We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Didn't actually stay at this resort, but went to the spa for a massage while in PD. It was absolutely divine. The staff were really accommodating from the start, the products were lovely and the music was calming didgeridoo sounds - not those annoying "relaxing" CDs most spas have on repeat. A beautiful experience and I'll be back for sure. Only minor issue was it finished a few minutes early which was a bummer because I was loving it so much!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    126
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
192
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed on a 5 day deal which included breakfast and massage. Resort is only a 5 to 10 min walk to shops and restaurants in Main Street. Safe swimming beach is less than 10 min walk. Room was located on top floor (walk up 30 steps)' overlooking small pool. We were more than happy with the apartment, bed was comfortable, adequate cooking facilities, separate toilet, shower and bath. Breakfast provided a range of cereals,breads, fruits and drinks. Weber BBQs are provided near both pool areas.

Room Tip: Select a room on top floor. We had room 24 which overlooked the small pool and spa.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R0sie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Hibiscus Spa resort in Port Douglas Eastern Australia. A very comfortable apart hotel style room with living area, small kitchenette, good sized bedroom and bathroom. A continental breakfast was included which you have open plan by one of the two swimming pools and the spa is a tranquil area with lovely massages.
The hotel is only a hundred yards away from the town centre which is a really lovely small size with loads of eating places. The beach and Marina is also close by where you can take boat trips to the Great Barrier Reef.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimonerosKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We purchased a 5 night package to Hibiscus and were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The lady behind the desk was very helpful showing us our room. The room was quite large with a balcony which looked over the pool/spa area near the front of the resort.
The actual resort was beautiful with decking and flora which resembled something out of Thailand.
We spent most of our time by the pool and spa, and used the BBQ's provided to cook our dinner.
The ladies at breakfast each morning were so polite and welcoming. The macadamia museli there is to die for!
We had a massage as a part of our package which was blissful, and we really enjoyed our time at the Hibiscus. We will be back. Such a relaxing and peaceful place, great location to the main street and to the marina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this beautiful resort. We got to enjoy breakfast by the pool every morning which was just delightful with lovely, friendly staff to serve us. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool. The resort is perfect as it is so central to everything port Douglas has to offer. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Dirty dishes, dust, missing knob for fan speed, broken couch on side, a little box air conditioner that they ask to run no lower than 24 and that meant a hot room with little sleep. Staff seem unhappy except the 2 girls at breakfast and day spa staff. Also got bitten continuously by bugs in our hot room. Resort is dated. This all in all made for a unpleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank petenandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had room 2 bedroom unit 45 overlooking the pool - very clean and accomodating. Breakfast just so healthy food with the attendant who would get a job anywhere in the world with her personality and charm and welcoming people to the resort to breakfast - please value this lady who is an insiration to your business - I am old and you do not see people like this anywhere now.
Great resort to stay in Port Douglas so central to everything - I know this because I am old and can walk to all the facilities that are on offer.
Massage young lady was great after the 30 minute massage..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#31 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#11 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing