenities and town. Went on an excellent trip to the rainforest and Kuranda with WAYNE'S Tours. Wayne onlytakes a max of 12 people at once and his tour is really personal and friendly. I would recommend him.
Hotel is lovely and clean, good swimming pools and the staff are very friendly. Some items are a bit expensive e.g. breakfast but the spa resort is great, we had a massage and it was very good.
Port Douglas in my opinion is for newly weds or older couples. There is not much for children to do at night as most of the bars are aimed at mature type of clients HOWEVER Port D is a lovely place, very peacful and with a bit of character. Some excellent resturaunts are availble on Macrossan St.

UK visitor.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We just returned from Port Douglas, in the rain forest north of Cairns Australia. We stayed at the lovely Hibiscus Gardens while in Port Douglas and can only describe the setting as "magical."

My in laws stayed on the first floor in a one bedroom and we stayed above, five of us, two families, in a spacious and modern two bedroom apartment with nice tile floors and a clean look overall. There are wooden, Balinese style carved benches and torches that light up the spa/hotel at night. Rattan tables covered by a thatched type room surround one side of the very nice pool where my son and his cousins swam, and that is where breakfast is served. We didn't use the spa facilities since we were busy touring the rainforest and environs, but they looked very good.

The place is small and has an intimate feel to it, and is a quick walk up the street into town, Port Douglas, a fun little place with some wonderful restaurants. Hibiscus Garden breakfasts - you have two choices, a simpler one for around $15 and a more elaborate eggs-and-toast version for $19 or so are prepared beautifully by the owner/cook and there's lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and muesli, etc. My schedule didn't permit us to stay longer, but I kept thinking how perfect a setting this was for relaxing, reading a book, even in the rain! and enjoying the quiet, peaceful and pretty surroudings. Owner and staff were very accommodating as well. If you go to Port Douglas, definitely try Hibisicus Gardens.

Helpful?
10 Thank SJgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2006

My husband and myself stayed at the Hibiscus Spa Resort for our honeymoon. We thought it was absolutely beautiful and didn't want to leave. The pools were just wonderful along with the coldwater spa. The setting was idylic, the atmospher relaxed, the hosts (ex-kiwis) very friendly and accommodating. You just have to savour the beautiful breakfasts by the pool available from 7 until 10 so no need to rush. Very affordable and the tropical fruit platter is a must-have. If you are wanting to do any cooking the kitchen is probably not suitable sizewise although there are barbecues down by the pool for you to use. The grounds are exquisite and was truely a spot of paradise. We hope to return there in years to come.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dazz'n'Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#21 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing