We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here while visiting PD. The resort is in a superb location only 3 blocks to the beach and 2 blocks to the Main Street. Rooms were very quiet and clean! The pools are great however would be better if children were kept too one pool. Breakfast was complimentary however finding a free table was difficult and eating breakfast with strangers is pretty painfull. Lady on the breakfast was so nice and friendly!!! Staff made getting transfers from cairns airport very easy. BBQs were great and always a cheap alternative to eating out. Will definitely stay here again! Keep up the good work guys!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dunnersfireman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    123
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
188
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We purchased a deal from Getaway Lounge to stay in a 1 bedroom apartment. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the whole experience. Breakfast was included each day and it was really nice...the girl that works on weekday mornings is so bright, happy and welcoming she made it an even better experience. Nothing was too much trouble for her. I didn't get her name but if you stay there you will know who she is, she's just delightful. Our room was good and the pools were a life saver as the humidity was high when we were there. Overall it was a great holiday and I would stay there again. The location is perfect...you can walk to all the nice places in town. Also included in the deal was a 30 minute massage in the Spa at the resort. It was the best massage I have ever had. It was an amazing deal with all the inclusions which made the trip even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geelow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 8 days over New Years, and had a overall ok experience. The location is great as its a short walk to both the main road, restraunts, beach and marina. The resort however needs some work. The shower never worked properly went constantly from boiling hot to freezing cold. And if u can stay here when it's quiet that is the only major problem. But if its busy, there are not enough car spaces for the amount of guests, not enough anything for the amount of guests actually. If you can avoid, it breakfast is basic fruit and cereal ours was free for our stay but would have been $19 a morning otherwise (there a cafe's a short walk with better value)! And even if you want breakfast, there are not enough tables for everyone, so finding a spot to sit is a painfull experience. Don't plan on using the barbecues at dinner time a there are 2 per side of the resort and most nights were taken. Otherwise the service was pleasent and nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort is the most relaxing place I've stayed. Very quiet throughout the day and at night. My partner had a 90min massage in the spa and said it was definately worth the money ($150) But book early as its popular. The position of the resort is also good as its close to the Main Street where the bars, shops and restaurants are! I would definately return to port Douglas and the hibiscus resort as we have had such a lovely time x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13yelsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having had a bit of a horror encounter with some Huntsmen spiders at our hotel up in Daintree, we decamped rapidly to Port Douglas and found this place (spider free thank God!). I really liked it (though it was quite pricey) - halfway between the beach and the marina, with the main shopping street a short walk away. A bit strange that they shut reception at 6pm, but that was our only niggle. We didn't have time to try the pool as we were too busy snorkelling on the Barrier Reef, but it looked like a lovely spot to relax from what I saw. The room was excellent - good kitchen, big telly, clean and spacious with sunbeds on our little terrace. And we got a free bottle of champagne - it turned out it was a mistake but they let us keep it - nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights back in May. Upon arriving the staff where more than helpful and the setting was really beautiful.It is a great spot very handy to everything.
Our room had a common door with the appartment next door, unfortuanately we were able to hear every noise from them, it sounded like they were in our room.
There are lovely timber louvers instead of glass windows which look beauiful but are really not practical, as you hear every noise from the street, so maybe ask for a room at the back not on the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeratbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

2013 will be our 4th stay at HibiscusGardens Resort. The management & staff are very friendly, accommodation clean, airy & comfortable. We have stayed in March, April & May and did not even need the airconditioning, it was so beautiful to have fresh air and listen to the rain falling on the trees. We both just loved the variety of exotic fruits etc at breakfast. The endulgence package was well worth it, just loved the spa treatments so much so had another before we finish our week. The proximity to Macrossan Street is a real bonus and even in the rain it is just a very short trip up the street to excellent restaurants. There are not a lot of street lights but we always take a torch so when it was a little dull with the rain it was very easy to get around at night. One has to keep in mind that the majority of staff in the Port are backpackers but that is what gives the place a unique charm to contact so many young internationals who are there to experience our country and far north queensland. We just love staying a Hibiscus and can recommend it from our experiences.

Room Tip: Ask where your room will be located the higher the better but remember there are stairs to most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#12 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing