We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port douglas beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Having only passed through port douglas a few times we came across a great deal for hibiscus ...boy are we glad we took the deal....this place was fantastic ...from the lady at the front desk right down to the two ladys serving breakfast by the pool ..our 5 days there only left us and our friends who also had the deal wanting to come back and stay again ...and we will ...already trying to get up there again in october ...if you get the massage thrown in definitely take it ..the four of us enjoyed it immensely ...

Room Tip: If the rooms on the roadside near the pool by the office can be avoided due to road noise is the onl...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Hibiscus Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 360 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

... but our first for five years. We had a jacuzzi apartment for two which would be big enough to live in permanently. Excellent walk-in shower as well as the tub. The ground floor rooms are literally feet from the very accessible pool, but sheltered from it. They seem no longer to do cooked breakfasts, but the cold buffet is excellent. WiFi is free via hotspots but we could only make it work on our front patio and not within the apartment. There's under-cover off-road parking and a guest laundry.

The location would be hard to beat within Port Douglas, a short walk from the main street, and although we were there at a quiet point in the season I'm sure it's far enough away not be disturbed by the bars and restaurants. Ten-minute walk to the marina and the fantastic Sunday market, factoring in the heat and humidity.

It's calm and restful and we will definitely stay here if we visit PD again, although even allowing for it being out of season in late March the town as a whole didn't seem to be doing as well as five years ago, with many more empty units.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PhilReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I think the Hibiscus may have seen better times.

The girl on reception was sweet and very helpful and found me exactly the kind of room I wanted, but it was a bit tatty. The swimming pool seemed a bit grubby and most irritatingly the wifi didn't reach my room (I needed it badly). These are all things that can be sorted - it's too easy to be critical, but the place needs a lick of paint and some TLC. On a much more positive note, the lady who runs the massage centre was brilliant and she sorted my troublesome neck very successfully.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richy61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel was a nice change from the big chain hotels. The stairways to the rooms were surrounded by tropical plants. They have two very nice pools built to compliment the tropical environment. It was an easy walk to the main street in town where we found plenty of good restaurants.
The included breakfast was perfect for us. Lots of fresh fruit, rolls, breads that could be toasted, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea, juices etc. We were always there early so we never had a problem with crowds as stated in other reviews. The room we had was very large, with a outdoor private balcony, a sitting room with the TV and kitchenette, the bedroom and the bath. The only problem we had was the air conditioner was in the bathroom in the back. Since the power was off when we were out of the room, It was warm when we returned from our daily adventures. The front room never really cooled off and when we took a shower in the bathroom, we froze.
The only other issue was that our room was on the 3rd floor, up a lot of stairs. We needed help getting our luggage up, but they did have a staff member do that for us. I assumed that for individuals who can not manage the stairs, they have 1st floor rooms available.
We found the management to be quite friendly. As we waited for our daily tours to pick us up, he came out and chatted with us. One day a woman came over from another hotel looking to buy a cup of coffee, and he gave her a pass so that she could get coffee free, even though she wasn't a guest. The lady in charge of the breakfast was so friendly that on the day we left, she kissed and hugged us!

Room Tip: If you have trouble negotiating stairs, ask for a 1st floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perfect location - so close to shops and restaurants on the Port Douglas main strip. Easy walk to the beach too. But still a quiet spot for relaxing. And a convenient base for daytrips. Leafy garden, great pools and the Balinese-style decor gives the place a nice tropical feel. Spacious rooms. I noticed some reviewers complained about breakfast but we didn't have a problem finding a seat by the pool - worst case you can take the food back to your room and sit on your private balcony. Muesli/fruit/coffee/juice/toast - all the basics were covered. Free DVD hire at reception was a nice touch - we enjoyed relaxing in the evening after dinner with a movie or two. Some staff were fantastic - others were a bit ordinary. Spa is well worth a visit - I felt amazing after my luxurious and very relaxing treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sendmail2linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Lovely setting, beautiful lush gardens and a great location as just a short walk from the main street. we enjoyed a week here with our two young kids however the breakfast room by the pool is tiny. Not very well set up as it is a small space and there are not enough tables or staff to manage. It is not ideal for young kids as it backs onto the pool.
The manager was very unfriendly and for this reason alone I will not be returning here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sc0zzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Highly recommend. Nice rooms, compact setting, heated pool, breakfast by the pool, close to the Main Street, marina and beach. Interconnecting rooms basically meant we had 2 of everything. The only down side is that breakfast can be a little crazy with little room to move around the buffet and seating is limited. The day spa is outstanding and operated by very nice people. I'd go back anyday.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#38 of 42 in Port Douglas
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $121 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing