We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2006

This hotel was fantastic! The pool was beautiful and there didn't seem to be too many people around, so it was often empty which was brilliant!
Port Douglas itself is a brilliant place to be- the town is around 1 min walk from this hotel and it has everything you could want. All the people were friendly and food etc delicious
Barrier reef stunning - desparate to go back ! Also horseback riding on the beach the best ride i have ever had -natural horsemanship, stunning scenery , safe horses couldn't have been better
we weren't here for long enough but everything was fab - visit here if you can!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank xoxfordx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2005

Above all else, the Hibiscus is in a fantastic location. We didn't bother hiring a car while in PD and the location of this resort was the main reason. Frankly, that was our top priority, so we didn't mind that the hotel wasn't exceptional in some other areas.

When we arrived, the staffer at the front desk was very good. But we didn't find her colleagues the rest of the weekend to be nearly as adept.

The room looked fantastic, but there were quite a number of maintenance issues during the stay. It was nice, though, to have a little sitting area outside the front door....the little accessories like CD and television were fine....and we were just steps from the pool. We did have some bad luck when a couple with a newborn moved into the unit next to ours...the child tended to get agitated anywhere from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m....and the staff said the only way we could move is if we payed for a more expensive room.

My main advice would be to make sure you select the right choice on what level of service you want while there (ie. daily towel change vs. occasional towel change, make the beds vs. not make the beds, etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I have just returned from PD, this was 2nd visit, however if I return, I will without doubt stop at The Hibiscus. The apartment was very clean and quite a large size, however what made the big difference was the setting and the staff. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and were more than welcome to share their experiences of PD with everyone. If you do stop, I would recommend you do not bother cooking your own breakfast, for the price and value the on-site kitchen was great value for money. The location was an easy 3 minute walk to the main street and the same time to the marina. If you are looking for a relaxing time in PD this is the place to stop

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank caerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2005

My girlfriend and I had a much needed week away to rest, relax and treat ourselves. We chose Hibiscus Gardens after many nights searching the internet for accommodation available at Port.

What a surprise we had - after checking in and reading the beverage menu (which was as cheap or cheaper than the bottle shop), we had ordered a bottle of bubbles to welcome ourselves in.

We had delightful views over the pool from our balcony (there are two pools, ask for rooms in the newer section) with CD player, satellite television, well stocked kitchen and airconditioning. The gardens are balinese inspired and have won design awards.

And then there was the day spa - what an experience! We had a dual Kodo massage using indigenous products - all to the sound of beautiful music and a running waterfall in the room. After it was over, we gently drifted back to our room. Book in early (and you don't have to be staying there to have a treatment).

All of the staff were fantastic, the location is great and the day spa was the best I saw in Port - and we checked out as many as we could.

The resort is close to shops and the marina for day trips to the reef, but hidden away when you want some quiet time and privacy - great for romantic dinners!

If you feel like breakfast by the pool, there is a good range of hot and cold food and it's so cheap!

Car parking is complimentary, but you don't need a car unless you are doing day trips out of Port Douglas.

This place is a hidden gem and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank culturaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2005

A party of 20 of us stayed here august 2005 and it was great, fantastic location just back off the main street and close to the beach. We had a spa in our apartment which was great too.

6  Thank cparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2005

We loved Port Douglas it is an amazing place to visit When we first arrived at the Hibiscus we looked and thought oh my god! From the street it looks a little tired.

But we were wrong - The hotel had a Balinese feel to it and the rooms were very modern and really nice (everything was provided). There is a Spa on sight which provides great treatments, those facials.... The staff are always willing to help and are really friendly. The Breakfast menu was great and actually really cheap in comparison to resteraunts and cafes on the main street. The Hibiscus is in a great location 5 minute walk to the beach and a 2 minute walk to town.

A quick piece of advice though, if you are elderly or have disabilites make sure you tell the reception staff or whom ever is booking the hotel because the Hibiscus doesn't have lifts or escalators and 4 flights of stairs can be a long way.

We had a great time and definately plan to go back, we will probably stay at the Hibiscus again. I love Port Douglas and this hotel was great.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JenniferS1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

The Hibiscus Spa resort is doesn't appear to be listed or reviewed on trip advisor yet, but it should be. It is about 100 metres south of Macrossan St, the main street in Port Douglas. It is slightly closer to the beach than the marina, but still only a short walk to both, and all the excellent shops and restaurants of Port Douglas.

The property has a great Balinese feel with lovely gardens and decking walkways. There are two pools and a spa with BBQ facilities. It also has a health spa that offers a range of massage and other health treatments. They have a kitchen that does breakfast out by the pool and sell a small range alcohol from reception.

They do great fresh cooked breakfasts, tropical fruit and juices and excellent coffee for Queensland. They had an absolute gourmet selection—much of the produce on offer appeared to be organic and it was all delicious.

We stayed here in September 2004 in a very large and comfortable suite with a big corner spa, a kitchen, TV and CD player. We also had our own deck out the front surrounded by garden.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful beyond all expectations. They gave excellent, honest advice on restaurants and tours (good tour advice is essential in Pt Douglas to make sure you get what you are after, especially when visiting the reef or doing a fishing charter). They chased up all my bookings for me and managed to organise stuff that I couldn’t.

I only have one complaint. The spa staff got my booking wrong for a massage so I missed out and couldn’t use the complementary voucher we got with our room.

However, the thing that really annoys me is we are just about to visit Port Douglas again and when I enquired in mid May I couldn’t get a studio with or without a spa—they were booked up till August.
--------
--------
--------
--------

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank sam_sun&snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 - 22 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $132 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing