We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another day in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another day in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. Nice rooms, compact setting, heated pool, breakfast by the pool, close to the Main Street, marina and beach. Interconnecting rooms basically meant we had 2 of everything. The only down side is that breakfast can be a little crazy with little room to move around the buffet and seating is limited. The day spa is outstanding and operated by very nice people. I'd go back anyday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    116
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
56
179
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely resort with friendly and excellent service,especially with our breakfast host!
Massage was great and relaxing.
Air conditioning works perfectly.
Enjoyed our stay immensely.
Thanks.
Regards,
Jan

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JANET R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

stayed at this hotel in 2007. Very lush, and tropical. Loved our room. Very romantic for couples. Nice pool area. Felt like you were staying in the rainforest. Our room had a small kitchenette area, so we walked to the mainstreet in Port Douglas, and got some groceries. It was a short walk to the mainstreet in Port Douglas for eating, shopping or a walk about! Very nice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Spent a week here for our wedding anniversary. Was fantastic as we had 3 days just relaxing and reading by the pool. Staff were wonderful and breakfast was lovely with a fantastic setting. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with hibiscus resort and spa in January 2014 and thought it was the perfect accommodation. As part of our package a free 30min massage and complimentary breakfast each morning was offered! The rooms were lovely and comfortable and had a great holiday feel to them. There were two lovely pools and we really enjoyed the pool noodles and pool bean bags :)
Emma the hotel receptionist was so lovely and helpful!!!
Breakfast was lovely and a great way to start the day!! Location was perfect and the day spa was even better! We even booked another massage on our last day we loved the first one so much!
Thank you emma and all staff we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend hibiscus resort and spa to our family and friends!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug86_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hibiscus. The staff were very friendly especially the breakfast lady who always had a smile and warm welcome. The hotel has two outdoor pools which are set in lush tropical settings. Rooms were clean, car park available, excellent location to main street and any queries were handled promptly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canan_e0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

First time visit to Port Douglas and stayed for a week at Hibiscus Gardens with a friend who has stayed twice before. We travelled there the week before Christmas to chillax and escape the madness back home. It worked! What a perfect spot to stay for us as we did not have a car and we could walk everywhere in no time at all.
Days spent walking, swimming (big decision is which pool! there are 2 very nice pools), relaxing and then more walking to one of port's many dining options.
We had a third floor 2 bed/ 2 bath corner unit, was perfect for our needs.
Staff were friendly, Justin was our first contact and really welcomed us, Har was bubbly at breakfast and obviously loves her job (morning morning darling darling!) the owner Shane was helpful and a very nice touch was when he came out and farewelled us when we left.
Connie in the spa was lovely.
Hibiscus is not a huge 5 star resort but it was perfect for what we wanted.
Would I visit again, absolutely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#24 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing