We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surrounds, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounds, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This property is very centrally located without being right in the Main Street. The pool area is lovely with big floating beanbags which look very relaxing. Lovely and quiet, rooms very comfy. Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    126
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
192
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hibiscus on a 5 night package for our honeymoon in June. We had booked a 1 bedroom spa room. On arrival we were told there was a problem with the tv in our room so we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom spa room on the top floor. After carting our luggage up a few small staircases we were at our gorgeous room. Set out beautifully with everything we needed and more. The aircon being in the bathroom isn't great, but that is our onlly complaint with the room. The package included 2 massages which unfortunately were not very good and we wouldn't return to the spa. Everything else at Hibiscus was fantastic! the breakfast is declicious (and the best muesli around!), the pools are gorgeous and people were friendly. We are locals to Cairns and travel to Port Douglas often, we will always return to Hibiscus as while it was great for our honeymoon, it is also great for families and we will definitely come back with our kids. Perfect start to our honeymoon!!

Room Tip: Go for top floor for better privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good location and close to Macrossen Street and the lovely restaurants. Room dated and in need of modernizing and upgrade of furnishings. Not 4-5 star rating. Pools good but small. Nice tropical setting but would choose a higher rating next visit. Best rooms face onto the pools Had a rental car but only needed it to visit the Daintree and Cape Tribulation. Everything in Port Douglas within walking distance. "Douglas" is a beautiful holiday location that has everything. Scenery and facilites first class. Great spot for a holiday. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Loud bird calls disturb sleep through the night from the centre rooms. Pool facing rooms the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kert0533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, lovely setting, some desk staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast staff cheery and welcoming. Room was nice but could of been cleaner. Towels not changed during 7 day stay. Not worthy of 4/5 star accomodation. Pleasant but could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a fabulous place! We were very pleasantly surprised after a long day of travel to walk into this beautiful place. The surroundings are tropical and very well done, the pools are gorgeous, the outdoor furniture fantastic and a great environment to relax in at any time of the day or night. After walking around town we were always pleased to come back to Hibiscus, it has to have the nicest grounds around! Other than the resort grounds, the location is absolutely perfect, just a short walk to anywhere in Port Douglas. We hired a car but only used it once to drive through the Daintree, otherwise everything you need is walking distance. Great selection of travel brochures in reception, great breakfast selection and some good drinks deals. Our 2 bedroom unit was great with everything we needed for our stay. We loved this place and would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarynshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hibiscus Resort. We went as a family with two young children and it suited us perfectly. Great facilities, excellent pools and breakfast. Staff were lovely and helpful. Brilliant location - walking distance to the main street so we could access everything we needed easily. The rooms were comfortable but not luxurious - which suited us well with a young family. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The highest apartments require you to climb several sets of stairs if mobility is a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicky8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is great, walking distance to everything in town. The service is ok, one lady in particular was a little rude. We asked for a few things, considering they don't do daily house keeping, and didn't receive it until asked again. There are no elevators, so being on the top floor is tough with luggage. The ants in my room got into my cookies that were in a zip lock bag. Overall the resort is pretty loud, with kids, doors slamming and who knows what was banging outside, but I was thankful to be on the top floor for that reason. As someone said before, the shutters provide no sound barrier. I liked that our room had a kitchen and a patio. The resort could use a little facelift as well. The internet is kind of a joke. You have to renew it every 8 hours downstairs. Pretty inconvenient. All in all it was ok for the few nights we stayed in Port Douglas. Probably would stay somewhere else if we returned.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanebranch, Owner at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Ashley

We do have daily service we have three tiers of service in line with our environmental philosophy to leave as small a footprint as practical. Your agent booked the non service package.
We will talk to the inbound agent in Australia to reinforce the various levels available.

Yes there were kids about an unusual high number with the Northern hemisphere's summer holidays and a resurgence in visitation from all of these destinations.

The internet password provide free was for 8 hours usage over 7 days, it did not need renewing every eight hours, I apologise if this was not explained clearly.

We have a new system being installed which will give a better connection, however we in Port Douglas are remote and on the outer edge of fast internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#31 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#11 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing