We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
153
140
60
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
140
60
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating bean bagsgreat locationthe main streetbalinese feelbalinese stylecontinental breakfasttop flooreach morningone bedroom suitetwo blocksmacrossan stpool areashort walkclose to townday bedshops and restaurantsour night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 378 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This property is not the 5 star property that I was expecting when I purchased through Luxury Escapes. After saying that the property was perfect for us. We had 2 apartments side by side on the lower level which overlooked the pool and the lush gardens. The location of the resort was in easy walking distance to everything the area has to offer. The rooms were not serviced or towels changed but you could arrange for servicing I believe for an additional cost. The resort did provide pool towels which you could use for day trips if necessary. The apartment is one bedroom with a 2 way bathroom, small kitchen and living area. The breakfast provided around the back pool was basic but was enough to see you through to lunch. If there were more than a couple of people serving themselves breakfast at one time you had to be very patient. The woman who was on breakfast duty was amazing.... she was bright and chirpy and nothing was too much trouble. The massages that were included in the package were great. I also visited the spa for a facial that Scott? The Spa Manager was my therapist and it was a truly amazing experience. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just spent five days at this Resort as part of a package deal through Luxury Escapes. Property listed as four and half stars. I normally do not write these types of reviews but feel as though someone has to know about this property.
I do not know whether we were unlucky or not but these were the things wrong with our unit (5)
No Foxtel for four of the five days.(TV was replaced after speaking to reception)
Drainage problems with bath. Water was not going down drain when showering. (fixed by a plumber)
Front door did not lock. Could be pushed open even when locked
Unit was dusty and smelly
Unable to use lounges around pool as though were hosed off each morning and didn't dry all day.
Ironically there were messages in unit to save water
Towels were not changed even though we stayed five days.
Overall very disappointed in this resort and will not be staying there again. Only saving grace were the staff who assisted when requested.
Certainly not four and half stars, desperately in need of a make over.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bobbright51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The location of Hibidcus is great, no need for a car or bus, walk everywhere but just away from the noise of Macrossan st. The apartment we had was a one bedroom, plenty of room and excellent balcony area. The rooms were becoming a little tired and the shower area has to be updated, the small bath and shower arm that would not stay up was well past its used by date. The breakfast is continental, so anyone wanting bacon eggs etc, will have to walk up the street, but ceral fruit coffee toast were all there and more than adequate for us, all served with a smile.The front desk staff were excellent nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: first or second floor, more private.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our 5 night stay at Hibiscus resort was a wonderful experience. Emma gave us a warm welcome and showed us around. Rooms, resort and garden decor could have you believe you are in Bali and not Port Douglas. Breakfast was a real treat when greeted by Ha she was so warm and fun and nothing was a problem. Ha was a pocket rocket managing everything with care and ease. This was very noticeable on the Saturday her day off!!! Would recommend this resort for couples or families.

Room Tip: Studio room 44 or 53 both suited for 2 people. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I just spent a wonderful week at Hibiscus Resort in Port Douglas! We loved the resort style setting located right in the centre of town (3min walk to Macrossan street). We booked a one bedroom apartment and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. A kitchen and living room, king bedroom and a large bathroom with a spa! We were located on the ground floor right near the pool area (perfect!)
The pool area was very relaxing and once inside the resort walls you could have been in any Balinese resort, sitting on a banana lounge stating up at the palm trees. Pure bliss! We loved it! We took short walk to town every night for dinner. The famous 4mile beach was only 300mts from the resort and was the perfect for a run or walk on the beach every morning. Then we get to the continental breakfast, it was very fresh with a large variety of breads, fruit, cereals and dairy. The lady that runs the breakfasts is so lovely always with a smile on her face. She makes a good latte!
We really didn't want to leave and will come back someday very soon!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews